Posted by: the warrioress | February 18, 2012

Whitney & Westboro

English: Whitney Houston talking to the audien...

Image via Wikipedia

Today was a sad day for me because they buried Whitney Houston. I watched her funeral. You see, I’ve always admired her acting and singing, and was a fan of many of the songs she sang so well.

Her death has brought her into the public view to the point that I’ve now learned many things about Whitney that I didn’t know before.  I don’t think I ever realized until she died how much Whitney loved God. Whitney Houston was a very religious person.

Despite her struggles with the carnality of the world and the flesh, Whitney always believed in and loved the Lord deeply. I admire this in her greatly.

I also think it’s interesting that a superstar performer like Whitney Houston, who had it all financially, still struggled personally with so many things that regular people struggle with daily. What saddens me even more than Whitney passing, though, are the rumors I heard about the “Christian” group known as the Westboro Baptist Church. Apparently, they threatened to picket Whitney Houston’s funeral and stir up a lot of nonsense related to a parody of her song, “I will always love you.” They were attempting to change the words of the song to “God will always hate you.” 

Jael Phelps picketing Trinity Episcopal Church...

Image via Wikipedia

These “Christian individuals” have no idea how much they are hurting the cause for Christ. I’m really very sad for them that they are so ignorant and deceived in their apparent self-righteousness. These truly are the vultures and vipers which Jesus railed at in His day; they are the Pharisees of the twenty-first century. Would Jesus approve of their tactics? Does God approve?   No way…not in my opinion.

God blesses the humble and the peacemakers. God doesn’t bless people who scream like wicked banshee’s in their judgmental perfection about the sins of others, to make themselves look like saints. God sees beyond this pretense directly into the heart. No one can lie about his or her own heart. God sees it all. He sees all the puffery, deceit, greed, treacherous jealousy, envy, and every dark thing within the nature of humanity.

Westboro Baptist Church at the United Nations ...

Image via Wikipedia

Followers of Jesus Christ don’t exhibit their holiness by putting down their brothers and sisters in Christ; they flaunt their insecurities and weaknesses within their relationship with Him when they behave this way. We can only pray that the Westboro bunch are able to find even a measure of the grace that Whitney had in her relationship with our Lord Jesus.

Regardless of these silly fools, I know Whitney is being held safe and close within the arms of God today. And as was said at her televised funeral, “her death and funeral brought the world to church today,” thanks to her gracious mother and family. The whole world was able to hear a wonderful message about prioritizing God in our lives while we all mourned the passing of our sister in Christ Jesus.

It was a good message shared at her funeral, an important message, and one I’m sure Whitney would want everyone to hear now that she’s with our Father in Heaven. May God bless and keep her, and help those of us who are not perfect, like her, who still struggle, who dearly love God with all of our hearts and souls. God’s grace is here for us as it was and still is for her, as is His mercy, and His ever-loving forgiveness. We are ALL “good enough,” in God’s eyes, thanks to His Son, Jesus Christ.  

Responses

  1. Isn’t this the same church that shows up at the funerals of fallen soldiers? They not only hurt the Christian cause, but it’s hard to see how they can advance their own. Anyone with a decent heart and half a mind, Christian or not, can see how hateful and ignorant they are; seems like a club with limited membership and aptitude.

  2. When I heard she died, I thought, her pain has ended. I believe she knew the Lord. I have heard her speak of Him.
    I also know that God is merciful.

    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Oz

  3. It’s wonderful that Miss Witney Houston truly loves God, and Christ Jesus. I never knew that. I thought, all fame would swell their heads and makes them forgetful. But I’m glad I was wrong about that. I’m glad She truly loves Jesus.

    Yes, I do remember her song, from the Bodyguard movie, I liked that movie. Great voice, when I can hear it, some parts becomes invisible, when it got too high for me to hear, but I hear all the same, in my mind. The voice of angels, that’s what she has. I’m glad she’s in peace, for the dead do not know anything, until the coming of Jesus then we’ll know a better life without the sin, finally.

    Yes, the Westboros seemed to be sadly lacking in some ways, mayhap they have been infected with mean spirit things that drags them down. In time they’ll fall apart, for their unity in Jesus is not at the centre holding them together, it is something else, something mean, something hateful, that they are too blind to see. Poor saps. Hopes they’ll realises it and clean it up. Otherwise they will fall apart within a few weeks, months or years.

