Posted by: the warrioress | November 9, 2013

Obama Care/ACA Blessings

pretty sunny day 016

(Photo credit: rnrlogo)

I have been greatly overwhelmed by the flu hitting family and friends I’m looking after. It’s kept me running and busy for nearly a week. I’ve been watching a lot of news though, and thus I feel passionately about writing about this particular topic, Obama Care; it’s important to America and all of her citizens.

I was finally able to discuss my personal finances with someone certified to advise me about Obama Care here in Texas, considering that Texas has opted out of Obama Care due to our Republican Governor and sundry right-wing politicians. I’ve heard and read so many different things in the last few weeks that I wasn’t sure what is accurate and what is rumor so I began to do my own due diligence. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I will benefit from this wonderful new law and that I will finally be able to buy affordable health insurance, thanks to Obama Care.

President Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle...

(Official White House photo by Pete Souza) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It turns out that being able to do this depends specifically upon one’s income level, but mine is such that I will be able to take advantage of government subsidies to purchase a SILVER PLAN at about eighty-four dollars a month! I can begin my new Obama Care insurance plan on January  1, 2014, and they even offered to allow me to begin setting something up for in the interim, over the holidays, that would temporarily cover me!

I think there are so many people confused and bewildered by the rampant lies and misinformation going around, that they are simply paralyzed and doing nothing about signing up or even investigating the possibilities. I think once they allow themselves to actually get more information, they will be as happy as I am about this.

angry face

angry face (Photo credit: _gee_)

On nearly every cable channel, there is hysteria and rage about losing one’s initial health insurance policy, (even though it doesn’t meet the requirements of the new ACA law). Those losing old policies will absolutely receive a new, better policy, but the outrage is about losing the old and the fact that it might cost a little more for some.

I could not help thinking to myself and wondering about how these same people would feel if they had NO health insurance policy — like me and the other millions I share this dilemma with.  They’ve been able to live with health insurance for years, haven’t they?  Now, just for the moment, they know what we feel like, don’t they? They too have no policy at the moment. Hmm.

I am so grateful to President Obama for finally being able to purchase health insurance that I can afford! These other people are angry and viciously slandering the president because they may have to purchase a new policy! Does that sound more than a little entitled and spoiled, or is it just me that thinks so? 

These folks are angry because their rates may go up a little due to things added to their new policies like substance abuse, maternity leave, and other benefits they now legally have to purchase so that EVERYBODY can have a slice of the health care pie. They are stating that they won’t be using this or that, and that some of their money is being used to finance this Obama Care venture, and a host of other various complaints.

angry face

angry face (Photo credit: Lisa Hall-Wilson)

I don’t feel much sympathy for these irritated people.  Instead I recommend that they open up their own copy of the Holy Bible and read what Jesus had to say about “loving thy neighbor as one loves thyself.”  I think they should meditate upon what that really means. I feel that they should study what Jesus Christ and God think about greed, selfishness, self-centeredness, and love of money. And they should ask themselves, “what would Jesus do?”

Imagine having to share a little so that everyone can benefit, not just you! I realize it’s a little hard to wrap one’s mind around this kind of love, this kind of giving and sharing. I think Christians should be able to do it though, without too much effort. If they find that they cannot, I think they need to hit their knees and ask God to work with them in this area where they most definitely lack. I know God will allow His Holy Spirit to help them begin to love their neighbor with the kind of  love He meant for them to love their neighbor with.

Responses

  1. I am so happy for you!! Yeah, people who lose their plans will be mad, just like they would have been when they actually became ill and their insurance company who they’d been paying all this time suddenly decided to drop them. That’s what this new plan prevents; and had those insurance companies had their act together, they would have planned ahead and complied with the new regulations instead of dropping their clients at the last minutes because they’re incompetent.

    Thank goodness for Obamacare!

    Can I also say, get a flu shot if you haven’t already. The swine strain is very nasty. We got one last year for the first time and it’s well worth it!

