Posted by: the warrioress | January 3, 2013

The Loss of His Companion

dog fetch

“Dogs have a way of finding the people who need them, Filling an emptiness we don’t even know we have.” –Thom Jones

I’m hurting for an online friend tonight who has lost his best friend. It’s hard to think of this man without thinking of his dog too. The two were bound tightly together, man and dog. From the moment I read his writings on a social site I still visit, I could tangibly feel the intimacy of these two souls, one human, one canine — both have been quite beautiful to behold, even through just the written word and photographs.

I grieve with him tonight; there is little else I can do. I pray that God will comfort and be with my friend in these hours after his beloved companion’s death; may much good come from what these two shared. We are all sorry to see our pets die and every animal owner knows the heartbreak and sorrow of losing these furry angels of the heart.

There are people whose hearts may never be quite the same again; they love so very much and the loss is so great — little can fill the gap that is left when death comes for one of their own. I have faith your arms will be there for him, Lord. I believe you’ll hold him up and carry him through this. And I trust you’ve got his beloved animal close to your breast as well. Thank you, Father. Until they meet again.

——-

“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.” –Will Rogers

“If there is no God for thee, Then there is no God for me.” -Anna Hempstead Branch

“Dogs don’t know about beginnings, and they don’t speculate on matters that occurred before their time. Dogs also don’t know or at least don’t accept the concept of death. With no concept of beginnings or endings dogs probably don’t know that for people having a dog as a life companion provides a streak of light between two eternities of darkness.” -Stanley Coren

“A good dog never dies. He always stays. He walks besides you on crisp autumn days when frost is on the fields and winter’s drawing near. His head is within our hand in his old way.” -Mary Carolyn Davies

They that love beyond the world
cannot be separated by it.
Death cannot kill
what never dies.-William Penn

(For Thomas & Oz, from Adrienne)

Responses

  1. I will say a prayer for your friend and his companion….there is nothing like having such an intimate loyal friend as a dog…..blessings to him!

  2. My heart and prayers go out to your friend for his loss. As a dog lover, I know what losing your best friend does to you. When Lucy died we all died a little with her, including the rest of our pups. My Bud is now 15 and though in good health is showing signs of decline. I know I must prepare for the time, but as my constant companion, I have a hard time doing that. We go everywhere together and are seldom out of each others sight. At night he lays right beside me and looks into my eyes as he falls asleep. It will be rough when his name is called from above.
    Thank you for the post, it opens our eyes to the treasures we really have here on earth.

    ♥ Ed

  3. Prayers go out to your friend. Losing a pet is never an easy thing, we get pretty attached to these precious gifts from God. May he take comfort in knowing that one day he will see his furry companion again.

    Thanks for sharing this touching post.

  4. I was so hoping he would pull through and it broke my heart when he didn’t. It brings me to tears just reading his blogs he writes so beautifully .. telling of the hole that is left in his heart and how his passing has affected his other dog who has been raised with him from a puppy. I know what he’s feeling and my heart goes out to him .. but I know that God is comforting him and he will be fine. It’s times like this that make us realize that no matter how hard we try we cannot control everything. God has promised to meet all of our needs not all of our wants… and even though we are hurting he has provided comfort because he knew we would need it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