    Better to be separate from the world, than to follow the word in their perceived “perfection” that are illusionary only. So it is with this Westboror “chruch” who are only chuch in name, for they follow not Jesus’ words, to not be too PROUD of their self-righteousness, forgetting that we’re all sinners and real Christians do not go about picking on people’s sins and flaws that they are also struggling to deal with themselves… ah well. They’ll learn the lessons the hard way, as most who are too hard to see inside themselves will learn the hard way… that’s the life we have, we deal with it easy or hard, it’s up to each of us, for no one is exempted.

    Rest in Peace, Witney, for when Jesus comes, you will know that your faith in Jesus will rewards you with everlasting life. No worries!

  4. The world went to church…what a witness.

  5. If they were in existence back then they, (Westborrow church) they would have picketed David, Moses and most of the Old Testament figures too.

  6. I do disagree with the approach Westboro was potentially considering. God doesn’t hate people, but rather hates the sin in people’s lives. I did not know Whitney personally so I could not say for definite that she is with God today. I cannot judge in any form or sense as I am only a sinner saved by the mercy and grace of God. I do believe that there should be a separation from the thngs of this world that would grieve the Holy Spirit. Born again Christians are supposed to be a peculiar people. For the ones who did know Whitney, is that what was evident in her life?

  7. […] Whitney & Westboro (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) Share this:FacebookEmailStumbleUponTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  8. Hi Ruth, thanks for sharing your thoughts here. In response, I must agree that no one can say, (short of our own personal opinion) with complete certainty that Whitney was saved and is with God now, but based upon the scriptures themselves, I have the opinion that she was. As for what was evident within her life, we can look at specific interviews she’s given and her faith itself, that she has readily expressed for the world to consider. The scriptures tell us:

    Romans 10:9-10 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.

    John 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

    John 3:17 For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.

    John 17:3 And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.

    Acts 16:31 And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house

    2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new

    Psalm 103:12 As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us.

    1 John 4:19 We love him, because he first loved us

    John 8:36 If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.

    Matthew 24:13 But he that shall endure unto the end, the same shall be saved.

    Mark 16:16 He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.

    Luke 7:50 And he said to the woman, Thy faith hath saved thee; go in peace.

    Luke 8:12 Those by the way side are they that hear; then cometh the devil, and taketh away the word out of their hearts, lest they should believe and be saved

    John 5:34 But I receive not testimony from man: but these things I say, that ye might be saved. John 10:9 I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.

    Acts 2:21 And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.

    Acts 15:11 But we believe that through the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ we shall be saved,
    ————————

    Based upon the above scriptures, I believe Whitney has met the requirements of “belief,” baptism, confession of belief, etc.
    The question then comes down to, “what about those who continue to sin, who believe?”

    THAT is another matter in its entirety…..
    It’s also a matter that Christians argue and debate upon endlessly based upon the various interpretations of the Bible.

    I believe that it all comes down to one’s heart. The sincerity of that heart and the remorse within it for sinful behaviors. Addiction is a mental illness. I believe God’s grace covers mental illnesses for which we are simply not completely responsible, including some compulsions.

    It’s an interesting discussion that could go on at length. Thank you for participating in sharing your opinion here, Ruth; I really appreciate it.

  9. Yes, unfortunately, some Christian brethren are very legalistic to the point that they are less merciful than Jesus Christ Himself, in my opinion. I prefer to throw myself upon the grace of God within my more difficult areas that I struggle with personally. I think God can be often less condemning.

  10. Wasn’t it, LeRoy? I was so incredibly lifted up by that statement and the consideration of it. It’s a beautiful thing. God bless Whitney’s family and her life for bringing the world to church Saturday morning and afternoon.

  11. Wow….!! Beautifully said and put, Alex! God bless you for sharing this… well done and it’s so good to see you here. Don’t be a stranger, hon. (hugs)

  12. Thank you, Ozzie. I hope your weekend has been peaceful. I, too, know our Lord is merciful, thank goodness. I am far from perfect myself…

  13. It’s a sad little group of individuals but perhaps they are inflicted as they are so that we can learn from them… we should simply pray for them as I really don’t know what else could be done for them. Thanks for sharing here, Struggler. God bless.

  14. there is an incredible documentary about westboro baptist by louis theroux. gives you a strangely good inside look at how tight nit and almost insane their thinking is, but within their insanity it makes sense that they would be so insane, if that makes sense. i wish they would stop hating people tho.

  15. I could not have said it better.


Leave a Reply

Categories

