Posted by: the warrioress | March 20, 2012

Verbal Abuse of the Religious

We should all know by now that verbal abuse and thus EMOTIONAL abuse of anyone is akin to a batterer who physically abuses and persecutes his victims. Verbally abusing another is emotional battery and unfortunately, this kind of persecution is now occurring to the religious all over the internet on a variety of social sites where people congregate. This is not okay! This kind of abuse must not be minimized. Why?

It is imperative that when a society is being set up to accept horrific actions and behaviors, (think Hitler/Nazism/Jewish), that the society is first de-sensitized to the horrors that are coming. Almost all physical battering begins with verbal or emotional abuse. It’s not a giant leap to go from this verbal persecution to the attempt to harm others physically.

I believe that society is being prepared to accept the abuse of the religious, or those who believe in Jesus Christ, who follow Him as their Lord and Savior, who believe in the bible as the word of God. These biblical believers who are outspoken are being persecuted right here in America in front of our very eyes.

I’ve already provided the most recent example of this in my posting, “Evil Incarnate,” where I link to proof of this verbal abuse that actually threatened the Christian with bodily harm, along with the profanity and hate speech meant to beat down anyone who believes. Fortunately, due to my speaking out about it, that persecutory piece of writing has now been deleted by the site moderator where the abuse was taking place. This is no great victory, however, because for every abusive bit of rhetoric we expose, another quickly takes it place.

As Christians, if we don’t speak up and speak out about verbally abusive behavior aimed our or someone else’s way, we encourage it with our silence. We put our very stamp of approval on it! In our silent complicity, we join the world in potentially bringing in real physical persecution for those who believe in the bible and what the bible symbolizes.

If you see someone being persecuted verbally because they have faith, you must come out of your silent, protective place in Jesus Christ and stand up for your brother or sister being harmed by speaking out. You should expose the abuse that is occurring. If you just sit silent and allow it continue, you will be complicit in the desensitization of the populace to the abuse of the religious.

The bible already tells us what is coming; though we cannot change what has been foretold, we can do our part to protect one another and dissuade the world from engaging in atrocities and abuse of one kind or another.  It starts with each one of us and demands bravery, activism, and strength of character. Look around you.  Expose abuse when you see it happening. Don’t just ignore it or celebrate persecution as something you are due. The persecution of the religious is not okay! It’s not something we have  to just lay down and endure.  I am discussing this topic in more depth at Conversation Corner if you care to join me.

Thank you, and may God keep all of us close and supportive of one another in Jesus Christ our Lord.

Responses

  1. May God Bless You..

  2. “If you see someone being persecuted verbally because they have faith, you must come out of your silent, protective place in Jesus Christ and stand up for your brother or sister being harmed by speaking out. ”

    Perhaps I can encourage a wider application of this good advice: if you see someone being persecuted verbally for *any reason*, you must come out of your silence and stand up for your fellow human being.

  3. You KNOW I have your back Sister….weve been in many spiritual battles together…and Im sure will be in more in the future!

    The bible told us to OCCUPY….and the Christian is THE SALT OF THE EARTH…We cannot season the earth..unless we spread the good news around…

    Pray for those who are so lost..even Christ told his Father..to forgive them…that they know not what they do..

    We need to rejoice that we have found God…that we have been called..and we listened…and became his children…

    We must and have pity and sorrow for those who struggle through life…in anger..and hate…for it is through watching them..that we can see how blessed we truly are..

    Im glad I do not have their lives…and that mine is good..and my paths are made straight through Christ…Praise God!.

    Lady Minstrel

  4. Patti… love you too, doll. (hugs) So glad you’re my bud.

  5. Yes Keith, I agree; this is a given, of course. I’ve counseled battered women and abusive men and women in the past, and I’m taking it for granted that people know enough to speak up when they see someone being verbally or physically abused. There are countless discussions about domestic violence of the physical, emotional, and verbal kind.

