Posted by: the warrioress | August 4, 2014

Blessed Are The Peacemakers

~~ Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the children of God ~~

image

It’s been difficult to write as there is a lot going on in my daily life after the death of my best friend, our vacation, my business, and with school starting up again soon for r my young sophomore-to-be.

I’ve been dreadfully torn and preoccupied with the sufferings of Israel versus Palestine, and have felt so much passion, outrage, mourning, etc., that I decided to just sit with it and allow God to deal with me on it. I  have been awaiting a word from God on this in my increasing unrest as the violence escalated. I believe I’ve found something written that expresses the Christ-like view; I have hugged this close to myself as I try to understand these horrific events that are out of my control. I hope you find this helpful too if God has laid this upon your heart.

Matt Darvas comments:

“Jesus gives us only ONE side to ‘pick’

And He says,

Blessed are the peacemakers for they will be called children of God.

I don’t know of any other way that this statement can possibly be interpreted other than in its most literal form, which is that Jesus really wanted us to take no other side than that of peace.

And furthermore, with his command to,

Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.

Every single justification for retribution, the use of violence and the practice of Christians taking sides in any conflict, must surely come crashing down.

It was as if Jesus knew that violence would only deliver more violence, and hatred only produce more hatred…

– – – – –

If we who are called to be ‘children of the light’ insist only on fuelling the darkness by propagating the rhetoric of one side over another, then sadly darkness is all we will ever get. And yet the Kingdom is coming, hope is on the way. Let us Christians, of all people, not be the ones to stand in its way.” (Matt Darvas)

Please read more below:

http://mattdarvas.com/2014/07/24/israel-vs-palestine/#

Responses

  1. I’m glad you found words of encouragement in what I had to write. Praying that God continues to reveal how He would have you act and respond to this issue. Matt

  2. My sincerest condolences. Thanks for this post.

  3. Thank you for keeping us informed. Your friend has the right idea and his comment to him were quite revealing as well.

  4. Choosing the side of peace is easy when you are not involved.
    It is sounds so righteous and so loving when you have nothing at stake.

    Are you saying “pacificism”?

  5. Ooops, forgot to follow.

  6. What did Jesus say? “Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword. ” Matthew 10:34

    I guess you chose to ignore the suffererings of the Israelis concerning the thousands upon thousands of bombs launced FROM GAZA into Israel. I guess by what you write, the israelis should lay down their arms and let the Arabs wipe them out?

    I pray for the day your eyes will be opened.

  7. “In the same day the LORD made a covenant with Abram, saying, Unto thy seed have I given this land, from the river of Egypt unto the great river, the river Euphrates: ” Genesis 15:18

    The recent conflict between Israel and Hamas showed the world a lot of things. It taught us that Hamas uses children as human shields, that they hide rockets in schools, that they launch missiles from civilian hospitals and that they choose death and conflict over life and peace. What did it show Israel? It showed them that the “Palestinians” will never peacefully coexist along side Israel in any way, shape or form. Never. The concept of the Two State Solution died on the battlefield during Operation Protective Edge, and should be buried once and for all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

