Posted by: the warrioress | December 18, 2013

The ACA and me

Insurance

Insurance (Photo credit: Christopher S. Penn)

I can’t say how the Affordable Care Act is working for others; all I can tell you is what the Affordable Care Act is going to do for me and my teen daughter.

Unfortunately, I was notified that my ex husband, my daughter’s father, died recently. This event has thrown a lot of things that were already difficult into a downright nosedive. Suddenly, my daughter no longer has continued access to the excellent health insurance policy that she had, thanks to her father keeping her on his policy all of these years.  And it would seem that child support is no more.  Oh joy.

: (

For those who may or may not know, my little one has Bipolar Disorder and has to take some very expensive medicines to maintain this condition. Without child support or health insurance for the two of us, you can’t imagine the nerves and anxiety that threatened to overwhelm me the last week or so. This was a wonderful test of my faith in my Father in Heaven, but thankfully I felt His Holy Spirit with me, comforting me and calming me despite fears and worries. My daughter and I have got through this and things have slowly begun to look up a bit.

We have a new/old tenant on the property that has moved into what was formerly Robert’s old residence. It’s our personal fitness trainer, James! He’s a lot of fun and we like him, so that’s been a relief, but what to do next has been the problem and this is where the Affordable Health Care Act came in.

I went onto the Healthcare.gov website and began to attempt to enroll in healthcare coverage for my daughter and me. I was really concerned about how much the premiums would be for the two of us. I was incredibly surprised to find that there was a HUMANA PLATINUM PLAN with no deductibles and a premium BELOW $200 a month. The in network hospitals are with the Methodist Health Care System which are just absolutely beautiful! Their hospital network even has a well-respected children’s hospital. Humana is a well-respected insurer and I was amazed at how easy it was to enroll and pay my first month’s premium, just like that!

This is the greatest Christmas present we will receive this Christmas. Our new health insurance policy begins on January 1, 2014, and we both want to thank President Obama for a wonderful gift that I’m looking forward to with great excitement. I feel so proud that I am finally able to have affordable, excellent health insurance for my child and I, that I am paying for.

This has been a huge weight off of my mind, especially with the death of my child’s father hitting us out of the blue. It’s been especially tough on her right at Christmas. We just lost our dear friend Robert and were still reeling from that blow. At least we know now that we’ll be able to continue my child’s medications and that she will be able to continue to see her various doctors per usual. I can’t tell you how thankful I am that this is the case.

 

Responses

  1. What a blessing! I meant to tell you sooner that I’m sorry for the loss of your friend, and now for the father of your child…and It’s good to hear a positive experience with the ACA!

  2. Hi there! Thanks for the info! 🙂
    My girlfriend is needing insurance. She’s going to check on Humana.

    Hope things continue to improve for you and your daughter.
    God bless, and Happy Holidays! Best wishes, Keith

  3. girl, I hear you. I am off work and on disability right now. I was really stressed about getting coverage, I NEVER thought I would be able to afford it. The ACA has been a LIFESAVER for my family. Haters can hate. But this helps so much. I am sorry for your daughter. Bipolar is a difficult struggle.

  4. Bless you, friend. I am thankful for the insurance. My prayers are with you and your daughter. ((hugs))

  5. Sorry to hear about your ex-husband’s passing and the sudden changes it has made in your situation. But it seems that when the rope your hanging by breaks, God drops another one in front of you to grab onto. My wife and I aren’t millionaires, but we’ve always had enough. It’s not always been easy, but it’s always been enough.

    Each time I get the email that you’ve posted something on your blog, I stop and say a little prayer that God will meet all your family’s needs. It’s not money in the mailbox, but maybe it’s five loaves and a couple of fishes Jesus can do something with…

  6. Sorry to hear about the loss of your ex-husband and your daughter’s illness. It’s been hard for me to keep up with blogging lately, so I am glad for the update. We will keep you in our prayers. God bless…

  7. I am sorry to hear J’s father passed, that is terrible news. It is good though that ACA is going to work for you. I have Humana and am happy with them. My prayers for you and J.

    Hugs,

    Ed

  8. Well, things are not going so great here as well. My current job, which supports our family of four, will be ending in February 2014 along with my employer health insurance. No, I did not get fired, and I was not let go because of being “dead wood.” My company lost a major contract bid, and our whole office is shutting down as a result.

    Maybe we could all—like mutually pray for each other. How about it?

