Posted by: the warrioress | April 4, 2012

Easter Weekend on the Horizon

Crucifixion of Jesus -2011

Easter weekend is a big deal in our home. It’s a time in which we think about the crucifixion of our Lord Jesus Christ on the cross and the wonderful miracle of His rising from the dead on Easter Sunday. What all of it means is explored with my young daughter and I through a variety of venues.

I’ve DVR-ed several movies that we haven’t seen before that are religious in nature, that teach from the point of view of what life lived around Jesus Christ must have looked like in those days. We watch these movies together and discuss them.

We also attend church at the primary church we’ve been going to for the last however many years. We attend different churches and don’t belong to one in particular, but this neighborhood church houses our neighbors and community members so we continue to go to it for that reason. We attend Sunday school and go out to lunch after church, discussing the services together and the message given by the minister.

Picture of Jesus with American flag

We have quiet time where we study the bible together. Sometimes we read to one another from the latest book that we are also studying. Right now, we’re reading a book entitled “Conversations You Must Have With Your Daughter.” It’s a wonderful book that was brought to my attention in an interesting way, that I believe was quite literally “heaven-sent.”

We try to keep things quiet and respectful of who Jesus is/was the entire weekend, meditating on what all the bible means in our daily lives in terms of government, politics, America, and the world. Some weekends are more “teaching successful” than others over these many years. I hope this upcoming weekend turns out nice and memorable for both of us.

I think putting emphasis on what Jesus did for us is especially important as my little one is growing into a young woman. I only have a brief window of opportunity to influence her and set the example in this regard, before she flies off to live by her own rules and values. I want to set within her mind the importance of recognizing what Jesus did for the world and most especially, for her, via His death on the cross and rising from the dead.

Responses

  1. Very nice!

  2. For what it is worth, I think you are doing an excellent job raising your young lady. Being raised with Jesus at the center of my life has done wonders for me and my family.
    We raised our three boys the same way and have been blessed because of it.
    God bless you Adrienne.

    Walk daily with God at your side.

    Ed.

  3. [...] http://lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/easter-weekend-on-the-horizon/ [...]

  4. Adrienne, thanks for giving us such a sweet picture of how you and your daughter spend your weekends and will spend this most holy weekend. I pray that it is a very special, Spirit-filled time of awe and worship for you both! Happy Easter!!

    Love in Christ,
    Natalie

    P.S. I will have to check out the book you mentioned! My daughter is 9, so we may need to do that together in the future. Thanks, again, for sharing :)

  5. Thanks, Bird.. I hope your Easter weekend is fun and meaningful for you and that you can share it with those who matter the most in your life.

  6. Thank you, Ed… I’m glad to hear that because she just officially became a teenager and I know the road forward is going to be challenging. I will do my best to keep Jesus Christ front and center in our home. I hope you and your wife have a lovely Easter weekend, Ed. (hugs in Christ)

    Adrienne

  7. Thanks, Cath! Have a super Easter weekend, you and hubby. God bless ya’ll…

  8. God bless you and your daughter and family, Natalie. I hope ya’ll have an incredible Easter. I know you’ll be worshipping God.

    The book is wonderful. We just started it but it gets into godly sexuality and how to steer your daughter toward seeing herself as more than just a sex object; the media attempts to put young girls into this mindset by conditioning them and young men into this kind of attitude about their sexuality.

    Installing a godly sexuality is key toward our daughter’s marrying godly men and recognizing that they are worth so much more than just “the sum of their physical parts.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 689 other followers

