Posted by: the warrioress | July 15, 2013

Live By the Sword, Die By the Sword

Trayvon Martin Protest - Sanford

Trayvon Martin Protest – Sanford (Photo credit: werthmedia)

In Mississippi, apparently there has already been violence connected to the Zimmerman/Martin verdict. Three black men allegedly kidnap a white jogger and beat him “for Trayvon Martin,” releasing him on a country road. (Source)

Obviously this is aberrant, horrific behavior, but in a society that tells us it’s legal and acceptable to murder an innocent, unarmed seventeen year old child, I’m not at all surprised. Zimmerman, the “neighborhood watchman” carried a concealed weapon,  yet didn’t even identify himself or his position to the child he followed and eventually confronted. The innocent boy reacts, scared half to death, and gets murdered for defending himself! That child was standing his own ground.

Well, the jury is wrong in their verdict. It is most definitely wrong.

sword

sword (Photo credit: Guitarwarlord)

When we tell Americans that it’s okay to murder other human beings in alleged self defense with concealed carry handguns, will we be surprised when violence becomes the rule of law in this nation? When we choose to live by the sword and teach our kids to live by the sword in this manner, prepare to also die by the sword, Americans.

Jesus told us that this would be the end result of that kind of a choice, so be careful what you wish for; you just might get it.

Live by the sword, die by the sword” is a saying derived from a biblical parable to the effect that if you use violence, or other harsh means, against other people, you can expect to have those same means used against you; “You can expect to become a victim of whatever means you use to get what you want.”[1]

The proverb comes from the Gospel of Matthew, verse 26:52, which describes a disciple (identified in the Gospel of John as Simon Peter) drawing a sword to defend against the arrest of Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane, but is rebuked by Jesus, who tells him to sheath the weapon:

Jesus on the wall of the senior Home

(Photo credit: freestone)

Then said Jesus unto him, Put up again thy sword into his place: for all they that take the sword shall perish with the sword.” (Matthew 26:52, King James Version)

“The verse can be interpreted as an instruction for Christian pacifism.” (Source).

American Christians, we are heading in a dangerous direction! We need to turn back now and do our part to make this murder of Trayvon Martin right. According to the bible, our turn is coming as well! I think we’re seeing only the beginning of this can of worms if something isn’t altered within our laws and criminal justice system. We are preparing to return to the days of the old West and the brutal deaths that went along with those days.

“When policemen break the law then there isn’t any law, just a fight for survival.” Billy Jack

We may quite possibly be entering an era where the majority of American citizenry is armed with concealed weapons and everyone has their story of why murdering the next guy is acceptable because it’s self defense. Think of the road rage incidents that are already out of control.

We need to turn back, calm down, and think this through, fellow citizens. Whether you believe in God or not, the bible is telling us the truth. You pick up that gun and consider using it, and you may die by a similar gun when you encounter someone just as determined to protect him or her self. Think about it.

If you choose this course for the nation and back up conservative lawmakers and those within the criminal justice system who support this insanity, you are responsible for what you chose. You are complicit in this decision and choice. I’ve had several Conservative Christian Americans tell me that if I vote for a president who supports abortion, then I support abortion. Well, this is the same thing. Remember the words of Jesus and make sure you are prepared to die by the sword.

Responses

  1. Taking a life, innocent or not, is tragic and is something that you live with the rest of your life. Since it was never brought out whether identification ever happened in the tragic death of the young man, I will not comment on that. However, we are a land of laws and the law found the man not guilty right, wrong or indifferent.
    I have carried a gun on my side the biggest part of my life so I guess by your definition I live by the sword. As a marine sniper, I have taken life’s so I am a murderer, but I can attest for the fact that I relive every single rendering of my assigned targets daily — so I die a little more everyday. I am alive today because I live by the sword and when I am called home I will answer for every misdeed I made. I served in the United States Marine Corp for 29 years defending your freedom, along with the freedom of every american. We fought for these rights and freedoms and I will continue to defend my right to keep them. So I guess, by your definition, I will die by the sword.
    Love you!

    Ed

  2. I have to agree with Ed and after reading this post I have to conclude that you have not read any transcripts of the trial or listened to the eyewitness testimony. As a civil society we must abide by the law, as Americans we have an inalienable right to firearms. Trayvon Martin was the aggressor according to the EVIDENCE, he was the thug, he had the criminal record and he made a deadly decision to ambush Zimmerman and tried for his gun, tragic result. As a Christian you have a duty to tell the truth not misrepresent the facts. I love and follow Christ, I support the right to bear arms and I know that America, with all her faults, was founded on the gospel of the LORD. It might be more constructive to get off the bandwagon and find a solution to the 80% fatherless ness, high unemployment, black on black crime, and government dependance in the Black community. The TRUTH will set you free!

  3. Efchristi said:

    Taking a life, innocent or not, is tragic and is something that you live with the rest of your life. Since it was never brought out whether identification ever happened in the tragic death of the young man, I will not comment on that. However, we are a land of laws and the law found the man not guilty right, wrong or indifferent.

    Hey Mr. Ed 🙂

    I’m not sure what you mean, “identification happened or not in the tragic death of the young man.” Yes, it was Trayvon Martin who was murdered by Zimmerman. The jury of six women (no blacks on the jury and no men, why? Hmm….) did find him not guilty, but he IS guilty of killing Trayvon Martin. Zimmerman murdered the boy through legal self defense, evidently. Just because something is legal, Ed, does not mean it shouldn’t be changed, nor does it make it right. If they legalize marijuana, for example, is it right? Is it a good thing? What if they legalize killing for entertainment like at the Colosseum in the Roman biblical era? I think you get my point.

