Posted by: the warrioress | November 3, 2012

President Obama’s Benghazi Accusers

I always thought that here in America, we are innocent until proven guilty in a court of law; apparently, this is no longer the case based upon what I see happening to the president of the United States of America. I’ve watched this go on and really haven’t said a lot about it until tonight, primarily because I didn’t want to add to the chaotic mess this has become. Unfortunately, though, I can no longer keep my thoughts to myself because I’m irritated, frustrated, and saddened,  so I’m going to get these yucky feelings off of my chest by ranting a little and try to make sense of the entire horrific situation.

Former Arkansas Governor, Mike Huckabee, speak...

I just finished viewing another segment of Fox News and was surprised to see Mike Huckabee, a well known and thoroughly respected Christian, and Senator John McCain, former presidential candidate, making and alluding to the accusations that President Obama is guilty of and responsible for allowing four people to die without any mercy. Both men were accusing the president of blatant neglect, claiming that it looks like he could have done something to stop these men from dying, and accusing that he merely sat by and watched them die.

What I found difficult to understand and stomach was why these men decided to try him in the court of public opinion, making these many ugly accusations without any real proof. There have been numerous rumors, much speculation, and countless stories about what occurred to these poor men that were murdered. They were part of the CIA and were attacked and killed by terrorists, allegedly. There are so many different stories that an investigation has already begun and may conclude by December of this year.

English: Official portrait of Senator LIndsey ...

Apparently, this is not good enough for President Obama’s numerous accusers, though; they simply cannot wait until a full and thorough investigation is complete. Senator Lindsey Graham wants his questions answered right now! Yesterday! In fact, he demands it.

How dare we have an election without all of this being cleared up immediately!??  

It makes for good fodder to assassinate the character of the president with, and hopefully these accusations will steer away as many people as possible from casting their vote for the president in the interim, thus killing two birds with one stone.

English: John McCain official photo portrait.

I have to wonder how good Christian men and women allow themselves to sink to the level that this implies. These people know the law and some of them are actually lawyers and are in the senate too. They should know that everyone is innocent until he has had the right to a trial by a jury of his peers, if he’s being accused and formally charged with neglect of duty or whatever it is that they want to lay at his door.

But noooooooooo. Instead, it’s the usual court of public opinion and a good tongue-lashing with the written and spoken word that the president apparently deserves this time.  Fifty lashes of the tongue maybe?  Or perhaps they can just beat him down until he’s pure mush, kind of like the movie “2016, Obama’s America” did.

I view all of this character assassination of the president with a sick feeling in my heart and stomach. To see people I should be able to admire and look up to acting like this and being so unjust is very difficult for me; I sincerely do not understand this behavior. What’s worse though, is that I am watching an alleged Christian like Mike Huckabee play politics with the deaths of four men just to swindle some extra votes for the right side of the aisle at the last hour.

I’m sure some could justify this by the dishonest claim that this is “righteous judgment,”  that in their opinion there is good reason to accuse President Obama and try him in the media as they have, without allowing him any way to officially defend himself.  What it’s really all about, however, is the attempt at destroying his chances for re-election by playing politics as dirty as humanly possible in order to win this election. The desperation these men are driven to knows no bounds!

I believe I’m going to have redefine what the word “Christian” means after this election season, based upon what I’ve viewed during the whole of it. Let me tell you, it’s been very disillusioning for this Christian to have to observe and try and make sense of.

I guess a lot of us have a long way to go to be Christ-like. I’ve always thought I couldn’t even come to close to behaving like Jesus, but when I see Christians who are certainly older in Christ than I am, acting the way that they are right now, I feel pretty good about how I’m doing in my walk with Christ after all.

Responses

  1. Dearest Friend, I said to my mother one day ” Obama is being led by the spirit, but it is not the spirit of God” Please open your eyes and see that Your Obama said “the us is no longer a Christian nation” How can you support and defend him considering his view supporting abortion and gay marraige. WAKE UP !

    On gay marriage

    • Same-sex couples should be allowed to marry. (May 2012)
    • No federal laws should hinder state-based same-sex marriage. (May 2012)
    • Opposes CA Prop. 8, one-man-one-woman marriage. (Jul 2008)
    • Homosexuality no more immoral than heterosexuality. (Oct 2007)

    On abortion
    • Blocked IL law: Born Alive Infant Protection Act. (Oct 2011)
    • Opposed born-alive treatment law because it was already law. (Oct 2008)
    • Rated 100% by NARAL on pro-choice votes in 2005, 2006 & 2007. (Jan 2008)
    • Voted against banning partial birth abortion. (Oct 2007)
    • Supports Roe v. Wade. (Jul 1998)
    • Voted NO on defining unborn child as eligible for SCHIP. (Mar 2008)
    • Voted NO on prohibiting minors crossing state lines for abortion. (Mar 2008)

  2. Glad you’re breaking the mold of “the good Christian woman not speaking out” in matters of politics! I was thinking of you Friday, please check out my two posts from last week.