    Unfortunately though, when it comes to the religious, it would seem that people just don’t care when they witness someone being abused for their Christian faith. Even some Christians don’t care! Some Christians allow their own to be verbally abused and say absolutely nothing. I’ve watched this in complete and utter shock, not understanding it at all. It’s because of this very thing that I think this posting is way overdue for the Christian community.

    I think it’s possible that a lot of Christians are just too afraid to speak out, or they don’t want to get involved, or they actually believe that persecution is our due and that we “deserve it” and can and should do nothing about it. This is not the case at all. We should always attempt to improve life on this planet for all until the Lord Jesus Christ arrives and begins to do it for us.

  6. And I’ve got yours, sissy. (love ya so much)

    I am having pity…to an extent. I’m praying and hoping the best for those who persecute us, but I will not allow them to freely continue to do so with impunity in that they become a bully to be feared. At some point I will take a stand and it WILL stop.

    God bless you, Miss Minstrel ;)

  7. Please don’t assume just because you don’t hear it or see it in print that Christians are being quiet .. not all Christians are “preachy” Christians. God knows our hearts and he is the one that inspires us to react the way we do.

  8. I have to say that I FAR more often see people being persecuted for NOT having faith. Indeed, I completely hide my lack of faith because where I live (Texas), saying I’m non-religious could cost me a lot. Job, security, social ridicule. Just a short list.

    This is not to say that religious folk are never persecuted, they are. But I wonder if you realize it isn’t a one-way street?

  9. Well, I don’t know, Brandon. I’m not atheist so I couldn’t say for sure, but based upon what I’m observing in my various surf journeys around different internet locales, I see a lot more Christians being verbally abused than atheists and those without faith. I think this could be because the anti-religious have finally found their “voice,” and they are hypersensitive and hypervigilant in that they are attempting to make up for what they see as being kept in the closet for years. Essentially, they are over-reacting by attacking first.This is just my personal observation.

    On the other hand, I do know that there are attacks made upon those who don’t believe and most especially those who are “different,” like the Luciferian, Satanist, etc. I would stand up for these individuals just as I do for the Christians. Verbal abuse and persecution of others for their choice of religious belief or lack there of is wrong! I don’t care who it’s happening to. It has to be stopped. Freedom of religion means that we are all free to believe as we want to believe and not suffer mistreatement for it.

  10. I don’t think it’s a matter of asking Christians to become “preachy,” Pat. Not at all. I know we all have our own styles of sharing the gospel, etc.. what I’m talking about is standing up for one of our own who is under serious attack, who is being blatantly ripped to shreds publicly. If we don’t take up for one another as a group, who will? Sometimes we simply have to bite the bullet and speak out. Wouldn’t you want someone to speak up and come to your aid or expose consistent abuse that was occurring to you, if you were being attacked for your personal beliefs?

    As far as what occurred that I linked to in terms of the verbal religious persecution on that dating site, I watched that go on for as long as I was going to. Exposing that was absolutely necessary and I don’t regret doing so, despite the fall out there. I’ve watched the religious freely persecuted on that site for three years. It’s wrong and someone simply has to do something about it. It’s blatantly obvious that the moderators there aren’t going to.

  11. While I agree we need to defend ourselves and fellow Christians from abuse, I think there is a line that must not be crossed. Is it the snake or the venom that is poison?

    Jesus fought hate and abuse with love. He taught us to turn the other cheek and said to keep turning our cheeks. So we need to ask our self are we projecting the same venom toward our enemy and if we are – are we putting our self in his shoes?

    I am not disagreeing with you, I am saying we need to be careful how we approach it. It is a very thin line!

    Walk daily with God at your side!

    Ed.

  12. That’s pretty much all I ask for.

    Like most things, there are always people in groups who overstep and make everyone around them look bad. Militant non-belief turns me off just as much as militant belief. All I really want to do is live my life.