    I have carried a gun on my side the biggest part of my life so I guess by your definition I live by the sword. As a marine sniper, I have taken life’s so I am a murderer, but I can attest for the fact that I relive every single rendering of my assigned targets daily — so I die a little more everyday. I am alive today because I live by the sword and when I am called home I will answer for every misdeed I made. I served in the United States Marine Corp for 29 years defending your freedom, along with the freedom of every american. We fought for these rights and freedoms and I will continue to defend my right to keep them. So I guess, by your definition, I will die by the sword.
    Love you!

    By my definition and the bible’s, yes, you have lived by the sword. You are a retired marine sniper. You did what you did as one of several trusted, brave military veterans, and I support those who are fighting for and have fought to protect me and my freedom, one hundred percent. That is quite different than calling one’s self a “neighborhood watchman” who wasn’t even on duty and murdering an unarmed teenager because he whopped your arse in a brawl because he was following you and you were scared, isn’t it?

    Nevertheless. If you choose to carry that gun around to protect you and whomever, then yes, you are choosing to live by the sword. You have guns at home to protect yourself and your wife, and plan to use them if need be? Then yes, you have chosen to live by the sword, and yes, you very well may die by that same sword.

    What is your alternative?

    Hmmm. We (I have guns too) could trust in the God we say we believe in….instead.

    I love you too, Ed.

    Adrienne

    Ed

  4. Beecozz said:

    I have to agree with Ed and after reading this post I have to conclude that you have not read any transcripts of the trial or listened to the eyewitness testimony.

    Why would you assume that? Just because my opinion doesn’t happen to agree with yours doesn’t mean I am uniformed, does it?

    As a civil society we must abide by the law, as Americans we have an inalienable right to firearms.

    I’m well aware of this, but this doesn’t mean that we should choose to carry them, from a Christian perspective, which is what I’m writing this posting from. I’m offering a proposal that you consider your choice to carry a firearm, and to own one. You don’t have to do what I suggest or ask you to consider. I’m considering this same thing myself right now as I’m a gun owner too.

    Trayvon Martin was the aggressor according to the EVIDENCE, he was the thug, he had the criminal record and he made a deadly decision to ambush Zimmerman and tried for his gun, tragic result.

    I’m sorry. I must disagree with you according to the EVIDENCE. It’s your opinion that he was the thug and ambushed Zimmerman, ad infinitum…. YOUR OPINION. Period. You have no proof of this whatsoever, nor does the jury. They have their opinion because they believed George Zimmerman, based upon what they interpret the evidence shows.

    As a Christian you have a duty to tell the truth not misrepresent the facts.

    As do you, do you not? Please recognize the difference between facts and theory/opinion.

    I love and follow Christ, I support the right to bear arms and I know that America, with all her faults, was founded on the gospel of the LORD.

    We could argue that, but I’m not interested in an lengthy argument about the nation being founded upon the gospel of the Lord right now. Let’s stick to the posting topic, if you don’t mind? At any rate, I also love the Lord. I’m glad we have this in common.

    It might be more constructive to get off the bandwagon and find a solution to the 80% fatherless ness, high unemployment, black on black crime, and government dependance in the Black community. The TRUTH will set you free!

    Spoken like a stereotypical conservative-type Christian, Mr. B…

    I am outraged and disgusted by this travesty of justice that has occurred to the family and friends of Mr. Trayvon Martin, not to mention the absolute danger and harm that is occurring by making Martin’s murder LEGITIMATE, and giving our governmental approval of the same. I will fight this along with every other sensible, wise individual who recognizes what I have, thank you very much. I appreciate your suggestion, but I think I’m on the right path for me at the present time.

    I do appreciate your opinion, despite the fact that it annoys the goodness out of me at the moment. Thank you for sharing it here, regardless of that fact. 🙂

  5. This topic is tragic for both Martin and Zimmerman. The only person who knows the truth is Zimmerman.

    The “live by the sword-die by the sword” is not talking about self defense. It actually makes a strong argument for capital punishment.

    If I am ever in a position where my life is threatened…..I’ll take the gun and pray about it later. To be a Christian doesn’t mean to be stupid.

  6. Barb said:

    This topic is tragic for both Martin and Zimmerman. The only person who knows the truth is Zimmerman.

    Convenient, that…. Trayvon is dead isn’t he, so yes, only Zimmerman knows the real truth and God, of course. As far as tragic goes, it’s mostly tragic for Trayvon because he’s under the earth no longer breathing while Zimmerman can still breathe in and out and carry around the gun that killed Trayvon. He can also utilize his poor judgment as a night watchman all over again if he wants to.

    The “live by the sword-die by the sword” is not talking about self defense. It actually makes a strong argument for capital punishment.

    I beg to differ, but please, tell me how it makes a strong argument for capital punishment. I’m all ears…

    If I am ever in a position where my life is threatened…..I’ll take the gun and pray about it later. To be a Christian doesn’t mean to be stupid.

    It’s stupid to trust God, hmm? Why do you think Jesus was pacifistic? Why did Jesus encourage turn the other cheek, love your enemies, etc.? Have you ever read the Beatitudes? Sermon on the Mount doesn’t encourage you to “take the gun and pray about it later..”

    Thanks for your thoughts, Barb.

  7. […] https://lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/live-by-the-sword-die-by-the-sword/ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

