Posted by: the warrioress | February 8, 2012

In Talking with Mike

I received a comment from someone reading my blog named Mike. I don’t know who this person is, but his comment was rather involved and important enough that I thought I might post something in response to it. I think there may be other people reading who may feel as he does; I want to answer him and them at the same time.

Here is the comment I received:

I feel so bad for you poor people. Don’t you ever want to break the shackles and be free? Ever think “what if there are no gods or devils, and I have wasted all this time and energy?”.

Satan-jesus

Image via Wikipedia

If you were Buddhist, you would be filtering all of your life experiences to confirm your Buddhist beliefs. If you were Hindu you would be filtering all of your life experiences to confirm your Hindu beliefs. If you practiced African Bantu witchcraft you would be filtering all of your life experiences to confirm your….um…. beliefs.

What you believe, you will find proof to support that belief. That is how the human mind works.

Every religion claims that they are the only true and right one. Every religion says that their people are special or chosen. Every religion tries to keep their people isolated from “non-believers”.

You should all read about many other religions, the Koran for example, reads much like the bible. A lot of the same cast. Lots of non-believers going to hell, and only the true believers being rewarded with paradise. Their religion came after yours. You should read about some of the ones that were around before yours.

And here is my response to Mike:

I was a little surprised by your referral of myself and the rest of us Christians as “poor people.” You ask if we want to break our shackles and be free. You ask what we will do if we’ve wasted all of this time and energy and there are no gods or devils.

I care enough about what you’re asking, Mike, to clarify my feelings in-depth for you so that there can be no doubt.

I’m hardly poor; I actually consider myself to be quite rich. You cannot see my material wealth, perhaps because it is on the inside of myself and is not easily viewed, but I’m really very happy in my life and contented. I am fulfilling my destiny. I believe that destiny is to serve God according to His purposes and desires for my life and finally, after much lengthy introspection, this is what I’m doing.

Jesus is considered by scholars such as Weber ...

Image via Wikipedia

What you may not understand is that long ago when I chose to know and turn to God and begin a relationship with Him, my entire life really began at that point. I stepped into a great adventure. On this adventure, anything and everything has been possible and I have received the desires of my heart. I will continue to receive what I most dream of and that which will make me most happiest if I keep on the path that He wills for me to follow. There is no “waste of time” here, Mike.

If, at the end of my time on this planet, I find that there is no God, no Satan, and that everything was simply an illusion/delusion, I will not regret one moment of my choice to follow Jesus Christ, to live as God has had me to live. I won’t ever regret living my life to please God.

The way I live is good for me. The positives are incredible and are good for my body, mind, spirit, and emotional nature. The Christian lifestyle is healthy for one’s family and children too. This is a wonderful way to live!

I live a settled, stable life that brings me peace of mind, humor, inner satisfaction and happiness, a feeling of intense well-being, the knowledge that I am always protected and cared for, and I am never alone. Nothing can happen to me that God doesn’t allow to happen and God turns everything to my good, even when things may seem to the contrary.

Losing My Religion

Losing My Religion (Photo credit: Cayusa)

I have a relationship that brings me fulfillment and happiness. I feel loved and guided by my Heavenly Father. Were I to be all wrong and there is no such thing, I wouldn’t regret one minute of what I’ve experienced and lived. There would be no wasted time and energies; do you understand that I would change nothing? Nothing.

I wasn’t born into a Christian-believing family; it was the opposite, in fact. My life took many desperate turns from a very young age until I finally met God and surrendered to Him at the age of sixteen.  I strayed from the path over the next many years more times than I can tell you, but I’ve always returned like the prodigal son in the bible. The last three to four years, I’ve  been choosing the narrow path that leads to a closer  walk with Him. My love for God just keeps growing with every day that passes; I’m not poor in any way, shape, or form. I’m not in bondage or shackles, Mike. 

English: Damian. "Jesus Christ and St. Jo...

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t care what the other religions do or believe because I’ve done my share of studying them over these years. I believe Jesus Christ walked the earth, was crucified, died, and rose again so that I could really live. He died so that I would have opportunity to be free from the bondage of sin and be forgiven if I will but believe on Him and repent of my wrong doings.

I’m not aware of any other religion offering me that. Through Jesus Christ, I have eternal life with God and the saints. I will experience Heaven. There will be no more pain, evil, sickness, or tears. I will live in the wondrous presence of Holy God for all eternity. 

You have the same opportunities for all of this as I do if you will just reach out and take what is offered, but you can’t have the foggiest idea of what this is all about and how it feels until you do. In the interim, you’re way off from the truth of this matter and what it’s really like for me and countless of others. I hope that one day you will be blessed enough to find out for yourself how incredible this life is and how I wouldn’t change a moment of it for anything this earth could offer me. I hope one day you’ll know what I mean, Mike. May God make Himself known to you so that you’ll understand. Thank you for your comment and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts and concerns with me.

Responses

  1. Great answer to Mike. We must always be prepared to answer and to give a reason for the hope that we have!

  2. You are truly a Warrioress for God. Proud of you for you “right on” response to Mike. To not be a Christian is a terrifying state. Hold on to your faith and let’s pray for Mike. He doesn’t know what he is missing.