  2. i can promise you that the ACA will be running like a well-oiled machine by the 2014 elections…the unrelenting hypocrisy of the republicans will be their doom..and if you think obama drives them nuts, just wait until hillary becomes president…they’ll lose their minds, souls, and party and good riddance

  3. Obama Scare is all about CATALOGING THE HUMAN HERD….Some peoples rates have tripled…how is that fair?

    Its against the Constitution for the Gov to FORCE you to buy anything..THERE ARE MUCH BETTER ALTERNATIVES OUT THERE…OF WHICH I INTEND TO EMPLOY FOR MYSELF….because of my Christian religion and my Christian Based Health Care plan…..I am exempt from ObamaScare..

    I will never sign up for this trickery….Once you put your name in BABYLON…you cannot get out.

    Its like the HOTEL CALIFORNIAN…you can check in any time you like…but you can never leave…

    Try listening to other views..not just liberal democrat views

    THERE IS BETTER INSURANCE OUT THERE…..NON CONTRACTUAL DOCTORS….AND CHRISTIAN CATASTROPHIC HEALTH CARE PLANS..ALL VERY AFFORDABLE…

    OBAMA IS A LIAR…AND A DECEIVER…YOU CANT TRUST THE MAN..I really cannot see what you see in him…sorry..but To me..hes destroying our nation..and trying to turn us into a communist nation…

    A nation where poor people like you will be exterminated…READ SOME HISTORY ABOUT THE SOVIET UNION..AND THE JEWISH BOLSHEVIKS..

    You CANNOT expect anything good from a people whos religion deems you as mere cattle…beasts…

    Obama is part of THE TRIBE.on his mothers side…His father was Franklin Marshal Davis…high ranking COMMUNIST PARTY USA member in Hawaii…

    Davis wrote a book about he and his wife having sex with a 13 yr old girl…that girl is believed to be Obamas mother..

    Look at photos…Barry Davis looks alot more like Franklin Davis..that the sheep herder from Kenya….

    Anyone with so many lies wrapped around him…is no good…Remember..LIARS WILL NOT BE ALLOWED IN HEAVEN..so why would we accept a liar as a leader in our country..

    DONT YOU REALIZE WHAT THIS MAN HAS DONE??

    DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT WE LOST WHEN HE PASSED THE NDAA???

    OR THE PATRIOT ACT???

    HOW OBAMA MORE THAN ANY OTHER BEFORE HIM…HAS UTTERLY DESTROYED OUR FREEDOMS…AND RIGHT TO A FAIR TRAIL? And yet..you think hes great.

    You need to stop your steady diet of liberal news…and listen to the other side..THEY ARE NOT LYING as you implied…

    You say your proud to be an American..and yet you support people who seek to destory our Constitution…our freedom..our country?

    I dont get it.

