Posted by: the warrioress | May 20, 2012

A Hostile World

Anger

Anger (Photo credit: ZORIN DENU)

30 And as for us, why do we endanger ourselves every hour? 31 I face death every day —yes, just as surely as I boast about you in Christ Jesus our Lord. -1 Corinthians 15: 30-31

58 Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. – 1 Corinthians 15: 58

In my internet travels, I read many different writings. Much of what I’m exposed to is written upon singles dating sites, blogs, and forums, or popular political & religious forums; I read a host of writings from many places. I believe I’m encountering an interesting slice of humanity from all walks of life, and a variety of ages doing the writing. Unfortunately, there is something I’ve noticed increasing over time in the last probably five to seven years. It seems to be growing in fervor with every passing day, no matter where I wind up reading, including even here at WordPress.com.

People seem angry. They are angry at God. And not just some murky concept of God, but of the god of the Holy Bible.. THAT god — The God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob precisely.

These people claim they don’t even believe — this is what is really odd, yet the hostility toward what they don’t believe in is intense and tangible. It’s sincerely over the top.

This hostility, rage, and anger is expressed in a multitude of ways.

Religion overthrowing Heresy and Hatred I

Religion overthrowing Heresy and Hatred I (Photo credit: Nick in exsilio)

There is sarcasm and satirical mocking of God, Christian beliefs, and Christians themselves, especially “fundamentalist” Christians, or those who believe the Bible. There is outright contempt and strong dislike toward these, to the point that those expressing themselves in their raging seem to write about little else. This happens so often that one begins to take note that this overall “attitude” is growing and spreading, like a virus.

There are so many reasons given for these negative feelings. From bitching about alleged Christian hypocrisy, bigotry, and intolerance, to the slur against those “right-wing ‘fundamentalists.'”

There are an immense amount of people who are just boiling angry. These people are furious at those who dare to believe in the mystical “sky-fairy and his magical son.” And there is so much other derogatory commentary out there like this, of a similar vein, that it’s impossible to keep up with all of it. It’s like mud spattering against a white wall and dripping down, covering everything in its path with an icky darkness. It is mind-boggling to me, frankly. I admit that I find it chilling at times.

Hatred

Hatred (Photo credit: dton23)

I’ve been on the receiving end of this scathing mockery and hate; I’ve felt the piercing arrows of these blows. I was bewildered by it at first and didn’t understand. I took it personally and thought it was because I just wasn’t “good enough” as a Christian; I had to do better. For some reason, I never could get good enough though…I never could please the world, no matter how loving, how kind, or compassionate I was.

Eventually, I’ve come to realize that I’ll never be good enough to mollify a world that hates God, Jesus Christ, and the Christian believer who sincerely stands by and believes the bible. To these people, I’ll always be this ignorant, deluded, “loser” who admires and looks to a supposed “book of myths and fairy tales,” who is weak and grasping at straws or a crutch to cope and get through life. Or so they say, anyway.

Jesus knew what we would go through here on this planet.

God knew. And They warned us about it. 

Do not be surprised, brethren, if the world hates you. – 1 John 3:13

18“If the world hates you, you know that it has hated Me before it hated you. 19 “If you were of the world, the world would love its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, because of this the world hates you. 20 “Remember the word that I said to you, ‘A slave is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted Me, they will also persecute you; if they kept My word, they will keep yours also. 21 “But all these things they will do to you for My name’s sake, because they do not know the One who sent Me. – John 15: 18-21

You will be hated by all because of My name, but it is the one who has endured to the end who will be saved. – Matthew 10:22

“Then they will deliver you to tribulation, and will kill you, and you will be hated by all nations because of My name. – Matthew 24: 9

http://biblebrowser.com/john/15-18.htm

Responses

  1. Great post and I so agree with you, you need only to bring up the name of God for people to attack you. Thanks for sharing.

  2. We cannot help what other people believe, we provide them a path to find the truth, they have a choice on the path they choose. I think that is why we were given free will, to choose the path we want, to live the life of a Christian or not. I chose God and am glad for it. I used to worry about the choices of others, but found I can’t force God onto them.
    Love others as you love yourself, Adrienne, show them kindness and compassion and show them a path to God, the rest is up to them.

    Walk daily with God at your side!

    Your friend,

    Ed

  3. People attack what they are afraid of…we can’t change the fate of the world, but we can rescue those who are willing.

  4. Just a very small point: prior to 5 or 6 years ago, there wasn’t nearly as much socializing going on online as there is today. Blogs, Facebook, dating sites, were all in their infancy. What I’m suggesting is that maybe the expressions of anger toward Christianity that you are seeing are not new – perhaps they’re simply making their way to new media.

    This may not sound particularly comforting, but it could, at the very least, imply that their isn’t really a trend of increasing anger toward Christianity, it’s just that the existing level of anger is being expressed in new ways.

  5. (*there)

  6. This video is no longer available…can you possibly repost this for me, Pat? Maybe there is a new link to it on youtube you could find? Thanks for sharing.

  7. These opinions are certainly making their way to new media. The anger is intense. My point is that I don’t recall such anger ever expressed before by anyone in my past. I don’t recall reading it in written form either, published or otherwise. You’re saying that this anger was always there? I don’t think so. If it was, it seems as if it was much less emotional.

  8. Good call, Butch. Thanks..

  9. Excellent advice, as usual, Ed.. thank you and God bless you too.

  10. Thanks, Diana. (hugs)

  11. I understand what you are saying. The thing is that as we getting nearer the time of the Second Coming. The world is going to get more angry, lawless and deprived in their thoughts as Jesus said. I believe with my whole heart that we are in the end times as you look at what is happening all around the world. Jesus said in Matthew 24 when you see these signs the end is near. There will come a time when we will be martyred and they will think they are doing the world a favour. I know that many who read this will think that I am crazy or trying to put fear into people. I am trying to help all Christians prepare emotionally when they are asked deny Jesus and we will not kill your wife or daughter.
    As a Christian in the UK we have very few rights but a Moslem can say just about anything publicly. I had the fact that I was a Christian specifically entered in medical records as they thought I was mentally unstable. In the USA Christianity has a strong historical inheritance and the morals and ethics of the Bible are used in many families. The rest of the world in not like this. I have lived in many countries including South Africa which has a very strong presence of God but the lies of the Satan are fuelling liberalism.

  12. I agree with you and really appreciate your comments here. Thanks so much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

