Posted by: the warrioress | November 21, 2013

Turn It Over

Thanksgiving holidays are around the corner. I’m looking forward to holiday cheer and peace of mind as I specifically focus upon reasons to be thankful and move my thoughts to a more positive place. The nations problems, painful disappointments, and personal annoyances will still be here, but I’m not going to allow them to continue to take up space in my mind, at least for the time being I’m not.

Dandelion seeds (achenes) can be carried long ...

Dandelion seeds (achenes) can be carried long distances by the wind. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Despite the frustration and resentment I feel about these things, some of which I’ve shared here, the truth is that I can do nothing about any of it.  I can no more change people and their ways of thinking than I can change the weather. God has to do the actual changing; the only one I can change is myself.

According to God’s will, I sprinkle  seedlings, someone else waters them — but it’s God who is in charge of making them grow.

Later that same day Jesus left the house and sat beside the lake. 2 A large crowd soon gathered around him, so he got into a boat. Then he sat there and taught as the people stood on the shore. 3 He told many stories in the form of parables, such as this one:

“Listen! A farmer went out to plant some seeds.  As he scattered them across his field, some seeds fell on a footpath, and the birds came and ate them. Other seeds fell on shallow soil with underlying rock. The seeds sprouted quickly because the soil was shallow. But the plants soon wilted under the hot sun, and since they didn’t have deep roots, they died. Other seeds fell among thorns that grew up and choked out the tender plants. Still other seeds fell on fertile soil, and they produced a crop that was thirty, sixty, and even a hundred times as much as had been planted! Anyone with ears to hear should listen and understand.” –Matthew 13: 1-9

My place and only responsibility when I’ve done all I can is to pray, be thankful, and focus upon my many blessings because these are so plentiful that they are hard to count. I know God will grow the seeds He means to grow.

On a more personal note, I got my kiddo well, but then she became reinfected again with an upper respiratory infection that everyone seems to have (they call this “allergies” down here in TX).  Anyway, I’m busy cooking lots of hot meals for her and trying to get healthy fluids down her so she’ll be well for Thanksgiving. She’s got Thanksgiving break coming after tomorrow, and I’ll be very grateful for her company. I want to find some fun things we can do while we’re cooped up in the house with rainy, freezing weather. Looking forward to the peaceful break!

 

Responses

  1. I am sorry to hear J is sick again, this is a bad time of the year to get an URI, but I know she is in good hands. I use Tussin CF to break it up here in NE Texas and it does a great job of calming the drainage into the throat.

    Have a great weekend.

    Ed

  2. Thank you for the reminder my friend. The message, though far from new to me, was certainly a lesson I needed to hear again. God bless you Adrienne.
    Always your friend,
    Tom

  3. My dear friend, you spoke correctly, give yourself a break from the problems of the world. Allow your beautiful mind to focus upon your family and all the many blessings the Lord is sowing in your life day by day. As for your daughter I will keep her lifted up in my prayers. Allow the Lord’s peace to cleanse and refresh your heart and mind. Read Matthew 11:28-30 and allow the words of the Lord to strengthen and comfort you throughout this Thanksgiving Holiday. I love you and appreciate you, now enjoy the moment that the Lord has set before you and your family.

  4. Love and peace.

  5. Hope your daughter is feeling better. I had that stuff last month, and it was tough to kick. Blessings to you and your family this Thanksgiving. 🙂

  6. The quote from Andrew Pino is interresting. I have heard a lot of Christians tell atheists, that they will pray for the atheist when they get angry at the atheist for speaking her mind. Is it a representation of this meme?

    It is ethical not to forgive just everthing. There are injusticies, that should not ever be forgiven. And even when some injustice may be forgiven, they should not be forgotten.

    On the other hand, who am I to say? I have never really understood the concept of prayer. I mean it is a natural line of thought for the polytheistic religions where gods are thought to be only limited, though supernatural, entities whose attention may need to be aroused by the human adherent in distress. But if the idea of monotheistic all-mighty god who alledgedly has set everything in motion already knowing how everything is going to turn out (as in Judaism, Christianity and Islam) is considered, prayer makes no sense at all.

    Why should a human being plead anything from a god, that allready knows what each and every human individual wants, requires, and deserves? Add to injury, the unawoidable conclusion, that, if this Middle-Eastern god exists, this god is – obviously – doing everything in it’s power to remain hidden from humanity. Supposedly in order not to impair the so called free will of humans.
    Hence, answering prayers would be a direct assault against the free will of the praying individual. Correct?

    Perhaps, you could explain this concept of prayer in short here, or in one of your future posts, since, if you believe it, you must have some understanding of it.

    I hope your daughter gets better.

  7. rautakyy,

    I think it’s akin to forgiveness in that while the person one is resenting may not benefit from the forgiveness, nor may they even deserve it, we forgive not just for them but for the peace of mind it brings to us. Allowing anyone to trouble one’s mind is stressful and when it’s someone who has brought us harm, we are better to be able to let it and them go in peace and move forward with our lives. When we pray for another it changes our heart and when we’re angry and upset, it’s ours that sincerely must change.

    So for those who do not deserve forgiveness, we forgive for us not them.

    I don’t see that God answering prayer is interfering with a person’s free will at all. And as for us pleading our cause to a being that already knows all, there are many reasons for prayer. The purpose of prayer is to develop the intimacy within the relationship, to become closer to God, to develop faith/belief/trust in our Heavenly Father — to know He is here for us, whenever we need Him, minute to minute. I have intended to do a post on the purposes of prayer in the past. I’ll certainly do one at length. Thanks for the topic. Have a lovely holiday and thanks for the well wishes for my daughter; she does seem to be a little better.

  8. Ken, thank you so much. I hope the holiday finds you happy and blessed. Hang in there and take good care of yourself.

  9. Love and peace to you too, Dover/Tracy. (hugs).

  10. Pastor Davis,

    Again, thank you so much for having been here for me again and again on this blog. You’re a very special pastor and I’m so fond of you. Your family are very lucky to have you in their lives in person. God bless and keep you, Pastor Davis. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

  11. Tom,

    Thanks so much, Tom. It’s good to hear from you. I hope Thanksgiving is special and happy for you. God bless you too. Always your friend as well, Adrienne.

  12. Ed,

    I think it’s her bipolar medications that impact her immune system negatively, unfortunately. It’s been a real problem every since adolescence when she had to start these meds. I appreciate you keeping us in your prayers, my dear friend, and you and yours are also in ours. Have a wonderful holiday, Ed. Adrienne

  13. Adrienne,
    Would you send me a list of what meds J is taking for bipolar via FB Message? I can look at them and maybe help to see if they could be affecting her immune system.
    Happy Thanksgiving!!
    Love,
    Ed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

