Posted by: the warrioress | September 18, 2012

God & The Poor

=-=-=-=-=
“Suppose a man comes into your meeting wearing a gold ring and fine clothes, and a poor man in shabby clothes also comes in. If you show special attention to the man wearing fine clothes and say, ‘Here’s a good seat for you,’ but say to the poor man, ‘You stand there’ or ‘Sit on the floor by my feet,’ have you not discriminated among yourselves and becomes judges with evil thoughts? Listen, my dear brothers: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom He promised those who love Him? But you have insulted the poor. Is it not the rich who are exploiting you? Are they not the ones who are dragging you into court?” James 2:2-6
=-=-=-=-=

The above passages offer us a wealth of knowledge about how we’re to regard the poor. If one is poor “in the eyes of the world,” he is to be treated well; unfortunately, he is treated the opposite here in America. The poor are insulted and looked down upon. They are exploited by the rich.
=-=-=-=-=
Photojournalists against poverty
=-=-=-=-=
“If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him? Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.” 1 John 3:17-18
=-=-=-=-=
Here we are told to take pity on those who are in need. While we may have many material possessions, what about our brother who does not? If we do not have pity, how can the love of God be in us? We are told that it’s time to stop talking the talk and walk the walk, or in otherwords, put your money where your mouth is and help the poor. This is what is expected of us as Christians.
=-=-=-=-=
=-=-=-=-=
“Defend the cause of the weak and fatherless; maintain the rights of the poor and oppressed. Rescue the weak and needy; deliver them from the hand of the wicked.” Psalm 82:3-4
=-=-=-=-=
Here we are specifically told to defend the weak, the fatherless, and we are to maintain the rights of the poor and oppressed. We are to rescue these people who are struggling. We are to rescue them from those who would take advantage and benefit from their suffering.
=-=-=-=-=
U.S. Poverty Rate Stays at Almost Two-Decade High, Income Falls
=-=-=-=-=
“Do not exploit the poor because they are poor and do not crush the needy in court.” Proverbs 22:22
 
“A ruler who oppresses the poor is like a driving rain that leaves no crops.” Proverbs 28:3
 
“He who gives to the poor will lack nothing, but he who closes his eyes to them receives many curses.” Proverbs 28:27
 
“The righteous care about justice for the poor, but the wicked have no such concern.” Proverbs 29:7
=-=-=-=-=
When I cast my vote in the upcoming election, I must study the attitudinal differences between the parties, among the various candidates. It’s clear that the wicked do not care about justice for the poor, the homeless, the struggling, the single mothers abandoned by their husbands, the children who through no fault of their own are living in the streets.  A ruler who doesn’t care about the poor tells us exactly what kind of ruler he is going to be. The wicked have little to no concern about the plight of the poor.
=-=-=-=-=
 1_boss_tweed_thomas_nast.jpg
=-=-=-=-=
“(They) have grown fat and sleek. Their evil deeds have no limit; they do not plead the case of the fatherless to win it, they do not defend the rights of the poor.” Jeremiah 5:28
 
“If a man shuts his ears to the cry of the poor, he too will cry out and not be answered.” Proverbs 21:13
 
“A generous man will himself be blessed, for he shares his food with the poor.” Proverbs 22:9
 
“He who oppresses the poor to increase his wealth and he who gives gifts to the rich — both come to poverty.” Proverbs 22:16
=-=-=-=-=
Opressing the poor in order to increase one’s wealth, or giving gifts to the rich… this isn’t something God approves of. God knows the true from the false. Spiritually-speaking, it is best to care about our fellow brother and sisters on this earth, no matter their station in life, but if we love money more than we love people, how can we be blessed by the Lord? And if we have been especially blessed, we cannot help but desire others to have similar blessing. If we support the rich on the backs of the poor, we’re going directly against the bible.
=-=-=-=-=
photojournalists against poverty
=-=-=-=-=
“However, there should be no poor among you, for in the land the LORD your God is giving you to possess as your inheritance, he will richly bless you.” Deuteronomy 15:4
 “If there is a poor man among your brothers in any of the towns of the land that the LORD your God is giving you, do not be hardhearted or tightfisted toward your poor brother.” Deuteronomy 15:7
 
