Posted by: the warrioress | February 2, 2012

Sleeping with Your Pets

I’m about to answer some comments but before I do, I was reading through some stuff and came across this little gem:
 
Should Dogs and Cats Sleep on Your Bed?
By Gina Spadafori | October 10, 2011 Dog sleeping in bed with owners.
Dreamstime

In many homes, the “pets on the bed” debate is long over — and the pets won. Proof can be found in the marketplace, where accessories abound to help dogs and cats get onto the bed — and keep the bedding cleaner.

The trend isn’t for everyone, however. Letting cats and dogs sleep in the bed has been suggested as one of many reasons why people have problems getting a good night’s sleep. If you have insomnia, you might consider getting your pet his own comfy bed and keeping yours for yourself. If you have allergies, or your pet has behavior problems, a no-pet bedroom is also recommended.

Otherwise, why not share?

I’ve always kept an eye out for sales on relatively inexpensive, washable cotton quilts to throw over the top of the bedding. I also use rubber-backed fuzzy bath mats on top of the quilts when older pets get leaky.

For high beds and older pets, there’s even an easier way up: A number of manufacturers make pet-sized sets of steps to help aging or small animals get onto the bed or couch. Pet retailers have a wide selection to match your budget and decor.

I can answer this article personally by simply saying that my pets made up their minds long ago; they do indeed sleep on my bed.  They appear to take turns, but there are a few that are more determined than the others to make this a regular thing, so they do.

In case you’re wondering, I’m a divorced, single mother so I don’t have to contend with my partner’s take on this matter, thankfully. I don’t believe I would have a partner whom this would be an “issue” for, anyway. There are too many things to be concerned about in this life and snuggling my furkid isn’t going to be one of em.’  😉
 
Anyway, I found this little article to be entertaining and fun. Hope you enjoyed it too.

Responses

  1. I have always let my pets sleep with me up until this past year. I discovered that not only were they affecting my health, but I was also affecting theirs…
    My 12 year old cat was affected the worst, but I had to move them out of the bedroom. I hated to do it, but it helped us all! I am sixty years old, and this is the first time in years that I have not had a pet in the bedroom!

  2. Aw.. that’s so sad. I guess it’s an individual preference. I’m much more secure with mine near me. Thankfully, so far, it hasn’t been a health risk for me or the pets. I really like the idea of laying some mats onto the covers for the pets to snuggle upon, so your own covers don’t get hair on them, or for “leaky” pets; that was really a great idea.

  3. Our cat sleeps in between me and my husband, unless our daughter is home from college and she sleeps with her.

    Catnipchronicles.com sent out it’s February issue yesterday speaking about this. With cats who of course have their own minds!!!! will bond more with their owners if you let them sleep with you. I can attest to that being true.

  4. When I saw the headline, I thought, Oh no! Sleeping with pets is not a Christian way. (Sorry if that sounds too narrow minded, but that’s what I thought first!) Of course, that wasn’t the case. I am glad pets are allowed on your bed, Warrioress. Our dogs are allowed on the bed, but they prefer to sleep on the floor beside the bed. The male doesn’t like to be crowded, and the female… I suppose she doesn’t like it either. Our cat likes to sleep btw my husband and me, but sometimes she purrs like a truck, and that’s annoying. She doesn’t sleep on the bed all the time though. And she scared the crap out of the dogs, so when she is on the bed, they stay away. I think for pets the bed is the most alluring place, because it elevates their status when they are allowed to sleep on the bed.

  5. I occasionally let our beagle onto the bed, especially when my wife is away and the bed feels vast and unoccupied.

  6. Sleeping with pets is not a “Christian way?” lol….

    I’ll do battle with anyone who claims it isn’t 😉

    Really good to see you commenting here, Puddle. I enjoy your posts a lot.

  7. (chuckling) I’m glad to see that this is something that we can all share belief in and support, no matter our personal religious or non religious beliefs.

  8. I’m not super crazy about all the pets on my bed, but I’m afraid of my wife’s answer should I dare to issue an ultimatum.

  9. Cats make the best bed-warmers ❤

  10. […] https://lifeofafemalebiblewarrior.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/sleeping-with-your-pets/ […]

  11. Thanks, Cath..


Leave a comment

Categories