Posted by: the warrioress | April 13, 2013

Uncle Donald

 

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. — Romans 8:28

I’ve been away and haven’t been able to blog at all. A lot of things have happened the last week or so and most of them were entirely unexpected. A close family friend of ours, whom I’ve known for the last twenty years and have considered a best friend, fell ill. He’s an older man and I adopted him into our family a long time ago. My daughter has grown up calling him “Uncle Don” and loves him dearly, as do I. As Don has aged over the years, he’s fallen prey to typical things many elderly people encounter and is now apparently suffering symptomatology consistent with congestive heart failure.

Uncle Don had to go to the Emergency Room a week or so ago and is a United States Veteran. He’s a military man through and through. They have wonderful services here for retired military when health problems arise, thankfully, but various things occurred that led to a very dramatic week that has been just exhausting for all of us.

Finally Uncle Don has landed where he should have been years ago, had I had anything to say about it. Don is now staying with us and has become our tenant in some private quarters here on the property. I guess you could say we’re now going to be his “assisted living facility” and I’m the new “head nurse.”  Anyway, my teen daughter is blissful about it as she never gets to see enough of Uncle Don, and as he’s my best friend, I’m just as thrilled. I wish the circumstances were different, but I’m so glad to have his company here.

I was very worried about Don several days ago, but now it seems that God has brought unexpected good out of all of this and we’re a family again, living at the same address. I’m so thankful that everything has turned out in this manner, though I honestly wish Don was in better health; still, he’s with us and we love him very much and our property is the happier with him residing upon it. I had no idea how much that bible verse above can mean until I journey along and experience various events that seem terrible, but are remarkably turned out for the good of all of us in this home who love the Lord, including Don.

I’ve been terribly busy helping Uncle Don and my daughter’s been ill with a spring cold, so I’ve had my hands full and there was absolutely no time to blog. I just wanted to catch everybody up and tell you guys how much I missed sharing my thoughts on this blog with all of you. Things seem so different now at my home with Don here, and I am blessed immensely.

Responses

  1. Glad to hear all is well. I was beginning to wonder what was going on.
    Good to hear from you Sis.

  2. Gland you are all right and Give “Uncle Don” best wishes from one “vet to another. And our prayers as well!

  3. Good to hear you are well!

    ♥ Ed

  4. Good for your ‘uncle’ Don,
    and good for you, Adrienne!

    Peace and luvz, Uncle Tree

  5. Lord, bless Adrienne, Uncle Donald and Adrienne’s daughter. Cover them with your love. Let your Spirit abide in each of them and fill their house. Give Adrienne everything she needs as she cared for Uncle Donald. Thank you for her heart full of love for him – it shows us your heart. Bless them in every way! Heal and restore Uncle Donald by the power of your Spirit. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

  6. Love the pic! Merciful Father wrap your loving arms of grace around our bible warrior, Uncle Don and his extended family. Bring him healing, strength and many more memories with his adopted family. Let laughter, joy and hope ring out around them. Give them many reasons and opportunities to celebrate! In your son, Jesus’ name. Amen


Leave a Reply

Categories

