Posted by: the warrioress | December 4, 2015

Die By the Sword

“Put your sword back in its place,” Jesus said to him, “for all who draw the sword will die by the sword.”

Matthew26:52

Christendom is caught up with the angry, fearful world’s demand to turn America into a nation of civilian soldiers at the ready. We will become a modern-day “Gunsmoke,” if some have their way.

Everyone will be carrying concealed weapons, where ever my feet may tread.

As I watch from my window seat, I’m astonished that Christ’s very own, His special born again-chosen, have blood lust in their eyes and hearts.

They are quite literally terrified! So much for faith.

Of what?

Terrorism. Domestic terror even. Threats of physical harm and real murders plotted and carried out by America’s enemies.

“Don’t take our guns from us!” they scream in anguish and wrath. “I will protect myself and my family!”

“The President is a traitor. He doesn’t care about me!” “The President is evil. He is an evil Muslim. Impeach him!”

The macho promises of vengeance and their rage ring out, assuring all of us in America that they will go down fighting; for they are now in control.

No thought to God from what I can see. No thought to see what God may have said.

“We urge you, brethren, admonish the unruly, encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with everyone. See that no one repays another with evil for evil, but always seek after that which is good for one another and for all people.  Rejoice always.”  1Thes 5:16

“You have heard that it was said, ‘AN EYE FOR AN EYE, AND A TOOTH FOR A TOOTH.’
“But I say to you, do not resist an evil person; but whoever slaps you on your right cheek; turn the other to him also. If anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, let him have your coat also.”  Matthew 5:38-40
Do not say, “I’ll pay you back for this wrong!” Wait for the LORD, and he will avenge you. Proverbs 20:22

Do not say, “I’ll do to them as they have done to me; I’ll pay them back for what they did.” Proverbs 24:29
“You shall not murder.” Exodus 20:13

“‘Do not pollute the land where you are. Bloodshed pollutes the land, and atonement cannot be made for the land on which blood has been shed, except by the blood of the one who shed it. Numbers 35:33

“You shall not murder.” Deuteronomy 5:17

And now…we read what God has said.  Above.

God has been very clear, but there are those who want to argue; they must have their way!

“We know better,” they’ll tell me.

“We know what God really meant!  Jesus doesn’t want us to lay down and be killed.  No, we’ll interpret this the way WE want to.”

“Shut up!  You’re a liberal. You’re not a Christian.  Don’t try to push that pacifist stuff onto me.”


But they mocked God’s messengers, despised his words and scoffed at his prophets until the wrath of the LORD was aroused against his people and there was no remedy. 2 Chronicles 36:16

“You serpents, you brood of vipers, how will you escape the sentence of hell? “Therefore, behold, I am sending you prophets and wise men and scribes; some of them you will kill and crucify, and some of them you will scourge in your synagogues, and persecute from city to city, so that upon you may fall the guilt of all the righteous blood shed on earth, from the blood of righteous Abel to the blood of Zechariah, the son of Berechiah, whom you murdered between the temple and the altar.  Matthew 25:33-35

“And he shall judge among the nations, and shall rebuke many people: and they shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruning hooks: nation shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more.” Isaiah 2:4

 

 
More Cross Scriptures:
Genesis 9:6
“Whoever sheds human blood, by humans shall their blood be shed; for in the image of God has God made mankind.

Exodus 21:12
“Anyone who strikes a person with a fatal blow is to be put to death.

Revelation 13:10
“If anyone is to go into captivity, into captivity they will go. If anyone is to be killed with the sword, with the sword they will be killed.” This calls for patient endurance and faithfulness on the part of God’s people.

 Exodus 20:13
“You shall not murder.

Exodus 21:12
“Anyone who strikes a person with a fatal blow is to be put to death.

Leviticus 24:17
“‘Anyone who takes the life of a human being is to be put to death.

Please also read this posting that I wrote a couple of years ago on this topic; I have grown a lot since then, but it’s still very interesting and  useful, I think.

 

https://lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/live-by-the-sword-die-by-the-sword/

 


Responses

  1. I have listened to both ends of the radical extreme and have seen out of line responses. Fear is a mean enemy, the friend of Satan and causes people to react without thinking things through. I don’t live in fear.
    The funny thing about life is people are going to do what they are going to do. It’s a shame most don’t take the time to think ahead to see the ramifications of their follies. Many times, they realize the silliness only after they make fools of themselves.
    As for guns, the Government has done a wonderful job dividing the Country on the issue and there is no real answer on it now. The 2nd ammendment has been defined by SCOTUS saying people have the right to own guns for defense. The biggest issue is the media, which blows smoke so much one can’t determine the truth over hype. Too much hype and not enough fact, as they try to swing the story their way.
    In the meantime, I sit here in peace, knowing God has a plan and I am part of it.

    Walk daily with God at your side.

    Ed

  2. I’m not going to take time and post tons of Scripture as you won’t publish it or believe it. So let me get this straight. Someone attacks your family and you would sit by idly, in peace, believing it is the Lords will and watch with a peaceful look on your face? A rapist breaks into your house, tells you to sit down while he raps her and you do nothing to stop him? With what I read above it is wrong for the police to carry a gun and to ever shoot a criminal. Am I reading this all correctly? Oh, I forgot, you don’t respond to anything I write.

  3. Jesus also said in Luke 22:36, “Then said he unto them, But now, he that hath a purse, let him take it, and likewise his scrip: and he that hath no sword, let him sell his garment, and buy one.” Not suppose to live by the sword but for protection. You used Scripture from the Old Testament. Often God commanded to slay the enemy. Cherry picking verses is not teaching the whole council of God.