  13. Brandon: I completely understand where you’re coming from. I live in Colorado, which is not as overtly religious as Texas. But when I visit Texas (at least once a year for science meetings), I always notice how visible and pervasive religious belief is there. It’s a different world.

  14. Well it is blatantly obvious that you went about it the wrong way. You let your emotions push you over that line that Ed was talking about.

  15. What you’re failing to realize and admit, Pat, is that I went about it “the right way” for over three years. I prayed for the man, witnessed to him about Christ, attempted to be polite and be his friend, turned the other cheek with him and countless others there who persecute Christians daily. And I saw very few Christians ever open their mouths or get involved in backing me up or helping to assist me in stopping the ongoing abusive behavior. I can think of three who attempted to help me; they are all gone. They either quit or were removed.

    You may think I went about it the wrong way, but I believe there was absolutely no other way to go about it, at this point. It is obvious to me that the Christians on that site are not going to speak out about what’s been going on; they are just too intimidated and afraid that they too will be attacked and then eventually removed from the site.

    Yes, I realize that one is “led by the Spirit” to act. Well, suffice it to say that I believe I was led by the Spirit to put a stop to this ongoing abuse of Christians there once and for all. That site has now been forced into stopping the behavior because I exposed what was going on there. Had I not linked to this most recent example of threats of bodily harm and psychopathic ramblings toward those of faith, that post would still be up with everyone encouraging it and joining in with agreement at the bullying of those who have faith.

    If we do nothing, nothing changes.

  16. Ed, I agree we must fight hate and abuse with love. I attempted that for three years on the other site that I was a member of. It absolutely didn’t make a difference and in fact, the abusive behavior there has gotten worse. I can’t tell you how many Christians have left on their own or been removed; I’ve sincerely lost count.

    I don’t have any venom to project; I’m just tired of taking the abuse and watching other Christians have to take it as none of the Christians there stand up for them. I’m out of the land mine area now and have my own blog here at Word Press. I can tell the world what’s happening and make a difference because my hands are no longer tied, nor do I value my membership there anymore. The other Christians are just too scared to speak up because they don’t want to be directly in the line of fire and be removed by the site; that is truly my opinion on the thing.

    Now generally speaking, I agree that we have to turn the other cheek, love our “enemy” or those who persecute us, but at some point when that isn’t helping and making a difference, we need to stand up for one another and do something to change the direction things are going or we’re going to find ourselves facing the same physical persecution that is now going on all over the world in the Middle East, etc. It’s not a big leap to begin to physically abuse Christians in America, when they are already being emotionally and verbally abused and assaulted.

  17. I have to get out of here and drop my vehicle at the mechanics so won’t be back until much later in the evening if you all want to continue to discuss this. Thanks so much for being willing to disagree or simply state your opinion. This is how we ALL learn. None of us knows it all and there are going to be times as Christians that we’re going to disagree with one another. It doesn’t change the fact that I love you guys and I hope you love me, even if we don’t always feel the same way about something. Be back asap.

  18. Teddy Roosevelt once said -“speak softly and carry a big stick” – wise words from a wise man. Grandfather always reminded me that sticks and stone could break my bones, but words can never hurt me. More wise words from an old indian chief.

    I speak softly, as most people will tell you, but my big stick is a Glock 19 concealed in a holster under my shirt. But, I am not a violent person, considering I was a Marine in Vietnam. I will defend myself and family.

    I learned a long time ago that harsh words back and forth generally turns into some sort of violent action. That is why I said it is a thin line. I think for the most part these people who are so verbal on the website are probably just doing it to get a reaction – I guess they won that one.
    When things turn physical than there are laws that come into effect that can handle that type of violence. My caution to you is just to remind you that as actions accelerate someone will take it one step too far and someone will be hurt bad. If you remember what Jesus said when asked how many times you should turn your cheek, it was a lot! Just remember we are Christians every minute of everyday. I love you too, just be careful about crossing that line.

