Posted by: the warrioress | December 5, 2012

Interview Drama

English: Fortified manor house. Rural paranoia...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been looking for work in order to supplement my business income because I have a lot of over-budget repairs to do here on my property; I’ve got to do a lot of upkeep and save for retirement, along with my daughter’s braces, etc.

Anyway, I went and interviewed for a job yesterday. Everything went very well with the interview — I believed I had the job because I was given the gate code and told that I would be called with the time to arrive. I happily drove away, slowly backing out toward the already-opening electric gate. Suddenly, I slammed into a sort of pole thing. I guess it was a pole that stops the gate; I’m not sure what you call it. It demolished my bumper, but I don’t know if it damaged the pole or not because the gate was closing and I just continued backing out and went home.

worried square

worried square (Photo credit: cathredfern)

 

When I got home, I called my prospective future boss and owned up to backing into the pole, speaking with his wife because he wasn’t home. I apologized to his wife, leaving a message that I hoped there was no damage done to his pole. Now, I’m just waiting to see if he calls to let me know what time to come over to start work. So far, no call. Perhaps backing into the pole-thing destroyed my opportunity.

I was nervous! And we’ve all heard the stories about women drivers, right? (chuckle — they’re true, actually). But sincerely, I do hope I didn’t blow that job by hitting that pole. It’s driving me crazy.. I’ll be so humiliated if I don’t get this job. I’ve prayed about it, and I accept whatever happens as God‘s will,  but I’ll be so very disappointed. I just can’t believe I did that!

Responses

  1. I pray for your success in getting the job.

    Ed

  2. Accidents happen and people make mistakes….The boss would be nuts to let something like that stand in the way of having you as an employee!

  3. Hey, you’re only human. If he decides not to hire you because of this well, maybe he’s not the kind of person you want to work for. I hope everything works out!

  4. Mistakes just don’t happen but it is common for humans. After you have said your apologies, all is left to voice is “…and it came to pass.”

  5. Thank you to all of you reading, liking, and commenting, for caring about me and my situation. Just wanted to quickly update all of you!

    He called! Yesterday afternoon quite late, he called, and asked if I could work and of course I said I could. He was concerned about my truck and the damage done to it more than he was about the gate-stopping pole, so thank goodness he didn’t hold that against me. I’m very excited and still nervous about getting this job, so please keep me in your prayers if you pray, and thanks so much for thinking positive thoughts for me.

    It really helps to write in this blog, especially when I’m worried. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! 🙂

    Regards,

    Adrienne

  6. “…and it came to pass.” I believe the gate-stopping pole served its purpose more over you helped him confirm the investment profitable in the concrete pole. I love favor!

  7. I’m so glad to hear that it went better than you thought! Will keep you in my prayers.

  8. I love a happy end. There you go girl!


Leave a Reply

Categories

