Posted by: the warrioress | March 30, 2012

Fostering Vicki

Fox terrier cachorro

Last Sunday a little surprise happened along my way…

My daughter and her best friend were playing outside and the surprise caught their attention and drew them to bring it into our yard.

“It” was a small, about three to four-month old, fox terrier mix puppy.

She’s darling, of course — that has never been in question.  

The problem is that we already have quite the crew here. We’re essentially our own ark and if this continues, someone might call that unfortunate “animal hoarder” show, (which in my opinion is simply made up of good people who just can’t turn suffering, hungry, and abandoned animals away so they have way more than they can deal with or afford – why don’t more people help them and take some of the burden off? (sigh)).

Noahs Ark Animal

Anyway, I’m trying my hardest to be realistic and recognize that we can’t afford to feed another dog or give the necessary veterinary care like regular shots, monthly heart worm preventative, etc.  There comes a point when one has to recognize that they can’t save the planet.  So I’m attempting to move forward as a responsible animal rescuer and foster parent little “Vicki” until a truly good home turns up.

I reported Vicki to the city newspaper as “Found” and they printed the ad free, which will run all weekend, in the event some family or person actually lost her.  By next week, I’ll have the pics up and a flyer made so I can share it around my neighborhood, and then I’ll turn to Craigslist and no-kill shelters in the attempt at finding a new and loving home for the pup. In the interim, we got her a little pink collar and innumerable chewy treats because she is teething and is chewing on everything. Not to mention that she is in the process of being potty trained, so that’s always fun. heh.

I’m praying that God will bring someone loving and kind to take Vicki in, who will shower her with all of the love and snuggles that I would, were I able to keep her for my very own. All I can do right now is love her and show her that she’s wanted and appreciated.  It’s clear that she can’t get enough of this!

What’s tough is trying not to get too attached because every day I grow to love her more and more.  She’s a little pistol. Fox terriers are kind of hyper and need lots of exercise and play time. They are very loyal and brave and are actually quite feisty. Vicki deserves a wonderful home and great person to love her.  

In the meantime, I’m speaking firmly to my heartstrings and striving for logic and reason. “We can’t keep her..” is my new mantra. 

God help me. 

Responses

  1. What a beautiful person you are! My wife, Ann, says – ” I love her and I don’t even know her.” Ann volunteers at The Pet Place, the rescue shelter here in Marshall, TX. She will go there every day if they would let her. We love animals and have three little ones giving us their unending love. They are such a blessing to our lives.

    We pray you find a good home for Vicki.

    Walk daily with God at your side!

    Ed

  2. I love this! and she is adorable! maybe you are the next Noah?

  3. just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Sunshine Award! Congratulations!!!! You can find more information and pick it up at my blog:http://loopyloo305.com/2012/03/31/the-sunshine-award/

  4. Wow… tell Ann thanks, Ed! It’s good to know you both. I’m so glad to hear you two are animal lovers. We need more like us in the world, huh? 😉

    Thanks so much. I pray God blesses Vicki with a wonderful new home. I’m stepping out in faith that if He wants me to let her go, He will. lol..

    Pray that I can let her go when He finds it. 😉

  5. The next Noah? Oh dear.. no more, God, no more!!

    Animals are such a delight and joy though, aren’t they? Mine are simply family; they really are. We couldn’t do without them. Thanks for commenting, Cathy.

  6. You lil stinker! 🙂

    I will pick that right up, miss loo. Thanks muchly, Pat (hugs)

  7. That’s not a dog, Warrioress, that’s a little rat. Dogs start at 40 lbs and go up from there! Just kidding, we babysit a little poodle mix for a friend when he has to go out of town. “Chico” is his name. They burrow they’re way into your heart if your not careful! Even our cat has come to like Chico although that may be because she knows he always goes home. An that is probably the best part for us. Chico comes with food and if he gets sick we have the number for the vet. No expense on our part and all the fun of having him around.

  8. That is an adorable dog, I pray the that “Vickie” will find a nice home since your ark seems to be overcrowded. Better find somebody soon, I have the feeling that Vickie will grow on you and you can’t let go of her. Have a blessed week.

  9. I really really love when you write like this. In my opinion you come across much better this way than in your ‘more preachy’ writings, let’s say – and I think that you bring God across better also. I think sometimes you try too hard, when infact you only have to be yourself in order to shine and touch people. I hope that you take this as the positive comment it is intended to be.

    I also hope the situation with the extra four-legged-friend resolves itself favourably for all concerned 🙂 God bless.

  10. lol!! Hey Joe… I still have the puppy. It’s worming its little way into my heart. Not sure I can let her go. And yes, you have the best of both worlds with Chico. Have a lovely Easter, Joe.

  11. Boy do you have that one right, Freddy! Vickie is growing on us in leaps and bounds……. I still haven’t put an ad in Craigslist. Something inside just won’t let me. I just love her so much already.

    Have a wonderful Easter, you and your wife and family, Freddy. God bless ya’ll.

  12. Hey JLS! (hugs)

    Hope this finds you well and I appreciate the advice. I’ll endeavor to add a more personal touch to my various entries in the future. I hope your Easter is wonderful. God bless you too.

  13. I have the feeling that you won’t put an ad on Craigslist…just saying. Wishing you wonderful Easter as well. Be blessed.

  14. You and your daughter have a great Easter too. Remember the saying ‘Home is where the heart is”? If he is in your heart he must be home. Congratulations on the new puppy addition to your family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

