Posted by: the warrioress | October 17, 2011

Leaving MD

It’s been a little while now since I left, or it feels that way, at any rate.

I had been there for quite literally years – three to be exact. I had considered it a community, almost a neighborhood, a sanctuary, a place that was like a second home. After sustaining a serious injury that impacted my ability to get around, being welcome there began to seem pretty important, (probably more important than I should have ever allowed it to become).

There was a problem with my membership there and that problem can be basically summed up in a few words.

I’m a bible-believing Christian.

What this means is that I believe the bible is the god-breathed, inspired ‘word of God.’ I believe what the scripture says about it. I don’t believe that the words within the bible are in error. I believe that we have been offered something that was written by the faithful many years ago in order to guide us. What we choose to do with those words as they relate to our lives is strictly up to us.

These beliefs were a  problem for many at my former home on the internet. I was challenged because of my beliefs on a daily basis by a host of trolls and would-be bullies, who were simply not happy unless they were crapping in my proverbial Cheerios. They proceeded to bait, taunt, and terrorize me. If I dared stand up for myself, I was immediately reported to the biased moderation team of one, (this is all that now remains), and I was promptly disciplined and timed out while the instigators got off scott free; these dysfunctional people were part of a close knit group that had been with the site for a long time and continued their rampage with impunity despite moderation knowing what was occurring. Things went on like this for quite sometime.

Over the many months of my membership, I made several friends and a lot of people really liked me, despite the unceasing trolling that they watched me enduring. I was able to justify staying at that site because the people I primarily considered friends, knew what was going on and supported me. Because of this, it didn’t really matter about the unreasonable, unfair treatment I was tolerating because I felt it was more important that I continue sharing the message I was given, that all Christians are admonished to share, to the best of my ability.

It became more and more impossible, however, and I was increasingly under serious attack by what I can only describe as “God-haters.” These individuals no longer had anything against me personally; they hated me purely and completely because I am a Christian who stands up for and believes the bible. I would correct their intentional erroneous quotations from the bible, along with their twisting completely out of context, the words within the good book. They were engaging in a process of attempting to spread the opposite of what I was sharing. I would blog or post about God, my experiences with God and Jesus Christ, or simply about what is happening in our world today as it relates to Christianity, and my posts or blogs would be attacked, reported, and trolled mercilessly.

There was one troll, in particular, that became quite obsessed with my writings and posts, in that she began to follow me around and actually direct her own writings at that place to me! This was distressing and embarrassing for me. I attempted to ignore her but she became ever more flagrant in her attempts. I eventually had to confront her and in doing so, I found myself sitting alongside of the internet highway, ousted and alone, all of my writings gone, (though I did make copies of most of them). There wasn’t even a warning given, or even any response to my numerous queries about the quite literal persecution I was putting up with up to that point. I was quite simply and plainly “cast out.”

I spent the first week or so of this action “in seclusion.” I suppose one could say that I was meditating on what had occurred and attempting not to take the whole thing too personally. Eventually, I joined a specifically Christian site that is large and welcoming to my kind, and prepared to settle in for the duration. I could not forget what had happened to me, however, and something within me was just not content. Something else needed to happen, but what was it?

I now know what it was.

I was not to stop writing. I was simply to find a new venue to share within where my writings would be appreciated, where I would not be unreasonably censored, where I would be welcomed. I needed to find another home where I could be me and be accepted for who I am, despite my religious beliefs, and my writings would be valued by those who were led to value them. I think I may have found this sheltering place and am sitting within these hallowed internet halls and contemplating my new beginning… here.

Thank you and God bless you, Word Press.

Responses

  1. Serving Christ, (in any capacity), is usually met with opposition from the secular community “A”. I’ve long admired your bulldog tenacity to remain both firmly entrenched in Christian beliefs and “vocal” in your Christian witness.

    On top of this you have given me your friendship.

    Romans 8:28–“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose. 29–For those God foreknew He also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of His Son, that He might be the firstborn among many brothers. 30–And those He predestined, He also called; those He called, He also justified; those He justified, He also glorified. 31–What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32–He who did not spare His own Son, but gave Him up for us all–how will He not also, along with Him, graciously give us all things? 33–Who will bring any charge against whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. 34–Who is he that condemns? Christ Jesus, who died–more than that, who was raised to life–is at the right hand of God and is also interceeding for us. 35–Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36–As it is written: ‘For your sake we face death all day long; we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.’ (Psalm 44:22) 37–“No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. 38–For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39–neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

    God bless you my friend. 🙂

  2. Tom, so glad to see you commenting here and subscribing to my blog. I really appreciate your friendship and loyalty. I’ll talk with you later, brother, and God bless you too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

