Posted by: the warrioress | December 15, 2011

Red-Letter Words

a red-letter day

 Why should these give us pause? 

There is a reason the words of Jesus Christ are bolded for us in red. We’ll want to know what Jesus said and pay careful attention to these red-letter words.
 
We’ll want to think about them deeply and peer into the recesses of our minds to see if we’re behaving as He would have us, as He talked to us about, within the special red-letter passages. 

Red Letter
 
When I sit down, bible in hand, my eyes are drawn to the brilliant intensity of the
red letters.  I ponder the words before me quietly, deliberating on Jesus.  His way of speaking is tender, but I imagine His voice to be soft, yet incredibly deep. 
 
I think of this great teacher and His
incredible patience.  I run my fingertips across the red letters, feeling Him near, almost hearing that deep voice audibly.
 
Lord Jesus, I perceive of the desires you have for us through the red-letter words, and I sense the urgency within the phrases. They stand out in the crowd for a reason. They are gifted to us so that we might know your will for our lives.  We can re-live what our brethren lived through before us through the story they tell of you. What you were to them, you are now so much more to us. 

The Good Book
 
These red-letter words are ours after your death and resurrection; they guide, direct, and lovingly teach — if we will but simply make them a part of our daily lives.
 
Thank you, Lord Jesus.
 

 

Responses

  1. Thank you. I have a new outlook on those red letter words now.

  2. […] be pleasing to our God?Now that is something to think about!BlessingsPastor DukeRelated articlesRed-Letter Words (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com)I am the pastor of the Vineyard Christian Fellowship of […]

  3. Psalm 1:2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.

    I love the way your words bring glory to our Heavenly Father.

    I have a word document, that is nothing, but the RED Words, spoken by Jesus. Sometimes I feel, I need to just see what Jesus said.

  4. Thank you, Ernie! I appreciate your comment and definitely agree with you on your take about these red-letter words. God bless, Ernie, and Happy New Year.

  5. Thanks for the mention!

  6. […] Red-Letter Words (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] Red-Letter Words (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] Red Letter Words  (https://lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

