Posted by: the warrioress | July 6, 2012

The Consequences of My Sins

1926 US advertisement "The Greatest Sin&q...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t know if any of you are aware of this yet, but I’m about as far away from perfect as one can get. Despite my decision to follow Jesus Christ in every area of my life, according to the bible, I still find that I tend to be less than what I would consider “ideal” at this Christian thing. At any rate, I do try. And I know that God knows I’m trying. I’m okay with Him and that’s really what counts most, I guess.

 Still…. something prompted this post and so I’ll continue.

In my past, I embraced sin wholeheartedly, even though I loved God very deeply. I didn’t understand the concept of “walk the talk” completely yet, and was also very confused about sin itself and what constituted sin and what didn’t. The bible clarifies a lot for us but there are still some gray areas in my mind even today. Nevertheless, people who do not believe, who dislike Christianity and Christians are watching us very closely; I am living proof of this.

I’ve had former email addresses stalked and investigated so that people could find out anything personal to use against me, to discredit me as a vocal, outspoken Christian. You see, if the stalker could troll up even one scandalous tidbit, he could use this forever to toss out at me and bring shame to my testimony. This person continues to do this to this very day, and unfortunately, despite knowing I’m forgiven for my past mistakes, I still feel shameful when they are tossed in my face again. So in other words, I am still living with the consequences of past sin.

Jesus Christ took our mistakes and errors upon Himself when He gave His life for us on that cross, but He doesn’t take away the earthly consequences and responsibilities we must endure. No, unfortunately, we are stuck with these for the rest of our lives.

The Temptation of Christ, 1854

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We have become new creatures in Christ, but those who hate us and Christ can be relentless in using whatever they can find to torment us. Most people don’t realize the spiritual battle that is going on before our very eyes. Satan‘s time on this earth is short. He is being allowed free reign at the moment, but that won’t last forever. Those who are following him by default are looking for anything they can use to silence and ridicule us and our words about the gospel of Jesus Christ.

I cannot escape the consequences of past sins, but I know I’m forgiven. I am living proof that the Christian can grow spiritually and change through out his or her Christian experience. Our spiritual lives are journeys toward becoming what God wants us to be so we can be used for the work of His Kingdom. Right now, that work involves telling other people about Jesus Christ and His precious gift of salvation; I will let nothing deter me from this, my primary task. No, I’m hardly perfect, and I have not been a perfect person who used perfect judgment in my past. I do thank God, though, that He is changing me into someone who is holy in His sight, through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior.  

Responses

  1. Great post as always.

  2. Your past is just that, your past and you have been forgiven for your misdeeds. You should never feel ashamed when it is brought up again. Just remind them you were a careless sinner who now knows better and thanks to the glory of God you have turned the corner and walk the straight and narrow. You are living proof it can happen and invite the culprit to join you in the glory of God.

    God bless you Adrienne and keep the faith.

    ♥ your friend,

    Ed

  3. For all have sinned and fallen short. David committed adultery and murder. Moses murdered someone. Peter denied Christ.
    My point is that we all sin, but we just ask for God’s forgiveness and do our best to obey God.
    Becoming discouraged just tempts us to sin more. Daily we must ask God to give us strength.
    I am encouraged by your blog.

  4. I understand for reasons I will never share. God loves you, I am keenly aware of that, for he proved it by loving me. And I love you even though I have never met you. I value hearing your voice, even if on “paper”; imagine how God must feel.
    Stalker types will get their reward, how and when is God’s business. This I also know to be true. Until then these jerks in our lives are merely the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune, and our cross to bear.
    Love you champ, hang in there.
    Oz

  5. As a fellow “earthen vessel” I know how you feel, being haunted by a less-than-perfect past. May God give you His peace, and guard you from the shame that misguided people try to lay on you.

  6. I am going to e-mail my story to you so you can see my past still defines me and you are not alone. I would be interested to hear your story, if you would like to share it.

    Ed

  7. I am going to e-mail my story to you so you can see my past still defines and that you are not alone. I would love to hear your story if you would be willing to share it with me.

    Ed

  8. I am not condoning the sins in my life or yours, but with out the “changed life” where is the miracle of God’s grace? Yes, we often suffer the earthly consequences of our sins even after being redeemed, but the redemption, the changing of our sinful nature is both the miracle and sign of the event. When people say: “boy have you changed!” it can sometimes be wonder or amazement and at others jealousy or derision because you are no longer like them. In either case though it is confirmation that Jesus Christ has done a wondrous work in you. All praise be to God! Keep up the battle Warrioress!

