Posted by: the warrioress | October 30, 2012

This wonderful writer is definitely worth reading and thinking upon. She points out some very important considerations about reading the bible and living life as Jesus instructed us to. Enjoy Rebecca Trotter and her blog, The Upside Down World!

The Upside Down World

Way back in college, I took a class on the history of religion in America. One day during a discussion about some Christian evangelist, one of the other students offered this criticism of the man’s work: “it’s like he’s actually trying to be like Jesus.” I sat there a bit bug-eyed. Can you imagine – a Christian who was actually trying to be like Jesus? Whatever could that evangelist have been thinking? (Clearly, not everyone I who attended my college was the best or the brightest.) But the reality is that a lot of people – including a good number of Christians – are as unclear on the concept as this young man back in my college days was. How else to explain the fact that many people read the bible the exact same way that the Pharisees did rather than trying to read it like Jesus did? (For anyone…

View original post 1,158 more words

Responses

  1. What if your answer is neither? I read it like King David with a touch of John the Revelator….maybe a little Job here and there seasoned with Elijah and John the Baptist.

  2. Oh, and I forgot to mention Solomon, without the 90 some odd wives and concubines..being a female of course. It is okay to have 90 husbands and male servants isn’t it? Let me know so I can fix that! I figured since it’s okay for Solomon, it’s okay for me! (tee hee) 😉

  3. Wait! It was 700 wives and 300 concubines..that was it. Sorry. I guess I’m way behind..

  4. Hello Adrienne, Hope all is well with you. I haven’t been around much of late mainly due to many posts about the American Election and I’m an Aussie who can’t find a thing about politics I can sit through. :o( Sorry and no offense. 😉
    But I do still regularly check in with your terrific blog. I wanted to comment here because I stumbled across a very interesting talk by Alain De Botton about a new version of atheism, and I thought of you straight away as I have noticed you get some traffic through here on this subject. So I bring you the link to a TED talk. This is an excellent website if you haven’t looked into it before. I’m sure you will find much to chew on from it in general.

    Blessings to you! and Enjoy 🙂

  5. @Water Bearer

    Thank you for the link and I am about to have a look at this right now! God bless you, WB!

  6. Hey Warrior chic..you know, just because we have different political veiws does not mean that I don’t still consider you my sister, or love you in Christ. Only the devil would cause me or you to dislike one another and stop loving one another over something that silly. I was messing with you up top here to have fun and attempt to not be so serious. Hope you took it that way! I love you! And no matter what our political views, even when we disagree on things openly, know that you’re still my sister and I still love you, and….when we’re in heaven, we’ll probably be running, playing like kids, and laughing in heaven together! God bless.♥♥♥

  7. Of course, I’m not holding our differences politically against you, Lyn. And we don’t have to wait until we get to heaven to have fun either. 😉

    God bless you too, hon.

  8. […] Do you read scripture like a Pharisee or like Jesus? (lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