  4. Hi there. Honestly, I was a little disappointed when I read this. I am going to have to disagree with you on this one for a few reasons:
    1. The bureaucracy makes more money than will ever reach the poor. The best way to reach the poor is to allow the most local people help (subsidiarity). That begins with the family, extends to relatives, then to the church, then to the town, then to the state. By the time help comes from a national level, so many people are involved that the poor receive little of the benefits. In addition, to concentrate so much power with so few people would be undermining our own voice as well. To be happy in another’s pain in order to pay for one’s own welfare does not seem Christian to me; those subsidies come from taxpayers and your own children. “Owe nothing to anyone, except to love one another; for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law…. Love does no evil to the neighbor; hence, love is the fulfillment of the law.” (Romans 13:8-10)
    2. Love is built on freedom. It is not built on coercion and force. “For freedom, Christ set us free; so stand firm and do not submit again to the yoke of slavery.” (Galatians 5:1)
    3. Being happy that someone else is losing their insurance strikes me as vengeful, envious, or callous. I am not accusing you of that, but it is something to think about when reading commentary on this issue from others. Taking up the cross does not mean being happy when relieved of it and when someone else knows what you feel like in your suffering. “For you were called for freedom, brothers. But do no use this freedom as an opportunity for the flesh; rather, serve one another through love.”
    4. “Now the works of the flesh are obvious: immorality, impurity, licentiousness, idolatry, sorcery, hatreds, rivalry, jealousy, outbursts of fury, acts of selfishness, dissensions, factions, occasions of envy, drinking bouts, orgies, and the like.” (Galatians 5:19-21)
    5. If truly trusting God and being dependent on Him, then a Christian would exhibit the fruits of the Spirit. If not, then the Christian is depending on the wrong thing to help him/her in life. “In contrast, the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” (Galatians 5:22-23)
    6. “Let us not be conceited, provoking one another, envious of one another.” (Galatians 5:26)
    7. “Love is patient, love is kind. It is not jealous, [love] is not pompous, it is not inflated, it is not rude, it does not seek its own interests, it is not quick-tempered, it does not brood over injury, it does not rejoice over wrongdoing but rejoices with the truth.” (1 Corinthians 13:4-6)
    Sister, I know what it is like to a single mom. I know it’s hard. I know it is emotionally very painful. We get the raw end of the deal many times. But, I would not want to force anyone to have to suffer the pain I do, especially my children but also my married friends. I know my heart is not in the right place if those kinds of unloving thoughts begin to occur. I only hope that people will begin to be responsible and love. And Jesus, Jesus, please help me not be malicious like those who have treated me so maliciously! I challenge you to offer more of your trials to Jesus because He always leads to freedom and love. This post seems to be below your usual standard–I know the standard you have is Christ!

  5. To all of you sharing here on this topic:

    I appreciate your comments and opinions, even if they don’t coincide with my own. Like you, I feel very passionately about this issue. I don’t want to attempt to erode your opinion, or even argue and debate why we disagree. Our thoughts are laid out for all to think about and make up their own minds. I stand firmly by my posting. There is no malice intended within it. I point out the obvious, I think. It does seem odd that those who would have the uninsured remain uninsured now find themselves in a similar position.

    This is what it is and what will be will be. Let’s all just keep sharing, praying, and looking for God within these happenings and God’s will; I believe all will become clear in His time, not my own. Thanks so much for contributing here!

    Adrienne

  6. I hate to keep this going, but isn’t that an assumption–to assume that the insured people who have suddenly become uninsured are the same people who wish that others would remain uninsured? I have found several people who embraced the ACA because they hope to see everyone insured, but now they, too, are without insurance.

  7. Actually, Lh, they are only without insurance temporarily. They may yet be able to keep their plans if this conundrum can be worked out, but if not, they will be able to apply for a brand new plan that meets the requirements of the new law and actually helps the new law succeed and fund insurance for all of us; then we will all have opportunity to stay well and be healed. Ooops…

    Well, not all of us will have that opportunity. In the red states where the Republicans are running things, the extreme poor who don’t make enough money to apply for government subsidies but make too much to be allowed on Medicaid rolls, will still suffer without insurance. The Republicans are responsible for this …. how absolutely Christian of them!

  8. I support Adrienne in all that she has said here. My gift of the Holy Spirit is the gift of spiritual discernment. After reading the above post, I know with great confidence that Tess has been totally deceived and lamehousewife is well down the road too.

    Jesus has provided me with a series of powerful visions since about 2005, and all of those visions have come true exactly as predicted over the past 9 years. They all involved Jesus breaking a large bundle of sticks across his knees the way my father would break kindling. The bundle of sticks was the extremist Republican Party, the Tea Party allies, and their entire so-called “conservative agenda.” In 2010 and 2012, the bundle of sticks did not just break. When Jesus cracked them across his knee, they shattered into millions of splinters. The 2010 election of the Tea Party seemed to go against the grain of the visions I had been given, so I prayed about it. Jesus to me to, “Relax and do not be afraid because of this seeming victory by my enemies. What looks like a victory is really a resounding defeat because I have used this election to plant within them the seeds of their own destruction. You just wait and see.” In 2012, the bundle of sticks was even larger in the visions. On the Republican side, victory seemed all but assured. The hated negro was finally going down for sure this time. But no, the vision from Jesus showed the enormous bundle of sticks being shattered again into millions of splinters—and it was. Jesus said, “I will have the conservative Republicans not just broken but in utter derision this time.” And so it was and is at this very moment.

