Posted by: the warrioress | August 4, 2013

Being Authentic

I received a comment from a close friend on Facebook in response to my last posting. Part of the comment went as follows:

“Bitterness is not becoming on you or anyone.”

I’ve been thinking about that comment and felt that it was important enough that I should do a post in response to it, so here goes.

This “daily spiritual journey” of mine is real; it is honest. I am being my sincere, honest-to-God self with you readers, friends, and family. For those of you who are not aware of this fact yet, I am hardly a perfect Christian and I’m not going to attempt to put one over on you so that you think that I am.

Newsflash! I’m not.

I am a work in progress and this is just the truth of the matter. Sometimes I don’t act very Christian at all. Sometimes I use foul language and cuss when I lose my temper. I can also get moody and depressed on occasion, and feel completely overwhelmed with everything going on around me in this world. My responses can most certainly be less than what Jesus expects of me; I am sorry to disappoint you when they are.

I know my friend speaks out of love for me and concern, but I’m growing at God’s pace and I’m not always going to be a good example of a child of God — this journey isn’t like that for me. This journey is one step forward, two steps back sometimes. I succeed and then I fail, yet again. Sometimes I just look stupid, silly, immature, and young in Christ.

When I don’t understand the why’s of something and it hurts me, I can and do react in bitterness, resentment, and even anger initially. As I began to deal with these negative emotions and pray and think things through, I soften over time inwardly. I try to turn the matter over to God, and basically accept that I can do very little to change anyone else. It’s myself that I need to focus upon changing for the long Β haul. Sharing my thoughts about all of this though, I think helps us all.

Honesty is a good thing, even when it’s not pretty and we need more of it in this world.

Sometimes my postings are going to be raw, gritty, and not bursting with the fruit of the spirit. I screw up as a Christian pretty darn regularly. I also repent my screw ups and try again another day. Thankfully, God seems to understand and accepts me and my flaws anyway, as I hope my readers will, including the conservative Republican readers who disagree with me.

I love you

I love you (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

I love all of you truly, no matter your politics, and only want what is best for our country and our world. Of course, I know many of us disagree upon what that is or how we’re going to get there; but again, this is a journey and it would be awfully lame and dull if no one ever thought differently than I do. You have the right to think as you please, differently from me, and I respect your right to do so.

Thanks again for reading me thus far..

Responses

  1. I love your honesty, I as well don’t have it all together either , but that’s ok today. Great post sis πŸ˜‰

  2. You are a breath of fresh air my Christian sister

  3. I do love you and am only projecting my concern and trying to offer guidance. Read my latest comment on Facebook. Christians help each other grow and learn. God knows I have lots to learn still, after 58 years of following Him. I have been given lots of guidance along the way and offer it where I think I can help.
    You are right, it is your journey! I just want you to know you don’t have to travel the path alone.

    I love you!

    Ed

  4. Dignity is an aspect that the too comfortable never understand. Those who attempt to live a life pleasing will never please those who are looking for faults. My grandfather use to say when someone criticises you its because you’re either a challenge to their ego or a reproach to their conscience. You’re doing just fine right on schedule.

  5. Love the post. Your words echo my own thoughts. I used to be as honest and as transparent as you are… but fear of man stepped in. I grew weary of trying to cope with other people’s opinion of me. I stopped blogging because it became easier to remain silent than it was to speak. I could say so much more… but I won’t. Thank you for putting in to words things I’ve often thought.

  6. Reblogged this on The Adventures of Bipolar Girl and commented:
    I read this tonight on another blog and just felt like I needed to reblog it.

  7. Hooray for you!

    I think of some of the people I used to know at church who would try to use euphemisms to describe the challenges we all face in life. As a joke once, I got up and talked at length about eating ice cream before dinner as a euphemism for premarital sex. I was able to make it very funny. I was really poking at those individuals who walk around like they’re too good to use the bathroom. You know, I think we all get it wrong sometimes.

    Jesus wants us to be sincere, because Heaven isn’t a masquerade, and if it was, you sure couldn’t afford the costume. Life is too darned short to walk around lying to yourself and other people. Instead, He accepts us just as we are, ugly little tax collectors sitting up in a tree with Zacharias or whatever his name was.

  8. My dear Adrienne…
    After your comment on my last post, I prayed earnestly for you. The Lord led me to pray in regards to an issue such as this. I know you were hurt at first… but never forget honey that we only accountable to our Almighty Father and Lord Jesus. Not every word or deed any of us who carry Jesus name is said or done perfectly. If we did— we wouldn’t be here, we’d be with Him.
    Thank you for showing your courage and enthusiasm for the Truth of the Word of God. As long as that is the guiding light on your life— you’re good to go.
    Plus… I can say DITTO for myself as well.
    Stephanie

  9. Keep the fire burning, my friend. You speak truth. Jesus criticized the Pharisees and the Sadducee. “Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye make clean the outside of the cup and of the platter, but within they are full of extortion and excess” (Matthew 23:25). “Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye are like unto whited sepulchres, which indeed appear beautiful outward, but are within full of dead men’s bones, and of all uncleanness” (Matthew 23:27)

  10. All we can do is be real. We don’t want your best imitation of a “Christian,” we want the real you. When you do that, you give the rest of us permission to be real! πŸ™‚

    \o/


Leave a Reply

Categories

