Posted by: the warrioress | July 4, 2013

Our Family’s Fourth of July

I’ve been really busy with many things but thankfully it’s a holiday. Time to celebrate America’s Independence and wish all of you a very happy Fourth of July with your friends and family.

Here at our place, we’re going to be sipping fresh-squeezed strawberry lemonade with freshly minced strawberries, one of my teen daughter’s favorites. We’ve also got a little cook out planned with Uncle Donald. NewYork Strip steaks are on the menu, along with salad, green chili macaroni and cheese, with fresh guacamole dip and chips for an appetizer.

Later after our barbecue, we’re going to be watching some pay per view movies that we’ve wanted to see for awhile. They are all new releases and one of them is a really good science fiction called “Dark Skies.” Can’t wait to see it.

Around nine pm we usually watch the fireworks; we can catch them at one of the neighboring air force bases close to where we live, but we’re out of the city limits, so our neighbors often make sure we have plenty to watch right here in our front yard.

I’m really looking forward to getting my mind off of some of the more serious concerns that have kept me preoccupied of late. There have been some not-so-enjoyable challenges on the home front that I’ve taken to the good Lord in prayer; sometimes that’s all I can do because I have little to no control over certain situations.

Anyway, I’ve not really felt like writing too much about my various concerns. I guess this has been a little obvious, huh? Hopefully, I’ll be able to get back into the swing of things and enjoy blogging a bit more in the upcoming days. Summer time can be difficult to get motivated to write regularly because I’m spending most of my time with my daughter and putting her first in my life. She’s out of school and we stay busy keeping each other amused.

God bless you all and keep you this fourth of July. I hope you get to spend time doing what you love most, with those whom you love most.

Responses

  1. Enjoying precious time with your daughter and family is priceless and it is becoming more and more of a rarity due to our busy schedules, so it is great to be able to spend some time enjoying the presence of each other. Yesterday I had a full night with plenty of loose ends to tackle at one point I realized that my daughter was alone with the ipad playing. I just stopped and we spend 30 mins watching fun stuff on youtube and laughing together. I could see in her eyes she really enjoyed me just being there for that little time. We always have to put into perspective that our family is our very first ministry and as every ministry it requires time especially if it is the most important one 🙂 Thanks for sharing and allowing me to share 🙂 God bless you and all the Americans and may you have a blessed feast 🙂

  2. You and the family have a great holiday, Happy 4th.

  3. Hope you had a great Fourth of July!


Leave a Reply

Categories