  9. You are precious in His sight.

  10. Something you might find interesting… always worthwhile to broaden one’s perspective.

    http://eagleman6788.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/inventing-the-bible-stories-following-70-years-of-intensive-excavations-in-the-land-of-israel-archaeologists-have-found-out-the-patriarchs-acts-are-legendary-the-israelites-did-not-sojourn-in-e-2/#comment-1133

  11. What a beautiful testimony. Yes we all have sinned and fail short of His glory, and day by day we are growing in His grace. But you said it all when you spoke these words, “Right now, that work involves telling other people about Jesus Christ and His precious gift of salvation; I will let nothing deter me from this, my primary task.” All I can say after that is, stay focus and keep your eye on the prize. But He has promised us, that He will never leave you are forsake you. That my friend is a guarantee check you can deposit and draw interest on everyday for the rest of your life. Peace and blessings be yours to enjoy.

  12. An interesting blog. I did read. Pensive. I like pensive.

  13. Hi, I am glad I found your blog, which came about as a result of your visit to mine. I am very intrigued by your article, and I can relate to much of it.

    In it, you mention the spiritual battle that rages all around us, and it most surely does rage!

    But I sincerely believe that the guilt you feel over past sins is a direct result of a spiritual attack. The devil’s minions want you to feel guilt over your past and so, have found the right buttons to push.

    The truth is though, every time you feel that guilt, you cease to feel the forgiveness and unconditional love of the One who died to save you, and that is exactly what the devil wants! But it does not have to be that way. James 4:7 says:

    “Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”

    Please take heart sister, there is nothing that can separate us from the love of God, and when the devil tries, we are not powerless, rather, we are more than conquerors!

    God bless!

  14. I know this might be off topic but I need some info. If you can help I’d be grateful.
    i had a rethink about Creationism being taught in schools, and although I don’t agree with it I thought it might be interesting if the subject was given a chance – so pupils can hear both sides, as it were.
    The problem is, I don’t have a proper understanding of exactly how a school curriculum that featured Creationism would be presented in an academic setting.
    I’m aware of the biblical tale – we all are I guess, but this doesn’t cover much detail. As you are an advocate of this doctrine do you have an idea of how a syllabus would be drafted; what it would contain etc?
    I will trawl Creationist websites if need be, but, as you seem to know your stuff, I thought I would ask you.
    If you can help, great. If not, no problem.
    Thanks in advance.
    The Ark.

  15. I’m not really all that interested in debating Creationism or even considering it very deeply. My only take on the matter is that if we present one theory,(evolution), we should certainly offer equally intriguing and potentially valid theories like ID and Creationism. Why limit knowledge, after all?

    I’m sure it would be fairly easy to draw up some kind of syllabus regarding this topic but I don’t think I would be helpful in the creation of it, but thank you for thinking of me anyway.

  16. Thanks so much, Words!

  17. Thank you, Pastor Davis, I really appreciate your thoughts. May God bless and keep you always.

  18. Hi big brother! I thank you, Butch.

  19. Yes, you do bring up an important point, Joe. Unfortunately, it’s difficult when the person who is trying to aggravate me keeps telling others that I haven’t changed, that I’m a phony, and not a real Christian, etc. Tossing my past mistakes into my face due to his intrusive research on events that occurred years ago is something I guess I simply have to deal with as gracefully as I can. What can I say? I was guilty of sin in the past, but I no longer engage in such sin today. Every since I made a decision to live my life according to the bible and guidance of the Holy Spirit, I have drastically changed. This person wouldn’t recognize this though, or care. He’s merely interested in shaming me, discouraging me, and destroying my Christian testimony.

  20. Thanks, Ed. I’ve been really busy here at home, but I got your email and will respond, asap.

  21. Thanks, Ken….

    I’m a little tired of being shamed and mocked, but I count it all as a blessing according to the bible, (or at least, I’m learning to ;))

  22. I love you too, Ozzie. And yes, I’m learning to turn such people over to God to do with as He will. Thanks for your support, brother.

  23. Thank you so much, MW… I’m so grateful for your thoughts and sharing here. I also very much enjoy your posts.

  24. Yes, this is why I did this post… exactly. I wanted to share that I am no longer going to be shamed by my past mistakes because I am forgiven them. I do realize that I have to deal with earthly consequences for my past sins, but shame doesn’t have to be one of the consequences. I *have* changed drastically. God is doing a wonderful work within me and I have no doubt its going to continue. Thanks so much, Ed.

  25. I will be praying that God gives you the strength and comfort that only he can give. Sounds like a difficult situation. I appreciate your witness through your blog.

  26. You’re most welcome, Joe. (hugs) And thank you.

  27. I have done a bit of Internet research and unfortunately it doesn’t look good for the Creationist model. Some pretty off the wall theories.Like this for example.
    http://digitaljournal.com/article/327378
    I think as a Christian this might even make you spit feathers.

  28. I’m so sorry, John. You’ve been lost in spam for days… Anyway, you’re found now and I appreciate the comment more than I can say.


Leave a Reply

Categories

