Posted by: the warrioress | March 17, 2012

Shame

SHAME

SHAME (Photo credit: BlueRobot)

Who were you before you met Jesus Christ?
 
Were you someone you were ashamed of as you look back into time? Do you wince internally at whom you used to be, how you used to think, and the things you used to do?
 
I’ve had mixed feelings about these questions for awhile, but have come to real peace on the issue after much deliberation. I’ve finally realized that arriving at our faith has been a journey, an adventure, and that who we were before Christ is valuable because we can reach out to and empathize with others who are now where we once were; God can use us in this regard. There is no shame in our pasts because we’ve been forgiven and the blood of Jesus Christ has washed us clean of our sins.
 
Our pasts may be inconvenient and there are always repercussions for mistakes and errors made, but I don’t think we need to be ashamed or live in fear of what or who we were before salvation. I believe it’s important to embrace and love ourselves, recognizing that God loves us unconditionally, good with the bad, right with the wrong. He doesn’t judge our sin or hold it against us. Jesus’ death on the cross bought and paid for our past mistakes and we were born again, created a new creature in Christ Jesus.
 
The bible tells us that old things are passed away and all have become new, but who we were existed at one time and we need not hate what once was, despite the lack of godliness; I have found peace with this.  I believe that God will use my former life experiences to guide and help others and thus I celebrate every facet of myself, including who I was in my past.
~o~o~o~o~

1There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

 2For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus hath made me free from the law of sin and death.

 3For what the law could not do, in that it was weak through the flesh, God sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, and for sin, condemned sin in the flesh:

 4That the righteousness of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.  ~Romans 8: 1-4

~o~o~o~o~

 I will extol the LORD at all times; his praise will always be on my lips.  My soul will boast in the LORD;  let the afflicted hear and rejoice. Glorify the LORD with me; let us exalt his name together.  I sought the LORD, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame. -Psalms 34: 1-5 

~o~o~o~o~ 

The LORD redeems his servants; no one will be condemned who takes refuge in him. -Psalms 34: 22

Further excellent reading on shame:

http://www.aibi.ph/harvest/Shattering%20Shame/ShatteringShame.htm

Responses

  1. Thoughts of my past bring shame . . . but they bring much more praise: praise for a God who drew me to Himself and CHANGED me and continues to change me, even 53 years later.

    Although I was extremely abused for my first 22 years, and have no happy memories of that time, I heartily praise God for EVERYTHING that happened in those years. It helped to make me what I am now and it helps me to relate to many others in a way that only someone who has been there can do.

  2. Amen!

  3. I can’t remember a time that I wasn’t seeking God .. I remember when I was young going to church with the neighbor and the sermon scared me because the preacher was talking about going to Hell and how alful it would be .. it was pretty scary for a 7 yr old … but then we moved to a different house when I was 9 yrs old and I remember walking past a pentecostal church and hearing happy music ..and clapping and I thought I wanna go there and I did .. my aunt took me ..she taught Sunday school there .. that’s where it started my growth and I’m still growing .. still learning .. still falling and still being picked back up… and I’m still amazed at his love for us… my very first Bible verse that I memorized was John 3:16 .. For God so loved the WORLD (not just me the whole world) …that he gave his only begotten son(how many of us could do that) … that whosoever believes in him shall not perish but have everlasting life…and not just any kind of life … a life full of love and joy … and I thought .. sign me up for that…lol one of my favorite songs..

  4. That’s terrific, Meeting in the Clouds. I hadn’t thought about that but it’s a great point. What we endured helps to make us who we are and God works with who we really are. He allows us to be who we are while only changing what makes us the best “who we are” that we can be so that we can appropriately serve Him.

    People have tried to shame me for my past since I’ve become a Christian. It’s a tactic to shut me down and allow them power over me and my testimony. There are those who can’t stand to see Christ proclaimed and they’ll do anything to shame you or destroy you if they can.

  5. 😉 thanks, EFChristi

  6. Well said, Pat.. what a wonderful story. I prefer the happier churches. The fire and brimstone stuff isn’t my favorite way to spend a Sunday morning, though it has its place now and again, I guess. Not every Sunday though..

  7. I love this post!

  8. A really great post. This is a question that I know many have struggled with. Even Christians can have periods of walking away from the Lord. When we repent of those offences we can get mired in regrets that keep us from growing in our walk with the Lord. Again a really great post. Thanks

  9. […] Shame (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) […]

  10. […] Shame (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

