Posted by: the warrioress | July 23, 2013

The Mind of Christ

Cover of "Let This Mind Be in You"

Cover of Let This Mind Be in You

I can become so enveloped within the cares of this world that I am angry, frustrated, sorrowful, depressed, and fearful. When I watched what happened with the Zimmerman/Martin debacle I felt helpless; this makes me angry! So many things need to be changed on planet Earth. Where do we even begin?

I see so many people, even some brothers and sisters in Christ, who are not getting it; thus I feel agitated, but I am learning. Yes, I am learning. We all get this at our own pace, in God’s timing not our own, and certainly not mine.

There are several whom God is using to train and teach me. I can learn from everyone, but there are those who are able to become still and quiet before God, who realize what is primarily important in this spiritual daily walk with Jesus Christ.

These Christians are FOCUSED.

“Upon what,” you ask?

Upon this:

Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bond servant, and coming in the likeness of men. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” Philippians 2:2-11

When we make the decision to become born again, we begin classes here on earth essentially; these classes take place through our daily living experience. God begins to alter our minds and hearts, through His Holy Spirit. Jesus Christ renews our mind through His death on the cross and our acceptance of that. We repent of our sins. We grow toward being like Jesus. We truly become new creatures in Christ Jesus.

This is all a very lengthy process;  it will not be rushed.

How do I know when I have been successfully distracted from my course in becoming closer to the mind of Christ?

I feel agitated, angry, restless, fearful, depressed, or frustrated.  I feel as if I have no control over earthly events that are truly beyond my ability to control anyway. I have taken up obsessing upon worldly troubles like the state of the nation, instead of recognizing that God is actually quite in control.

Certainly I can do my little part by being a good citizen of this great nation through voting, etc., but then I must move forward again, getting back to what my focus should be upon — growing ever upward toward the mind of Jesus Christ; this is what being “born again” looks like.

Being a Christian is a continual renewing of the mind, body, and spirit so that we are all unified within the mind of Jesus Christ, at peace within the Holy Spirit of God and driven to share the message with the world of how one gets here.

It’s a terrific challenge. So many things can tear me off track, but there are those who always seem to bring me back on point. Thank you God for these precious souls, who quietly instill your wishes within me, sometimes without their ever even speaking. I sense them praying for me; I sense their quiet knowledge and peace, and my own spirit grows quiet in response to theirs.

And again I am focused….  🙂

Responses

  1. Thank you, Adrienne, for this post. Very honest and clearly expressed. I can relate to you (as I’m sure many can). May the Lord bless you as you draw near to Him. May He keep you safe in Him and full of His peace and joy as He transforms you more and more into His image! I hear the Lord telling me a lot lately that we overcome evil with good (Rom. 12:21)…by doing what Jesus said: loving Him and loving each other! All this worry gets us nowhere (except in the traps set by the enemy: paralyzed in fear, angry, bitter, divided, discouraged and unable to love). May God continually fill us His Spirit and drive out our fears with His perfect and sanctifying love (1 Jn. 4:18). We can take heart b/c as you said, He is leading us in His perfect time, and He is faithful! We will reach the desired end. We will win the prize as we run after (and with) Jesus! He is working in us, and He won’t stop till it’s finished (Phil. 1:6). Hallelujah!!
    Love in Christ,
    Natalie

  2. Nothing under God’s control is ever out of control. Amen. May the Lord give you a quiet peace now and forever more. This is my prayer for you.

    ♥ Ed

  3. Great article. It’s easy to be “successfully distracted from my course in becoming closer to the mind of Christ.” Thanks for the reminder and encouragement.


Leave a Reply

Categories