    Recently, another vision came to me from Jesus—again seemingly out of nowhere like the others had done. It came right after the failed attempt to shut down the government because of Obamacare. This vision did not show a massive bundle of sticks. It showed a large pile of wood splinters spread out across the ground where the bundle had already been broken, and each splinter was being consumed individually by fire where it lay. It was as if an individual fire had been appointed to consume each splinter.

    Every sandbox has one kid who refuses to share his toys with the other kids—believing wrongly that those toys belong to her rather than Jesus. This tendency to believe in “me” and “all mine” is enmity with Jesus. Jesus was a sharing sort of person. He knew that we came into this world with nothing and that we are going to leave it with nothing. The notion that we are the sole owners of what we have and that we have exclusive rights to it is a notion of English common law and property rights. The Bible makes it clear in spades that the things we own are not ours. They belong to Jesus. As the scriptures say, “The Earth is the Lord’s and ALL that is in it.” Personally, I have no problem with my tax dollars going to pay for the health insurance of someone who needs it. Being Christian is about sharing, and there are many different ways to share—and a government program like the Affordable Care Act is one of them. What matters to Jesus is that needy people get what they need. Those who have lost private insurance policies will get better insurance policies under the Affordable Care Act because everyone is required to have health insurance—just like auto insurance. Many of the lost policies were what I call “junk insurance,” meaning policies so cheap, stupid, and bad that only a moron would have cherished having them—and praise the Lord that their owners never had to find out the hard way that their insurance was so lousy that it was the next best thing to having none at all.

  9. @Lamehousewife, the reason people’s plans were cancelled is because they don’t comply with the new rules. The insured loved their coverage plans, except those who got cancer. They then found out that those beloved insurance companies dropped them like a hot potato. Leaving them to pay for cancer treatment out of pocket. Isn’t that just lovely?

    If said companies had their act together, they would have prepared for the changes that have been in the works for a good 3 years now. For goodness sake, they knew it was coming. Their lack of preparedness is no one’s fault but their own. Blame them, not Obama.

    Yes, his plan has some major flaws. But seriously, the Republicans are a bunch of liars. It does not cost “trillions”. And in all seriousness; if the Christian community is so amazing at caring for their communities, why are 48 million Americans still uninsured? I mean, really. Give me a break.

  10. Sorry; my point was, that’s part of Obama’s new laws. Said scumbag companies can no longer deny insurance to sick people, or drop paying clients on a whim. This is exactly what needed to happen. The fact that they’re punishing their clients due to their own incompetence, says volumes.

  11. I would also like to point out that the Republicans do not want to fix Obamacare or substitute a reasonable and workable plan of their own that fully addresses the healthcare concerns of the American people. The GOP of Dwight D. Eisenhower, Barry Goldwater, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, and George W. Bush Sr. has been taken over lock, stiock, and barrel by right wing extremist radicals, the John Birch Society, and follow-any-conspiracy-theory-that comes-along nutballs. These people operate on purist ideology.

    Part of that ideology is that healthcare and human life itself are simple commodities like dried beans. They give lip service to Jesus, but money is their real god. To them the healthcare equation is simple. People who have money deserve healthcare. People who have no money deserve to die. Death is their rightful punishment for having no money. How one can operate on a philosophy like that in their daily life and still claim to be a Christian is a mystery to me. Jesus Christ either said the things that he said in the New Testament and really meant them—all of them—or he did not. I choose to believe that he did mean them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