    In addition, over the past few years and with a multiplicity of issues, I am deeply concerned as to why all the rages of Hell (expressed in many different and highly negative ways) have been raining down upon my family. It seems that we have all of Job’s troubles except the sores/boils and even that could be just around the corner.

    Adrienne. Could you ask God if he is punishing our family for something and report back to me on what He says? Is everything going to be all right? Is my wife going to be healed? There has been so much pain and agony, especially emotional pain and agony like your daughter suffers, that I just wonder how much more we can take before the whole family unit crashes. I pray that we never reach the point of finding out. Thanks!!! And I will pray for you too.

  9. Wow.. Tracy. I’m so sorry. I guess a lot of people have it rough out in the big old world, don’t they? I know what you mean about the Job thing. I’ve had some hellish trials going on myself for quite some time. I try not to focus too much on them. In fact, I’ve decided to do something another friend of mine, Edwin Christian suggested. I thank God for all of it, all of the trials, heartaches, pain, misery, hardships, and health issues that keep cropping up for so many around me, and myself. I thank God for keeping me sane through it, though sometimes I don’t feel so sane to tell you the truth. lol….

    I don’t think God is punishing you, your family, or me and mine. I think it is all definitely going to be all right. I can’t say about your wife being healed because sometimes the most saintliest of saints needs healing and doesn’t get it (thorn in the flesh maybe?).

    I will definitely pray for you and your family, Tracy. I think I pretty much just stay in a meditative inner state of prayer most of the time. I hope people don’t think I’m talking to myself…heh heh. Maybe they think I’m loony toons, but I don’t feel that God is angry or upset with any of us and I don’t believe for a moment that He would strike us down with something that would hurt us in a vindictive way if He was mad. God isn’t like that with me. Has He ever been like that with you?

    Hang in there, Tracy. God is in control and we always come out of these things stronger then when we went in. We see His purpose on the other side of them eventually. I will keep you in daily prayer and I do hope things look up on both of our sides of the country. Love ya, bro…..

    Adrienne

    PS: I just posted a reblog of Tre’s posting “When you’re chewing on life’s gristle.” It’s excellent, Tracy, and I hope it blesses you like it did me. She’s got it down!

  10. Struggler,

    Thank you so much and yes, it is good to say something positive about the ACA 😉 There are so many complaints that it’s awesome to balance some of that out with some gratitude and I really have a lot. I am blessed and I hope God continues to bless me. Merry Christmas, Struggler, and God bless you and your family.

  11. Hey Tree!

    I hope things work out well for your girlfriend with the ACA. Let me know, okay? Happy Holidays, Keith, and God bless you too.

  12. Hi there Tre’!

    I’m so sorry about you being off work and on disability but I’m so very glad you’ve had a positive experience with the ACA too. And yes, Bipolar may well be the death of me. lol…. my little girl keeps me on my toes. Thanks for stopping by, Tre’. I’ll have to come and visit you at your blog. Merry Christmas!

  13. WP: Thank you, Natalie.. I always appreciate your prayers. Merry Christmas to your and your family hon.

  14. Ken, thank you for stopping by here. You’re so right that God keeps us from falling in one way or another. It’s always an adventure, isn’t it? I agree. It’s always been enough. That is a perfect way to put it.

    I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your prayers for my family, Ken. May God bless you for them. Merry Christmas, brother.

  15. Lamehousewife 🙂

    I always appreciate being in your prayers. Thank you for thinking of me. Merry Christmas!

  16. Ed, you have Humana? I’m so glad to hear that. We’re still praying for you and Ann, so hang in there, Ed. Big hugs back at ya.. and much Christmas cheer and love.

  17. My dear friend, your faith assures you that God always has a Ram hidden in the bush waiting for those who truly believe to step forward and receive their individual blessings. I will continue in prayer for you and your beautiful daughter. His abundant love mercy and grace will see you through the many trials and tribulations of this life. I just want to thank you for sharing your beautiful love and support for our ministry throughout this year and wish you and your family a Merry,Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. May God’s peace rest and abide within you now and always in Jesus name, Amen!

  18. Pastor Davis,

    I learn so much from your blog and your ministering to others. I’m so grateful that God has allowed me to discover your readings over the last year or so. I do hope He blesses and keeps you and your beautiful family in this upcoming new year, and have no doubt He will.


Leave a Reply

Categories

