Posted by: the warrioress | October 21, 2011

Cruelty

I never have been able to keep my mouth shut.

I will witness horrible things said and done, and even as a child I had to stand up, come forward, and speak up about it. I’m not saying I offered a sermon to the perpetrator because I was too young to know how to give a sermon, but I didn’t mince words. Nothing has changed now; I’m still exactly the same.

Cruelty horrifies me. It agitates and shocks me. After the shock begins to fade, it angers me. I think this is because I’m a very empathetic person and I can’t stand to see other people hurt and suffering, most especially when they are being hurt or are having to suffer out of someone else’s intent.

I am more apt to be able to accept cruelty aimed at myself than I can when I find it aimed at someone else. There is something within me that just will not be passive and allow real cruelty to occur without voicing my displeasure with whomever is perpetrating it. This “problem” tends to get me into trouble, especially lately.

Being on the internet, cruelty within the written word is quite literally everywhere one looks. It’s rare that we don’t stumble upon it daily because there are so many people who give into this aspect of human nature. Not many people speak up about cruelty when it’s occurring. I suppose they fear that they will be the next target for the cruel person’s wrath, so it’s easier to simply stay quiet or turn away entirely. Well, I cannot do that; something within me will not allow me to.

As for when cruelty is fired at me, and it certainly has been, I’ve learned over time to handle it lightly and treat it with humor if possible. There are times, however, that cruelty is so over the top, that it floors me — it actually renders me briefly speechless. At these times, I find that it’s best to simply turn these cruel people over to Him in whom my complete and utter faith resides. God will not let me down, nor forget me. He will take care of everything far better than I ever could and with perfect precision and wisdom. Not only will He do that, but I sleep well at night, knowing that God is in charge — no matter how the situation may seem to the contrary.

“…it is a righteous thing with God to repay with tribulation those who trouble you, and to give you who are troubled rest with us when the Lord Jesus is revealed from heaven with His mighty angels, in flaming fire taking vengeance on those who do not know God, and on those who do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. These shall be punished with everlasting destruction from the presence of the Lord and from the glory of His power…”
(2 Thessalonians 1:6-9). (Modern KJV)

God will repay those who harm us in any way because we are the apple of His eye. We belong to God. We are the elect of God. We are King’s Kids. The Law of Sowing and Reaping also applies here- one will reap what they sow. Our enemies- to the degree that they say or do anything against one of God’s true children- to that same degree they will receive back from God in full recompense. And if our enemies do not repent by the time they die, they will suffer the consequences of eternal damnation.

(source: http://7-star-admiral.com/0753_2Thessalonians_commentary.html)  

Leave a Reply

Categories