“Be careful not to harbor this wicked thought: The seventh year, the year for canceling debts, is near, so that you do not show ill will toward your needy brother and give him nothing. He may then appeal to the LORD against you, and you will be found guilty of sin.” Deuteronomy 15:9
 
“There will always be poor people in the land. Therefore I command you to be openhanded toward your brothers and toward the poor and needy in your land.” Deuteronomy 15:11 
=-=-=-=-=
It’s clear that it isn’t God’s will that we overlook the poor or trust in someone else to help them. God wants something from each one of us. He wants us to be openhanded toward the poor and needy in our land.He wants us to defend them from harm. He wants us to care about them. Our attitude toward them should be one of love and mercy.
=-=-=-=-=
Brenda Ann Kenneally
=-=-=-=-=
” Because of the oppression of the weak and the groaning of the needy, I will now arise, says the LORD, I will protect them from those who malign them. ” Psalm 12:5
 
“You evildoers frustrate the plans of the poor, but the LORD is their refuge.” Psalm 14:6
 “This poor man called, and the LORD heard him; he saved him out of all his troubles.” Psalm 34:6 
=-=-=-=-=
God loves the poor and He will deliver them. They are oppressed and unheard in their plight; they are overlooked and not understood. God will protect them because He is their refuge.
=-=-=-=-=
corporate greed cartoons, corporate greed cartoon, corporate greed picture, corporate greed pictures, corporate greed image, corporate greed images, corporate greed illustration, corporate greed illustrations
=-=-=-=-=
“My whole being will exclaim, Who is like you, 0 LORD? You rescue the poor from those too strong for them, the poor and needy from those who rob them.’” Psalm 35:10
 “The wicked draw the sword and bend the bow to bring down the poor and needy, to slay those whose ways are upright.” Psalm 37:14
 
“Yet I am poor and needy; may the Lord think of me. You are my help and my deliverer; O my God, do not delay.” Psalm 40:17
=-=-=-=-=
Our nation must protect the poor. We are clearly told the attitude we must take with our poor brothers and sisters. Our leaders need to have this same godly attitude and concern toward the poor. If they do not, are they who should be leading us?  If there is no concern for those who do not even have housing, food, and are living like those in a third world country due to this economy, I think it’s clear that we’ve fallen short in seeing these people as God would have us see them.
=-=-=-=-=
Responses

  1. Awesome post! Extremely well written. Thank you! I’ve always wondered if boot straps were in the Bible. I guess they used to be called neighbors.

  2. Wish I could have written this, but thank Our Savior you found the time to do it.

  3. All of my granddaughters says vote for Michelle Obama for President …lol she has won their hearts and I must say mine as well. I was raised poor .. although I was aware of it I didn’t suffer that much because of it .. it was always happy there .. for the most part anyway.. I can remember coming home from school and opening the front door to the smell of some wonderful delightful yummy bread or cookies that my mom would be baking…and every evening after homework the game board would go on the table and we would play till we couldn’t hold our eyes open… I still do that with my grandkids when they stay at my house…hopefully making some good memories for them.

  4. Your comment on my friend Rebecca’s site brought me here. I like what you’re writing as well…

    I would like you to please take a look at my own latest post — and to please consider joining in an online Bible study that’s been languishing lately for shortage of participants. (This is intended to be an honest, intelligent, inspired (if God wills) trudge through the texts. In a Quakerish, no-gouging sort of spirit.) Interested?

  5. I hope double posts are allowed =)
    This blog so touched my heart .. when I started this journey of being single 10 years ago.. after being married my whole adult life .. I walked away from all the money that I could ever want and a life style that is but just a memory. I did it against my pastors advice … but I took it to a higher power and was told ..leave … you will still be loved. I left a wealthy but turbulent life for being poor but having peace. I don’t regret it at all .. I have never been able to get a full time job I’ve always worked part time jobs and lived from paycheck to paycheck .. BUT I’ve never been hungry and all my bills have always been paid .. God has made sure I’ve made it and he will continue to watch over me I have no doubt of that. He is my provider,my healer, my counselor… don’t have to worry about making appointments with him he’s always available =)

  6. I love these kids …ENJOY!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

