Posted by: the warrioress | October 30, 2011

Our Sinful Pasts

I was doing some reading around the net, like I usually do, and my attention was caught by a woman playing busybody and apparently trying to snoop into someone’s past. The gist of what I read was that she had managed to poke around and find something salacious within a Christian’s past, or in other words, she had discovered sin prior to this Christian’s decision to live a godly life.

This woman began to publicly recite a brief litany of this person’s private sins that she had managed to uncover, and was gossiping about and judging the Christian mercilessly.

I was kind of horrified.  Well, I just kept reading, considering deeply as I came to the end of her ramblings. Her vicious judgment and condemnation made me wonder whether we as Christians will be judged for past sin that we’ve put behind us. 

I wondered if we would be condemned for that which we engaged in before we accepted Jesus Christ or began to live as real Christians. I sat there thinking to myself what Jesus thinks about our pasts, and I wondered what God thinks. 

I can certainly remember my own sins because they’ve been many and I’m still no perfect Christian, by any means. It’s challenging if one doesn’t grow up in a Christian household and is older when he or she finds salvation; there can be a lot of sin that occurred before revelation of who Jesus Christ is hits and one renounces the past and everything that went with that former life.  One can get pretty dirty out here in the world, if one is honest and forthright about it. 

As I reviewed just a few of my past sins, I found myself sighing and hoping that the feelings I was experiencing at that moment within my heart were the correct ones. I hoped my instincts were right.

I think we pay consequences for sin from the past and that there’s no way out of dealing with those consequences, but I don’t believe that God or Jesus hold our former sins against us if we’ve repented them and asked for forgiveness for what we’ve done wrong. If we’ve essentially determined to “go and sin no more,” I can’t see our Lord condemning us for past errors that we sincerely regret.

So why would other Christians, in particular, condemn brothers or sisters for their past sin? How wrong is that? It seems really reprehensible to harp on and gossip about anyone’s past and most especially when we know that God or Christ wouldn’t; it’s just hard to understand how people can be so unkind, unforgiving, harsh, and unloving with one another. It really astounds me.

Well, after reading the gossip, I had the overwhelming urge to do a little research on exactly what God has to say about our former lives and past sin, before we’ve come to really know and commit ourselves to Him. I thought I would share some of what I found in part two of this topic. And I realized that I’m glad that I’m going to stand before Holy God, with Jesus Christ by my side, because God and Jesus Christ are a lot more loving, forgiving, and understanding than many people on this earth are – thank goodness.

Responses

  1. I’m given to understand that the great forgiveness of Jesus Christ is all-encompassing.

    What does this passage mean to you? Jeremiah 31:33-34–“‘This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time,’ declares the Lord. ‘I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people.
    34–“No longer will a man teach his neighbour, or a man his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord’, because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest’, declares the Lord. ‘For I will forgive their wickedness and REMEMBER THEIR SINS NO MORE.'”

    Was Christ’s death on the cross an insufficient payment for sin?? Is the forgiveness we receive at the time of Baptism time-sensitive? And then, even a week later, does the filth of sin return and we must continually be Baptized until shortly before we die?

    In Hebrews 9 we are reminded, beginning in verse 11–“When Christ came as high priest of the good things that are already here, He went through the greater and more perfect tabernacle that is not man-made, that is to say, not a part of this creation. 12–He did not enter by means of the blood of goats and calves; but He entered the Most Holy Place once for all by His own blood, having obtained eternal redemption. 13–The blood of goats and bulls and the ashes of a heifer sprinkled on those who are ceremonially unclean sanctify them so that they are outwardly clean. 14–How much more, then, will the blood of Christ , who through the eternal Spirit offered Himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God. 15–For this reason Christ is the mediator of a new covenant, that those who are called may receive the promised eternal inheritance–now that He died as a ransome to set them free from the sins committed under the first covenant.”

    Then later in the same chapter, 9:27–“Just as man is destined to die once, and after that to face judgement, 28–so Christ was sacrificed once TO TAKE AWAY the sins of many people; and He will appear a second time, not to bear sin, but to bring salvation to those who are waiting for Him.”

    Also, in Acts, we are reminded that through Baptism all our past sins no longer exist. 22:16–“And now what are you waiting for? Get up, be baptized and WASH YOUR SINS AWAY, calling on His name.”

  2. Thank you, SOC.

    What is interesting in the research that I’ve been doing on this topic is that there is only one “accuser of the brethren.” I’m sure you can guess who that might be. Apparently it is on his plate, through people, that this kind of thing happens. All I know is that I find it sad and awkward to watch anyone being castrated and condemned for past sins by another who most certainly isn’t snowy white themselves.

    I guess this has been going on for centuries, including in Christ’s time, hence the story of the woman adulterer who Christ defended, saying “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.”

  3. I love these words ..after all it’s satan that does this through people.

    Ephesians 6:10 -18
    10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.
    18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.

  4. Hello, HpyLady! How are you this lovely Sunday evening? Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting…

    I appreciate that reading too. Satan is always the accuser of the brethren.

  5. apparently it doesn’t stop a blinded, confused, biased moderator from trying to kick your feet from under you .. but it does make you able to continue.

  6. […] Our Sinful Pasts (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