  3. Very well said.

  4. Thank you Adriene; that was well spoken.
    Ozzie

  5. I read the blog from Mike and also your response and your response is right on, remember john 3:16 FOR GOD SO LOVED THE WORLD THAT HE GAVE HIS ONLY BEGOTTEN SON THAT WHO SO EVER BELIEVETH IN HIM SHALL NOT PERISH BUT HAVE EVER LASTING LIFE. God sent his son not to condemn us we were already condemned but that through Jesus Christ we might be saved and the word might is meaning that the only way he could save us is by choosing Jesus as our lord and savior, if we choose him not then we have condemned ourselves God did not condemn us. so I think Mike needs to do a bit more study on Christianity and see for himself we are not God slaves we are bond servants to the one true and living God.

  6. Wonderful answer! It is sad that there are people who have no desire for anything more than what they can achieve here on this earth, It releases them from bearing any responsibility for there actions and gives them an out in their minds. With no one to responsible to, there is also no one to really be responsible for.

  7. The answer you gave here is wonderful, and full of the mercy you have from our Heavenly Father! I am humbled each day we are born to sin, born on the road to hell and we have the choice to choose life. Jesus bought and paid our price so would could have the option. I will choose life, and choose to live it more abundantly, with Jesus. Yielding to the Spirit each day. Thank you for your blog and your words of wisdown and faith!

  8. This was an excellent response!

  9. A great response from the heart. No matter what arguments are put up against Christianity, there is NO denying the REALITY of our experience. I pray that the Holy Spirit will work in Mike’s life as he reads your response and that he will come to experience that reality for himself.

  10. “If you were Buddhist, you would be filtering all of your life experiences to confirm your Buddhist beliefs. If you were Hindu you would be filtering all of your life experiences to confirm your Hindu beliefs. If you practiced African Bantu witchcraft you would be filtering all of your life experiences to confirm your….um…. beliefs.”

    I’ve heard that argument used multiple times. I wonder why he didn’t add, “If you were an atheist, you would be filtering all of your life experiences to confirm your atheistic beliefs.”

    Why is it that that “shoe fits religion” in their logic, but not when it comes to atheism? At least I never hear them quote it that way.

  11. Dear “warrioress”,

    this is “wordwatcherdawn” from Hungary. I really liked your reply and would like to ask whether you would give me permission to translate it into Hungarian and to put it on my blog (http://igerenezek.wordpress.com/).
    Thank you and God bless you.

  12. Sure.. translate away. Thank you, WordWatcherDawn.

  13. I dunno..strange, that, huh? Thanks for the comment, Eugene.

  14. Thank you, Meeting. I appreciate your comment and opinion!

  15. Thanks, Samuel. I appreciate your comment.

  16. Kim, thanks so much. I appreciate your stopping by here. (hugs)

  17. I so agree, Rambo. Thanks!

  18. Thanks, Ozzie… (hugs)

  19. Thanks, Ms. Cathy 😉

  20. I agree. Let’s pray for Mike. And thank you, LeRoy. I sure appreciate your comment.

  21. Thank you, JW. I appreciate your thoughts on this.

  22. Thanks, Pat! (hugs). I appreciate your comment as usual 😉

  23. Warrioress, Great response to “Mike”!!! I would like to share my thoughts with “Mike” about one of his questions.

    He said: “Ever think “what if there are no gods or devils, and I have wasted all this time and energy?””

    It is absolutely rational, logical and plausible that you should ask yourself the same question Mike. The way I see it, for conversation sake, if Christians are wrong (we’re not) then you and all of us will be in the same boat. But if Christians are right (we are) then where will you be Mike, since you don’t believe?

    What will happen when you discover that God, Jesus, Holy Spirit, angels and demons exist? What will happen to you, at the end of your life, when you discover that Jesus is/was the only way to be reconnected to GOD the Father? Will you think: ” I have wasted all this time and energy chasing fairy tales and not believing in Christ!”

    On behalf of all my brethren in Christ it is my sincere prayer that you will find out the truth; believing Jesus and believing in Jesus are the most important decisions you can ever make while you’re still alive! Praying for you!

  24. Thank you for your kind permission. God bless you.

  25. Beautiful response……”Your speech should always be gracious and sprinkled with insight so that you may know how to respond to every person.” Gal 4:6

  26. Thank you, Talk. I appreciate your response and sharing here.

  27. Thanks for sharing!

  28. I liked your response to Mike’s question.

  29. I am blessed by your blog as I just stumbled on it today..
    In reading this entry I wanted to just add a small food for thought for my brothers and sisters…. As Mike asked…”What if there is no god or demons…what if this is all a waste of your energy?” This is a genuine question we have to ask ourselves…. but I know you will agree with me when I say that It simply isnt. Seeing Him heal the sick! Opening blind eyes! Answering prayers when the odds seemed soooo impossible. Hearing His sweet voice and being overwhelmed by His majesty and presence. Studying the fullfilled prophecies. haha! Let us be filled with joy in KNOWING beyond a shadow of a doubt that our God is not dead!
    Anywho, thats my 2 cents! Be blessed

  30. Beautiful and so peaceful. Brings me to my favorite saying, I would rather live my life believing there is a God and die and find out there isn’t than to live my life believing there is no God and die and find out there is. God bless each of you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