  4. Jim Finn 2000:

    Consistently, as you can see, within the NT and the OT, God has not changed. I quoted verses from both in support of my posting. After Jesus died for us, He brought forth a new way of being,of behaving and living. We are not of this world. We are like Jesus now. We have been born again thus we are not to react with violence, hatred, angst, fear, an anger. When Jesus stated the above scripture, Luke 22:36, he did so because he was fulfilling prophecy; he wasn’t meaning that they should change everything he had been preaching thus far to the contrary and begin a violent, aggressive, offensive way of fighting back against those who would harm them. See the following readings for clarification. I learned a lot from them. At one time, I was sure we were to fight back physically against our enemies and the enemies of God; God has spoken to my heart, however, and I’ve learned better now. I’ve also taken counsel from Edwin Christian (efchristi.wordpress.com) who also comments above. Edwin set me on the right path and showed me my error when I’ve erroneously expressed a desire to use violence to solve the country’s problems or my own.

    http://clearbibleanswers.org/questionsanswers/208-why-did-jesus-ask-his-disciples-to-buy-a-sword-he-said-he-that-hath-no-sword-let-him-sell-his-garment-and-buy-one-luke-2236.html

    http://www.ukapologetics.net/swords.html

    http://www.patheos.com/blogs/formerlyfundie/no-jesus-didnt-command-we-own-weapons/

  5. Jim Finn 2000:

    This is a very important posting…perhaps one of the most important based upon the state of the world we now live within. For that reason, I am prepared to put former arguments/disagreements aside and attempt to share my position on this topic with you. Jesus does not want us to act like we used to act; that was our old earthly nature, our arrogance, pride, rage, anger etc. Now we are gentle as doves. We represent Him. You can see through out the entire bible that Jesus is not violent with others and does not attempt to hurt his enemies or use self defense. Of course, our policemen will do their jobs; they will follow their orders, they follow the laws of this land, as we must. Christians, however, are not to be violent, angry, bloodthirsty, or aggressive. We have not been taught to behave in that manner by Jesus Christ or by the Holy Spirit. Think about the fruits of the spirit, Jim.

  6. Edwin, thank you again for working with me and teaching me what you have so far …

    The last time we spoke on this topic, I did a posting about the beheading of our journalists by Isis, and I stated that God would back a proportionate response, remember? You were kind to enough to rebuke that, and I learned from your gentle but firm rebuke. You were right, Ed! I am so thankful that you are someone who has his head on straight, whom I can trust to be mentored by. I will try to find that posting so you can read what you said to me. Thanks again.

    Here the post is/See your comment at the end of it, which made a huge impact on how I see things now:

    https://lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com/2014/08/22/isis/

  7. Question: Did God ever command, especially in the Old Testament for Gods people to Kill others? In the book of Revelation during the Great Tribulation period is God going to lead His saints to kill the enemies of God?

  8. Jim. I do not think Addy is saying that there is never a time when violence is necessary. I think she is saying that we need to be careful as Christians to avoid nurturing bloodthirsty hearts within us simply because there is evil in the world.

  9. I certainly agree Dover. Defending ones self or their country from my viewpoint does not mean we are living by the sword, love blood shed and such. I have a question. The head of the F.B.I. says there is no way to vet the Syrian refugees because Syria has not data base we have no idea if terrorists are tagging along or not. Should we then ignore all this and bring them in regardless? I could not imagine permitting our children to be in the care of folk we know nothing about. I realize it is a catch 22 because we certainly should admit non-terrorists who are fleeing for their lives and being persecuted.

  10. Thank you for letting me comment. In the past I was way too caustic. I will try hard not to be in the future. I dearly love reading and studying the Bible. Nothing more is more dear to my heart.

  11. Hey Addy,

    Still a “Bible Warrior”, I see.
    I love watching Bible Warriors fight each other. Neither of them understanding the human nature of the anthology.

    You’re quote of Exodus 21:12 contradicts this one (or does it?):

    The Rebellious Son (Deut 21-18-21)
    18 “If a man has a stubborn and rebellious son who will not obey the voice of his father or the voice of his mother, and who, when they have chastened him, will not heed them, 19 then his father and his mother shall take hold of him and bring him out to the elders of his city, to the gate of his city. 20 And they shall say to the elders of his city, ‘This son of ours is stubborn and rebellious; he will not obey our voice; he is a glutton and a drunkard.’ 21 Then all the men of his city shall stone him to death with stones; so you shall put away the evil from among you, and all Israel shall hear and fear.

    But that “contradiction” exists only out of context. For the Exodus one is for killing an innocent man/woman/child. But killing a rebellious son is different. And God planning to have his (supposed) son killed is OK too.

    Ha, when will scripture warriors realize the silliness of these games — be they Muslims, Mormons, Born-again Christians or whoever.

    Mind you, I am for major gun control, I just need to quote anyone’s scripture to support my opinion on this.

    When I was at Wheaton College (an Evangelical College), I took took a course in Christian Ethics where we went through the long painful story of Christians bible quoting to support their own view of ethics, morality and such. Each saying that “God has not changed” and that they are reading everything in context and know the big picture. It was an exhausting eye-opener.

    Long time no chat — have a great week.

  12. There are zero contradictions in the Bible. God never changes. Just because someone does not understand something does not mean it is a contradiction in the Bible. God is always right. We, and I include myself am often wrong.


Leave a Reply

Categories

