Posted by: the warrioress | May 5, 2013

Smoothies

Low-Fat Strawberry-Banana Yogurt Smoothie 1 cu...

I have been a real little homebody of late.

I hear a familiar cry from the teen daughter daily and it sounds like this:

“Mom, you are going to make some more smoothies today, aren’t you? Can I have the blueberry or the strawberry?”

I just smile and nod and get up to make another batch of fresh fruit Β whipped up in the blender, served cold in a dinner glass.

Happy that I’m getting my child to drink her three servings of fruit a day, I’m also enjoying these delicious spring/summer concoctions myself.

I’m also plying Uncle Don with them on a fairly regular basis so we can be sure he’s getting his fruit too. I haven’t seen him complaining about it yet. Who would? lol.

There are so many different kinds of fruit smoothies one can create. There is the tangerine smoothie, banana, blueberry, blackberry, kiwi, mango, strawberry, watermelon, dew melon, and even cantaloupe for you fiber lovers.

Now, just how is this a “spiritual” topic, I’m sure some are wondering…. Β Well, I have an answer for that.

19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies. —1 Corinthians 6:19-20

God wants us to take care of ourselves. He prefers that we eat healthy and strive for balance in all things. If we’re overweight, we need to work on this to the best of our abilities by a healthy lifestyle and reasonable daily exercise. We will feel our best when we make the effort to take care of our bodies, hearts, and minds. It is spiritually correct to do so.

 

Responses

  1. I love this picture of you making smoothies for your daughter and friend πŸ™‚ In the south, making food for someone is it’s own love language!

    We love smoothies, too. A new favorite recipe is 1/2 lemon/ 1/2 lime, 1 orange (or 2 clementines), 1 banana, handful of spinach, 2-3 ice cubes and a bit of water (just enough to blend). Be sure to peel the citrus fruits. This one is so yummy and you sneak a veggie in, too πŸ˜‰

    Love & hugs to you, friend!

  2. P.S. That recipe makes 1 large or 2 smaller sized smoothies.

  3. I’ll try your recipe when I’m feeling better, Natalie. I’m down with a terrible Summer cold. This one sounds really good. God bless, hon.

  4. Sorry you are not feeling well. My kids came down with a summer cold today, too 😦 Lord, bring your healing to Adrienne in Jesus’ name. (((hugs)))


Leave a Reply

Categories

