Posted by: the warrioress | March 19, 2013

American Winter

For mobile viewers, click HERE

American Winter – also watch a clip of this documentary HERE

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1158154396/american-winter-a-documentary-film

The film above is a must see.

HBO is showing this documentary, but if you don’t have cable, maybe you can eventually find it online. I’m sharing the trailer and some clips so that we become aware of how many have been impacted by the current economy that we are living in here in America.

Too many people just don’t care about their neighbors and what is occurring in the disconnected lives behind front doors all over the country. Not only are common everyday people — (the hard-working, disabled, elderly & sick) suffering, but countless children are hurting tremendously as well. We’re living in a strange time in which some people’s politics will not allow them to empathize with or understand what is happening to these common folks.

We have people and politicians lecturing us about the deficit and the need to cut and slash the various safety net programs, but there are faces out here that need to be seen and voices that must be heard, behind the mutilation of these same programs. There are families who are being put into the street. There are children who are going to bed at night hungry in this country, and women and children who are struggling just to find shelter.

Through out the Bible, we are instructed as Christians to take care of the poor. We are to care for the widow and the orphaned. We are not to simply turn our backs and send a few dollars to charity, thinking that suffices. If we were doing what we should be, we probably wouldn’t need our government to take on this role as it has, but we are not and probably cannot at the current rate of need that is out here.

If you’re someone who rails at the “freeloaders,” and the corruption within these programs, I understand your frustration, but know that these these resources are genuinely important and necessary in this country. There has to be a way to get rid of the fraud, corruption, and crime associated with these programs without throwing the baby out with the bathwater. Remember what Jesus said:

“When you did it to the least of these, you did it to me.”

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

46 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”  (Matthew 25: 34-46)

https://www.facebook.com/AmericanWinterFilm

Related articles

Responses

  1. […] the trailer on my most recent posting. It’s written to Christians just like yourself.” https://lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/american-winter/ Your politics have blinded you to who you are as a Christian and your role as a Christian FIRST. […]

  2. Well said.
    My favorite sort of Christian is the kind who pushes Praxis so loudly, that you can never hear the Dogma.

  3. PS : great video. I work with poor folks much of the week and do the little I can to help. The stories are so sad. And I just finished the video — excellent, I will have my kids watch.

    My question for you: How can you really care for the poor if you think that if you don’t convert them to your theology, all your help is to lessen a few years of suffering, since they will suffer eternity in hell anyway?

    True compassion can only come when you realize that your beliefs can not possibly separate you from others — either now nor in some imagined future.

  4. Thank you, Sabio. Yes, the stories upset me so much. It’s disturbing that these things can be happening in a country where surviving is and was always a given — suddenly though, no more.

    You said:

    “My question for you: How can you really care for the poor if you think that if you don’t convert them to your theology, all your help is to lessen a few years of suffering, since they will suffer eternity in hell anyway?

    True compassion can only come when you realize that your beliefs can not possibly separate you from others — either now nor in some imagined future.”

    I guess I don’t deeply linger on or consider on a daily basis someone’s likelihood of hell, Sabio. I think there was a point in time in which I dwelled on that in the past. What happened when I dwelled and obsessed about where those who don’t believe are headed is that I became strident, desperate, and obsessive in my sharing the gospel. I was way over the top and all I gained was driving people away from Jesus Christ, not toward. Those rebellious against God told me I was not loving and a poor example of Jesus Christ. I finally listened.

    Actually, change began for me when a wonderful gentleman that I look up to an admire greatly, (Wordsmith’s Desk)confronted me about calling a non-believer’s behavior “evil.” He stated that I should be praying for the man, not criticizing him or taking his moral inventory. At the time, that agitated me and I was sure he was wrong. As I sat with his reprimand, however, I began to see that he was right and I was wrong. This interaction with “Butch” changed me. I still thank God for his wisdom and willingness to speak out and correct me in love.

    Anyway, moral of the story is that I am trying to look at people as more than just someone to convert (thanks to your lead) and really see them for who they are, despite our differences.

  5. Sabio said:

    “Well said.
    My favorite sort of Christian is the kind who pushes Praxis so loudly, that you can never hear the Dogma.”

    Always the teacher, aren’t you? lol.. now I’ll have to go and google “praxis.” 😉

  6. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_theological_praxis

    Is this what you are talking about, Sabio?

    I really like this part:

    “To be followers of Jesus requires that [we] walk with and be committed to the poor; when [we] do, [we] experience an encounter with the Lord who is simultaneously revealed and hidden in the faces of the poor”.[4]

    Very deep stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

