Posted by: the warrioress | July 29, 2013

Age of Accountability

I received a question by email, asking me why I reported in my posting “Jesus Wore a Hoodie” that Trayvon Martin was resting in the arms of Jesus, and how I knew that he was born again. This question got me thinking more deeply because there really is no way that any of us, including me, can know who is saved and who is not at the moment that they die. I also have no idea if we encounter Jesus immediately upon our death or not; this is something I intend to research further in the bible.

I personally believe that Trayvon was safe with Jesus or will be in the future because he was young, murdered, and afraid of Zimmerman as he was fighting and standing his own ground;  I think he may have already known Jesus Christ; I think he believed.  I think Jesus or even an angel may have been there to comfort him as he was dying, but again, these are my own wishful thoughts because I believe that Trayvon was potentially under “the age of accountability.

The bible does not tell us what the age of accountability is; therefore we cannot be certain that Trayvon will pass freely into the arms of Jesus and go to Heaven when the time comes that he do so. To know this absolutely would demand that Trayvon had confessed belief in Jesus before his death. I’m honestly not sure if anyone knows if Trayvon Martin believed or not; perhaps his family and those close to him may have some idea.

When I look at the Martin family itself, Trayvon Martin’s mother, Sybrina Fulton, was a very devout Christian woman. It’s obvious to me that she loves Jesus based upon her many interviews up to this point. I believe without a doubt that she witnessed to both of her sons on more than one occasion. I feel that because of Sybrina’s faith in God that Trayvon knew about Jesus, believed, and had accepted Jesus as his savior; still I do admit that this is only my personal feeling on the matter and only God knows any person’s heart.

One thing is certain — the death of this young man should teach all of us a very important thing. We never know when we will spend our last moment on this earth.

We can take our last breath an hour from now and not even be aware that our death is upon us. The bible tells us that there is only one way to the Father and that way is through Jesus Christ. We should turn to Jesus Christ while there is still time. Why gamble that one can put this off indefinitely? Why procrastinate where one will spend eternity?

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.  John 14:6

If we believe, we will live for all eternity; if we call upon the name of the Lord, we will be saved.

“Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live.”  John 11:25

“For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”  Romans 10:13

Don’t wait.  Jesus is available now, this very minute. We can meet Jesus today.

How to begin a relationship with Jesus Christ

Responses

  1. You are amazing! I love your thoughts and your sweet spirit my sister in Christ.

  2. 2 Corinthians 5:8 KJV speaks to what occurs when we die. Being absent from the body ushers us into God’s presence. Before Christ’s death, Jesus told the parable about the rich man and Lazarus (Luke 16).

  3. Thanks, My Immanuel! I am so glad that you found that passage and cleared up the mystery for me. God bless!

  4. Er.. amazing, eh, Butch? Hmm. I think not so much, but I’m glad you love me. 😉 I’m a work in progress. I love you too, brother.


Leave a Reply

Categories

