Posted by: the warrioress | December 28, 2011

Turkey Soup & Wife Swap

Well, it’s been one of those kinda days when the kiddo is not feeling too well. She’s had a stomach virus with fever, so it’s been pretty subdued around ye ole’ homestead.

Turkey Soup With Rice Prep time: 10 minutes Co...

Today I’ve whipped up a batch of turkey soup full of potatoes, onions, carrots, natural turkey juices, dark and white turkey meat, corn, and some rice. It’s still cooking away in there and should be ready shortly. It smells terrific!

My little girl likes to be babied when she’s sick, even though she’s almost thirteen. I guess everyone appreciates being cared for when they’re ill.  We’ve been watching lots of reruns of “Wife Swap.” This is a really cool reality show where the wives of two couples swap places with each other’s family for two weeks. Each family gets to learn new things about how the other family’s mom does things. Both families wind up usually benefiting from the differences in each other’s points of views on how family life is supposed to be.

Wife Swap

Some of the people in the show don’t appreciate being moved out of their comfort zones though. They can be really ugly about this sometimes. Usually by the end of the show, they realize that the change was good for them. They realize that they’ve learned a lot and are attempting change in areas that change was necessary. This reminds me of God and us, in a way. God often puts people into our lives that teach us new or different points of view, through uncomfortable or difficult interaction and experiences with them.

At the time, we may not appreciate these people very much at all. After we finish learning the lessons we are supposed to learn from them though, we find that we couldn’t have learned and improved our lives without them teaching us through their behavior or example.  Sometimes the lessons are harsh, sometimes they’re just day-to-day little things that we need to change in our lives. Maybe we need to learn to spend more meaningful time with our family, wife, or husband, instead of working all the time. Maybe we need to learn to speak up for ourselves, or tell our partner how we really feel about certain issues. Life is funny like this. We never know what’s going to happen next that God will use to teach us something.

365x4:1

The one thing that I always take comfort in, despite the occasional growing pains that occur in these scenarios, is that God promises that He will turn everything that happens for our good. In other words, even in the most difficult, demanding, really awful circumstances, God will find a way to see that we benefit from the matter somehow.

I love God for that. And I trust Him to know enough to be in charge of the lessons I need to learn so that I can be the best I can be for Him and His glory. He’s got a heck of a job to do on me before I’m Christ-like, I assure you, but I know He’s up to the task. He’s up to the task with each one of us and we’ll be the better for it in the long run.

Anyway, back to the turkey soup I go, and a few more taped episodes of Wife Swap. I hope your after Christmas holidays are fun and that you’re happy and feeling well. The new year is just around the corner! 

Responses

  1. Good stuff…both the yummy looking soup and the post 🙂 I hope your daughter feels better very soon.

  2. my wife said something last night about this show, I didn’t know it existed, I said, why would I want to swap wives, if somebody is looking to get rid of their wife then something is wrong with her and I don’t want another man’s head ache (grin) I cant believe they made a show of this… it is an attack on marriage across the network. What about a reality show where they go in and fix these people wanting to get rid of their spouse (~_~) well, that is my two cents on this…

  3. Thanks, WP … she’s doing quite a bit better today, thank God. Just hate it when she’s under the weather.

  4. Actually it’s really not an attack on marriage, I don’t think. It’s about trading so that you can see how each other’s families do things. It offers a new outlook on family life and the way one is doing things as a family. You really need to watch an episode, Zen. It’s awesome.

    I’m opposed to anything that attempts to redefine or harm the marital concept but Wife Swap definitely doesn’t; at least I don’t see it attempting to do this, but please give it a shot and tell me what you think after you watch an episode?

    The name can be.. offensive. I can see how one would be opposed to it based upon the name, but the show really doesn’t come off like the name of it implies.


Leave a Reply

Categories

