Posted by: the warrioress | January 30, 2014

Communing With God

Sometimes I find that I can do little more than sigh and say, “Please Father…” The overwhelming circumstances, whatever they may be, can be just too much to express verbally. I find that my prayers are often very short, but they involve more than simply speaking aloud. There is something going on that can only be described as “deeper.” It’s a mind to mind communing.

There is a sort of just “being” with God in the moment kind of thing. I’m just there, in the presence of God, drinking in His comfort, strength, and promises, and renewing myself on these.

I drink and drink, trying not to gulp too much or swallow that life-giving essence too quickly.  Slowly I feel myself being restored to some semblance of sanity. Physically my breathing calms down.  Panicky waves of worry and fear subside.

I’m assured that I can go on, that I will live to run this race another day, that nothing is as difficult as it might seem in the moment, that God is with me. I know internally that there will be a way, that everything will come together once again as it always has, as it always will.

Responses

  1. When Paul said we should pray continuously he should of also added we should also listen when He responds. Sometimes we get so involved in our daily struggles that we don’t hear when He is talking to us.

    For me it is a continuous two way conversation and I do appreciate His guidance on a daily basis. I also found He does have a sense of humor.

    I realize this is a little off your subject, but I just wanted to remind you to make sure you listen to what He has to say, it can make your life a whole lot less hectic.

    Love you,

    Ed

  2. This post reminded me of Phillipians 4:6-7. There is no greater comfort than the “peace of God which passes all understanding” that comes in a season of spirit-to-spirit communion like what you described.

  3. Edwin,

    Thanks for the reminder. Sometimes I think I’m hearing God and am open to listening, but you’re right, I can get very caught up in the little stressful tasks and details of my life and I can miss a lot — even God’s voice. I’ll try to find more time to simply “be still and know that I am God.” Thanks Ed. Love you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

