Posted by: the warrioress | December 28, 2012

Fiscal Follies

Mr. [:-O]

(Photo credit: SourvB)

fol·ly (fl)
n. pl. fol·lies
1. A lack of good sense, understanding, or foresight.
2.
a. An act or instance of foolishness: regretted the follies of his youth.
b. A costly undertaking having an absurd or ruinous outcome.
3. follies (used with a sing. or pl. verb) An elaborate theatrical revue consisting of music, dance, and skits.
4. Obsolete
a. Perilously or criminally foolish action.
b. Evil; wickedness.
c. Lewdness; lasciviousness.

Tax

(Photo credit: 401(K) 2012)

It would seem that every other five minutes, we hear about what will occur here in America if we fall off of the fiscal cliff. Every American’s taxes will go up, not just those making over 250 thousand dollars a year — also the two million unemployed will be cut off from unemployment compensation, and should the farm bill not be re-initiated, milk will sky-rocket up to $7 bucks a gallon.

President Obama has put together a simple minimum package that will prevent this tax increase on we, the middle class, (those who make less than $250,000), but will our House Republicans allow it to pass? They appear to be determined to hold the country’s feet to the fire and are seemingly dug in. I guess it’s akin to telling all of us that if we make the rich pay more, (how dare we?!!!!), they will see to it that the rest of us pay a lot more as well! How intriguing.

Personally speaking?

Santa Emoticon

(Photo credit: chiaralily)

My take on this is that I think this is a good thing in that I’m not going to forget this when it comes time for this Independent woman to vote in the next 2014 election; I will take the opportunity to encourage every voter I know to sweep the house and senate floor of every single Republican up for re-election. After their most recent well-deserved beating, I can only imagine how hard they will be hit the next time around. We can all leave them no doubt as to our intention, since they apparently did not get our message on November 4, 2012 when we re-elected President Barack Obama for another four years.

Shall we ready ourselves to resend that message to our hard headed friends on the right? I say “Amen,” brothers and sisters, AMEN.

 

Responses

  1. It is said that in every organization there are “seeds to its own destruction” and so we now see that to be even handed (moderate) would have been a wiser course. But the people behind the curtain (reference to the wizard of Oz) claiming that their group, (Tea party) Note: I’ll not drink tea again until I go back to Ireland, have managed to bring on the destruction of the American worker (those who really work for a living. Remember Spartacus? That’s where those who put obstacles in our way are wanting to take us. When we we learn?
    We had a martial arts proverb “To fight with another is wrong, but to lose a fight over principles you deem honorable and right is worse.”

  2. The most important election in America is every ten years at the state legislature level, because the state legislature controls redistricted. When the Republicans swept into many State Legislatures, just in time for to redraw the House Congressional districts for 2012, they virtually ensured a Republican controlled House until 2020. Even with a handy victory for Obama and the Dems in 2012, they only managed 8 additional House seats, which was right around where all experts were thinking they could pick up.

    In 2010, I paid little attention to the Senate and Congressional races, but virtually all to the State legislatures for that reason. I would be surprised if the Republicans ever lose control of the House for the next decade since the GOP has double the amount of “safe” uncompetitive seats compared to the Dems and many “Lean” Democratic seats that have since been occupied by Republicans in 2010 are many so-called “Blue-Dog/conservative” Democratic seats that helped constitute the Democratic House Majority for nearly 60 years following the Great Depression and with the polarization of both parties, I see little reason why socially conservative Dems would drop socially conservative republicans for socially liberal Dems who just happen to share more similar economic values.

    Elections matter little in any republic or democracy, what matters are vibrant and vocal reform movements that demand something and never back down until the demand is met, a la: abolitionism, women’s suffrage, social gospel/economic reforms, prohibition, civil rights, et al.

    Cheers, happy upcoming new year!

  3. For years I have warned that we the people need to vote out all incumbents in the House and Senate, yet the people put them back in office. If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you always got! This problem is not a Republican problem, it is not a Democrat problem, it is a greed problem! The only difference between a Democrat and a Republican in Washington is the spelling – they are all crooks and all greedy! Their only concern is getting reelected and filling their pockets. WAKE – UP AMERICA!

    Happy New Year Adrienne
    ♥ Ed

  4. You three, Ed, Paul, and Dr. Denis are moderate. You all seem to be able to be very objective and are far from hard right conservative. It’s a relief to me to find myself attempting to fit in somewhere and finding myself fitting in with your points of view the majority of the time. I’m in this odd transition and trying to find my place in the world these days. I thought I was conservative but find I’m nothing of the sort.. but I’m also not hard core liberal either. Moderate sounds reasonable, but sometimes I really get resentful of the cockiness of the far right and those who embrace Christ who believe that being politically conservative is the only way to get to Heaven.

  5. As a registered Independent, I am moderately conservative. As a graduate from the Navel Academy, I am supposed to be conservative, however Vietnam changed my thinking. Unlike one high profile conservative who refused early release from a POW camp so he wouldn’t be sent back to war, I escaped and returned several times to rescue hundreds of prisoners. I found my love of life and compassion for others took preference over the conservative save my butt attitude of that ’58 graduate.

    As for church, God is neither a Republican or a Democrat and He is neither a Liberal or a Conservative, He is God! I find no where in the bible that proclaims you must be a conservative to get to heaven. There is only one way to heaven and that is through Jesus. It is well documented in the bible.

    If I ever get down to River Walk country again, I would love to meet you. You have a way of speaking your mind, and that is a good thing in my book.

    Your brother in Christ,

    ♥ Ed

    Ps: I hope learning all this about me doesn’t turn you away. ♥


Leave a Reply

Categories