  3. […] President Obama’s Benghazi Accusers. […]

  4. @Valerie K Lazarus

    Hi Valerie, long time no see (hugs)

    Yes, it would appear that I am. Well, we’re not in church, so I’m not going to be silent. 😉

    Yes, I will stop by and check out your posts. You go, girl!

  5. @Chet Dobson

    You said:

    Dearest Friend, I said to my mother one day ” Obama is being led by the spirit, but it is not the spirit of God” Please open your eyes and see that Your Obama said “the us is no longer a Christian nation” How can you support and defend him considering his view supporting abortion and gay marraige. WAKE UP !

    We *are* no longer just a Christian nation, Mr. Dobson, in case you haven’t noticed. There *are* atheists galore, and countless other religions in existence in America, and they are all clamoring for their right to be heard and respected.

    Now let’s turn to what you ask regarding gay marriage. No, I don’t support gay marriage; I support not redefining marriage, but neither side (right or left) politically are Christ-like, are they?

    Oh, what was that? You think the Republican party is Christ-like?

    You need to spend a little time on my blog and review some of my past posts where I discuss both parties and the sin within each one. Religious Right Republicans have absolutely no hallowed ground to claim to be godly upon; they are worshiping at the alter of mammon, sir, and that’s just for starters!

    I am so sick and tired of hearing about the big three — abortion, gay marriage, and Israel; as if these were the worst sins in the world and that there is no blood on Republican hands! Give me a break. You call yourself pro-life and are anything but! How many millions have been ruthlessly murdered/killed in unnecessary war? How much blood have Republicans shed when they demand capital punishment instead of mercy and forgiveness, regressing back to “an eye for an eye,” instead of opting to rehabilitate sick and mentally ill men and women. We cage these people like animals and sleep at night.

    What about what the right is doing to our planet? God asked us to be good stewards of this earth, not to destroy it because of blatant greed! Have you studied what’s happening to this earth under our care? Please don’t attempt to defend what’s being done to our planet and the animal life upon it.

    You want to compare sins? Really?

    I refuse to get into a pissing match and compare Romney’s sins with Obama’s, but trust me, they are off the charts. It all boils down to this, Mr. Dobson:

    Neither party is godly and neither party is an example a real Christian should follow.

    We are to rise to a higher standard, sir, and you know it. The holier-than-thou claptrap is not necessary because it doesn’t fly here and cannot convince me that the right is the party of the Christian because it most certainly is not. Based upon what I’m reading in my bible, Jesus gave us very clear direction and instructions on how we’re to behave with one another and the unbelieving, and this is not it.

    Accusing the President of the USA without even a trial, declaring him guilty of murder, condemning and slandering him mercilessly is not behavior Jesus Christ engaged in. There are far too many Christians who have fallen into “politics” first and have forgotten that they are not Republicans first, they are Christians first.

    Thank you for sharing here, Mr. Dobson; despite our obvious, serious disagreement, I do appreciate your thoughts and opinions and you are entitled to them.

  6. One more reminder on topic:

    But why dost thou judge thy brother? or why dost thou set at naught thy brother? for we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. For it is written, As I live, saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God. So then every one of us shall give account of himself to God. Let us not therefore judge one another any more: but judge this rather, that no man put a stumblingblock or an occasion to fall in his brother’s way. (Rom 14:10-13)

  7. McCain’s a senator from my home state, and he’s very good at pointing fingers, placing blame and obstruction for the benefit of party. Not so good at voting, or even attending the Senate as his job prescribes. He is passe, a television and publicity hound who should be replaced by someone from either party, but one who is willing to actually work and represent the state of Arizona.

  8. Awesome response to Chet Dobson. We all seem to have lost Jesus main message- LOVE!

  9. Are you kidding?? What more does Obama have to do to show that he is not who you think? Have you read up on what happened in Benghazi? There is supporting video to show you what happened just in case you don’t want to believe just the valid reports! And you want us to wait until he is tried in a court? Jesus didn’t wait for a jury trial to call the Pharisees white washed tombs! He called them what they were. Obama let those men die and you make excues for him?:

  10. I don’t think your response is biblical, Marianne; thus I don’t see it as an option as a Christian. I believe that we are entitled to a jury of our peers that is fair. We are entitled to a legitimate legal defense when we are charged with something as serious as what you are claiming occurred. Vicious rumor and speculation have no part in the legal process and should have no part in any Christian’s life. It’s your walk with Christ, however, Marianne. Walk it as you choose to, and I will walk it as I choose to, according to what my Holy Bible says.

    Thank you for your comment and for sharing it here with me and those reading, despite where we may disagree. May God bless and keep you.

  11. Karen, thank you so much! God bless you and thanks for stopping by my blog 😉

  12. I cast my vote for President Obama.


Leave a Reply

Categories

