Posted by: the warrioress | June 5, 2013

A New World

woman waiting for train by tracksI was thinking about the many ways that I have changed within the last couple of years, since I began this blog. My views have altered and grown; in fact, I can hardly recognize myself in some areas. Spiritually, God has changed my mind and heart in ways I never could have foreseen.

If you find inconsistencies in my points of view over time, you’ll hopefully understand why. I began this blog firmly holding very rigid, particular points of view and many of these have been shaken up as I’ve traveled this road less traveled, this narrow road.

I find that God is doing amazing things within me. I find myself becoming much less the proverbial warrior and more pacifistic like Him…

If I am a warrior at all anymore, I find that I am a warrior in spirit, in that I am not afraid to speak the truth, especially to those who seem to find it hardest to hear. I will speak up and proclaim what I’ve learned and sometimes my own Christian brethren cannot conceive of what I’m talking about. I tend to put some of them off with some of the ways I now look at things. Some have been known to scream at me “false doctrine!”  Shaking their virtual fists in self-righteousness and smug certainty, they insist that I am wrong.

As a rich man cannot perceive of giving up his riches, so do many who think they know God’s will and are following that, but who are not truly living as Jesus Christ would have them live according to His word. These Christians believe they are following the Holy Bible but are not embracing His ways as described within the Holy Bible in regard to sinners, the poor, homeless, and really difficult to love people like the mentally ill, for example.

I find that I am rarely fighting those who do not believe anymore  — the atheists, and those who would condemn followers of Christ seem to have very little to fight with me about.  And there is little to nothing to fight with them about. Whether or not they want to know Jesus Christ isn’t something to fight over with them — it’s a simple choice and their decision, not mine for them.

woman-hiking-and-looking-up-to-the-skyOnce one embraces love and begins to incorporate an attitude that is as Christ’s attitude in the bible is, there is simply no more reason to fight, be threatened, or even allow one’s self to be bothered much by what the world thinks or can do. Instead I find myself trying to appeal to the compassion-less among us these days. I seem to be attempting to reach out to those who don’t love easily, but who judge and criticize as if they wrote the bible instead of our God. Not all hear me, but that’s all right; I’m walking this journey according to God’s will, not my own.

Change can occur in this world of ours and I know it will, but not for everyone. Change happens to those whose hearts are open to God and His way of being after His son’s sacrifice on the cross. We live in almost a new world after the death of Jesus Christ and God meant it to be a loving, merciful, compassionate place; this is why He sent His son to die in our place, for our sin. All we have to do is accept God’s new world and it is ours.

Not everyone will embrace this new world, this world of love and peace that God wants to offer them. Some of God’s very own children cannot understand this kind of world and are still living in the past in a world governed by the law, religion, and an “eye for an eye.”

God wants us to love as He loves, with as much compassion, empathy, and care as He has. He wants us to love everyone, even when it’s difficult. He wants us to love the unlovable, and to forgive the unforgivable. When we do this, we do truly live in a new world where anything is possible.

Responses

  1. Bravo! I beg to differ on one point – you are indeed a mighty and fearsome warrior of our Lord, our King! God bless you! Love is the oxygen of the kingdom of God and we all grow more and more like our Lord when we learn to love the unlovable and forgive the unforgivable. Arise, mighty valiant one! God has called you to it and equipped you for it.

    I tell people all the time that my theology is still evolving and the more I study, the more like my Lord I am becoming! Wonder of wonders, what a mighty and awesome God He is! Praise His holy and precious name!

  2. A new world in which I am joyous of being part of, and being able to share within it with brothers and sisters in Christ like yourself!

  3. Beautifully written. Thank you for sharing this with us. God bless!

  4. “Whether or not [atheists] want to know Jesus Christ isn’t something to fight over with them — it’s a simple choice and their decision, not mine for them.”

    Just to clarify, this is not the choice that atheists deal with. The choice atheists deal with is whether there is, in fact, a living person of Jesus Christ to know in the first place.

    It seems to be a common misunderstanding among Christians that atheists somehow accept all the claims of Christianity, but refuse to live by its teachings. There are undoubtedly people like this, but they are not atheists.

  5. Wonderful Adrienne!! The Lord is so moving among His people throught the Holy Spirit… I, too am being “shaped and molded” not by my own belief system, but the Words of our Lord. May He be praised in the name of Jesus Christ!!
    Stephanie

  6. Godspeed you on your journey back to your own heart. I’ve been on a similar journey for a few years now, and I can tell you that it has been absolutely liberating. You may be surprised to find that the loving, compassionate person you wish to become is, and has always been, who you really are, and have been, all along… 🙂

  7. Thanks so much for all of your replies here. I will answer each one as soon as possible. God bless all of you and I sure do appreciate your reading here and commenting.

    Adrienne

  8. It’s interesting to see how God changes over time… For sure! Blessings, Crystal

  9. Kensbackhome,

    Thank you, Ken. Wow.. that is mind blowing when you put it that way. 🙂

    It’s just amazing this journey and I’m so glad to share it with you and the others reading here.

  10. Alwayzhis,
    Hi Steph!

    Wonderful to have you still reading here, and know that you are loved!!

  11. I said:

    “Whether or not [atheists] want to know Jesus Christ isn’t something to fight over with them — it’s a simple choice and their decision, not mine for them.”

    Keith said:

    Just to clarify, this is not the choice that atheists deal with. The choice atheists deal with is whether there is, in fact, a living person of Jesus Christ to know in the first place.

    It seems to be a common misunderstanding among Christians that atheists somehow accept all the claims of Christianity, but refuse to live by its teachings. There are undoubtedly people like this, but they are not atheists.

    I get what you’re saying, Keith. I’m not under any misconceptions about what atheists believe. I understand that they don’t believe there is a god, Jesus Christ, etc., and what I was trying to say is that I don’t feel responsible to force such a determination upon them. I don’t feel pressured that they believe, short of personally caring about them and wanting them to find the joy that I’ve found; yet I know this is their business – their choice, not mine for them.

    I respect their personal, very intimate decision about what they believe or don’t believe because it’s not my business to do otherwise.

  12. Thanks Diana! (hugging) God bless, hon!

  13. Aww..Jan, you’re so sweet. It’s great to have you back again; I can’t tell you how much I missed your posts.

  14. Wow.. abkeyte!

    Thank you so much for that wonderful comment. May God bless you greatly. I thank you for stopping by and caring enough to give me your thoughts.

  15. (:
    Glad to be back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