    Walk daily with God at your side!

    Ed.

  19. Your cause is valid .. if you absolutely feel you were led by the Spirit to do that then nothing anyone says will make any difference… it’s now between you and God.

  20. I sincerely hope my comment didn’t upset you. I am licensed to carry a handgun, I applied and took the exams because there are so many weird people popping up in our country lately. Last week a friend of mine was attacked while walking to her car in the store parking lot. I get concerned because she, like my wife was not aware of her surroundings and that can be dangerous today. I don’t want to see anyone get hurt over words, but I have seen things go viral over less than this.
    God’s love to you my friend.

    Walk daily with God at your side.

    Ed

  21. Ed, thanks a lot for being concerned. I’m sorry it’s taken so long to get back to you, commment-wise. I’ve had my hands full with getting my truck repaired. It wound up having to go to the dealers; I had to also rent a car, etc. I’ve been crazy busy lately.

    I’m not particularly worried about the mutterings about my take on this because I’m used to encountering flak for standing up for what I believe. I’ve upset lots of people over the years and I’m sure this won’t be the last time.

    I agree that there is a fine line we have to walk. I’m just not one to accept abusive behavior as my due and I don’t believe we have to as Christians.

    Certainly we are to love our enemies, pray for those who persecute us, etc., as the bible says, but I don’t want to enable the abusive behavior through my actions. I don’t want to actually approve of it via my responses to it.

    By saying nothing and doing nothing in response to consistent, repetitive abuse, I see this as being silently complicit and actually encouraging it. I think there are times that we have to stand up for what we believe in and for one another.

    Eventually violence is going to ensue against us in the future; I think there can be no doubt of this fact. I don’t want to be part of the body that encouraged it, however, through my complete and utter pacifism where abuse is concerned.

  22. [...] Verbal Abuse of the Religious (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) [...]

  23. Matthew 5:44 But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;

    Luke 6:28 Bless them that curse you, and pray for them which despitefully use you.

    GOD does not say we may be cursed, but that we will be cursed.

    Ephesians 4:31 Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamor, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice:

    I catch 12 busses each week. I often speak to people about their foul language, especially pointing out when children and women are present. Sometimes people apologize, and other people curse at me. I usually tell people that GOD and I find their language offensive.

    At this time it is politically correct to not put down any person, no matter what they do. The only exception is Christians.

  24. [...] Verbal Abuse of the Religious (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) [...]

  25. The atheistic Left needs to eliminate religion; it can’t stand that competition. No state has ever tolerated Christianity for long, either preempting or diminishing it over time, seems to me.
    Christianity however, has solidified best under presecution in a counterpoint to the wishes of the state. And religious persecution seems to be building in the public discourse. The word is the precursor fo the deed.

  26. You bring up a very valid point, Jack. Christianity has always suffered greatly.. history often repeats itself, eh? Thanks for reading here.

  27. LMFAO! This is so backwards, it’s ridiculous.

  28. thanks for liking my post…God bless you!!!!

  29. Umm.. okay. Not sure what you’re alluding to, but yeah. Thanks for reading.

  30. Reblogged this on Words We Speak.

  31. […] Verbal Abuse […]

  32. And words that become widespread enough to reassure the cowards, usually give rise to actions…

  33. Jack,

    We’ve got to stand up for ourselves and our Christian brother’s and sisters with the love of Jesus Christ as our foundation, never forgetting that those who abuse us do so because they do not know Him whom we represent. The more we become like Jesus, the more His message shines forth, and that message is stronger than any abuse aimed at us.

  34. […] Is it really that hard to just smile and say thank you to the store clerk?  What about as a patient in a hospital or care setting, showing appreciation for them just being there? […]

  35. Living Generously, thank you for the ping back! God bless.

  36. […] Agressões verbais, mesmo que não deixem cicatrizes no corpo, também são bullying[FONTE: life of a female bible warrior]  […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 681 other followers

