Posted by: the warrioress | December 31, 2011

The Final Prayer

English: A prayer to God

Image via Wikipedia

“I will instruct you and  teach you in the way which you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you.” – Psalm 32:8

 
 
It’s been a strange year for me.   So many things have happened that were unexpected. Many of these things were difficult for me and painful. I didn’t understand God’s purpose as I marched on, but I trusted nevertheless. It’s the way of things for me because I’ve learned over time to trust God even when I don’t understand where or why He leads me as He does. 
There have been disappointments, moments of doubt, times of silent questioning within my mind. Despite these, there remained firm resolution to trust no matter how I felt, no matter what I feel. I’ve learned that I don’t live by my feelings. Where this has brought me is a place that is unfamiliar. Even though I don’t know the terrain, I know that He is with me.
 
And so in what lies ahead, I’ll hold onto what I believe that is entrenched within my heart. His promises, His word, His love, His faithfulness will be my comfort on the narrow road I walk. I’ll walk this road, even if I have to crawl to get to the end of my destiny. You see, I’ve always loved Him in my deepest heart of hearts. Even as a babe in the crib, I knew Him.
 
I don’t know what’s coming in 2012 but I know that He will be in it and will be by my side no matter what comes my way. I’ll handle the coming year with the grace He gives me as I grow spiritually in leaps and bounds, growing ever closer to my Source, my Life.
 
I love you, Father.
 
May God bless each one of you in this new year that lies ahead of us. I hope it treats you well and that you’re happy.
 
For those of you who do not understand me, I leave you with this:
 

Dear Lord, thank you for giving me the strength
And the conviction to complete the task you entrusted to me.
Thank you for guiding me straight and true,
Through the many obstacles in my path.
And for keeping me resolute when all around seemed lost.
Thank you for your protection and for your many signs along the way.
Thank you for any good that I may have done.
I’m so sorry about the bad.
Thank you for the friend I made.
Please watch over her as you watched over me.
Thank you for finally allowing me to rest.
I’m so very tired.
But I go now to my rest
In peace
Knowing that I have done right
with my time on this earth.
I fought the good fight.
I finished the race.
I kept the faith.

gratitude
Responses

  1. I can totally relate to this! Well said, great post!

  2. Thank you, Out of the Dark! May God bless you in the upcoming new year. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

    Thanks to the rest of you, my friends, for your support all year and for reading and commenting here, and liking my posts (hugs) Happy New Year!

  3. Happy New Year to you, my dear friend!! This is a great post. I am especially blessed by it.

  4. (hugs) hey doll.. thanks so much. I hope you’re blessed by your new year too. I’ll stop by your blog asap.


Leave a Reply

Categories

