Posted by: the warrioress | October 26, 2012

I voted

I voted for President Barack Obama yesterday evening. My little girl was with me, as she goes to vote with me in the booth every time we vote.  She’s looking forward to when she’ll be able to cast her own vote.

I’m in a mostly Republican state, so I don’t think the president is going to win here, but I did my little part, nevertheless. I feel very good about my vote and now I’m prepared to simply trust God for what comes next. I do hope it’s going to be good news, and that the president will win another term.

I’ve been endeavoring not to participate in the dirty aspect of politics, blog-wise, so I’m probably not going to have much else to say on that topic and will likely just post other thoughts; I hope everyone is planning to vote, though. I believe we each should be good citizen’s of the nation and express our personal point of view.

It’s a good example for your children to see you voting, too.

I found something interesting too, by the way. Even though I’m a firm Independent, I had never seen this link before. I was very relieved to see it. I think it throws an entirely different perspective on things for Christians, instead of only seeing things from the right. Sometimes it’s good to take off our shades and have a look around; it can really change your heart.

Have a look!

http://www.thechristianleft.org/

Responses

  1. Yay, you!!!!! You go girl.

    Randy

    I have many Bible references supporting a “liberal” stance – at least what I believe to be a compassionate political stance that the Bible teaches us to take.

    One of several on my site is:

    http://thewritersvillage.wordpress.com/2012/10/20/2927/

    Entitled “Rich man, poor man, beggarman, thief?”

  2. Good for you. I too am firmly independent, but find myself leaning left for moral reasons this election. We’ll see how it turns out.

  3. And thanks for posting that link. I didn’t know there was such a thing.

  4. Thank you for the link and for voting. ♥ Ed

  5. I have been following your blog for awhile and often find your posts profound and thought-provoking. I respect your opinion, but I couldn’t let this go without comment. While I am completely sure God is neither Republican nor Democrat, I vehemently disagree with your conclusion that the Democrat party is more compassionate towards the poor, especially during this election cycle. Forced redistribution of wealth, that is, compassion that is government-mandated, has never worked to reduce poverty and never will. It only begets more of what it claims to want to reduce. There are now 47 million people on food stamps because the current administration’s economic policies have caused the economy to contract so much. We are 16 trillion dollars in debt, from which we may not be able to recover. How will we, as Americans, be able to help those in need throughout the world when we are flat broke? It is our responsibility as individual Christians to help the poor. It is the church’s responsibility. Not the government’s responsibility to forcibly take money and redistribute as bureaucrats see fit. That’s one. Secondly, and just as important, the Democrat party has gone far beyond pro-choice to become pro-abortion. If we, as Christians, are not willing to defend the most vulnerable—the unborn–our compassion for the poor rings very hollow. I could go on, but I will end by saying that the reelection campaign has focused on the women’s vote by reducing women to their sexual parts, harping on free contraception and easy access to abortion as if these were women’s primary civil rights concerns. I find that deeply offensive. As a long time advocate for the poor, I find the class warfare destructive and counter-productive. There are far better ways to help the poor than encouraging welfare and dependency, and I will support those.

  6. I, like you walk the independent line. I am not sure yet if I am voting this year (this being my 11th election) unless I write in someone. Thank you for the link and your honesty… with some of the comments you’ve received in the past, some would just be silent. You are a true “warrior” for our Lord. Bless you
    Stephanie

  7. @Kathleencaron

    I’m flattered and appreciative that you’ve enjoyed my blog and hope you’ll continue to read, despite where we disagree.

    I basically said to Kim on the 2016: Obama’s America post what I would now say to you, Kathleen. I hate to have to disagree with you, but I do very firmly, though I do agree that Jesus would not approve of one party over the other.

    We are a huge nation and there is no way that our churches can keep up with identifying the suffering and troubles of those who have fallen through the cracks of society. We need a well-organized effort, especially within the current economy, that will address the problems that the challenged are having. We have good people thrust out onto the streets these days, with their children, through little fault of their own. It’s too much for the church to adequately handle. Food stamps, food banks, unemployment insurance, free health care, and help from the government right now is a MUST for these people.

    The sin of condemning and killing through capital punishment, God only knows how many human beings, is disgusting. It is supported by a party that claims to be PRO-LIFE, when they are anything but. This is known as HYPOCRISY and double standard. This is no better than killing unborn children. Both views take life and attempt to play God. Both views are sinful. Yes, I know the OT allowed war and God killed many, but we have Jesus now and the rules are not the same. We are no longer under the “eye for an eye” culture/way of doing things. We are to discover mercy and forgiveness through Jesus Christ, and offer this to those who hurt us.

    I find the hypocrisy within the Republican party to be PHARISEE-LIKE; I think Jesus is appalled by it. I think God is incredibly appalled with those “who strain at a nat and swallow a camel.” To put it another way, I think the right needs to deal with the beam in its own eyes and stop trying to remove the splinters out of the eyes of the Democratic party.

    The sin within the Republican party due to their platform and love of money is no better than the sin within the Democratic party.

    I hope you still like reading me, despite my sharing with you the way that I feel. I’m not one to mince words because I’m very passionate about the way I feel, so please don’t be offended. I’m offering you truth, but it is up to you to accept it or not. Either way, you’re my sister in Christ, and I’m grateful you feel comfortable enough to share your beliefs and opinions here with me.

    In Christ,

    Adrienne

  8. @Alwayzhis

    Stephanie, I really appreciate what you said. When I feel something within my heart and spirit that is absolutely without a doubt the facts and I can also read it in the bible, I know God has spoken to me and I move forward with His will. God bless you too, Steph.

  9. @efchristi

    You’re most welcome, Ed, and thank you for voting! Love you…Adrienne

  10. @EpignosisTCHR

    You and I are on the exact same page and I’m so glad to see it. Sometimes I’ve felt very alone as I travel the narrow, road less traveled. 😉

    God bless you,

    Love, Adrienne


    @sacred struggler

    Thank you so much for reading and commenting, struggler. I do hope you return and share more! God bless you..

    @Writer’s Village

    Thank you for that wonderful blog posting you wrote that you shared with us. I’ve linked to you and that exact post in the past on my posts. God bless you!

  11. I just came across your blog and found your discussions about the election interesting. I’d like you to check out my faith blog at http://revolfaith.com. You know, in case you wanted something else to read. 🙂

  12. Thanks, April!

    I’m now following your blog. It is absolutely wonderful and we feel the same about this matter of politics.

  13. Dear Adrienne, Thank you for responding to my comments–of course I’m not offended, if there is one thing I hold true to, is that we must be able to say what we believe without fear of condemnation or rejection. bless you for caring about the poor, that is something we definitely hold in common. Yours in Christ, Kathleen

  14. I will vote! Everyone should express themselves @ the polls! Thank you for your post & the link.

  15. Thank you, Karen P. Simpson!! I’m so glad you’re going to vote. God bless you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

